Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

D12-500


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   p_justin

p_justin

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2010

Posted 18 January 2010 - 05:06 PM

Will this box only work with the Swim system or will it work with the last model dish. Have a sneeky feeling I'm screwed. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks,
justin

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 18 January 2010 - 05:07 PM

It will work with an older dish just fine. There are no boxes that only work with SWM.

#3 OFFLINE   p_justin

p_justin

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2010

Posted 18 January 2010 - 05:14 PM

Thanks for the response, do I need the b ban converter or something the box powers up and just gives me the directv signal and searching for signal. I won't even let me go the the menu of check the signal

#4 OFFLINE   p_justin

p_justin

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2010

Posted 18 January 2010 - 05:28 PM

Sorry keyboard going wonky, it holds on the white directv screen and won't let me go to the setup of even the signal check screen any help there

#5 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 18 January 2010 - 06:32 PM

You don't need a b-band converter. That is for HD, which the D12 is not. I don't know about that locked screen. When I have powered up boxes without a dish connected, the exit button usually works for me.

#6 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 18 January 2010 - 07:51 PM

Try a Red Button Reset. Flip open the front panel, and press the red button. It sounds like maybe your D12 "forgot" that it's running on a SWiM system, and is looking for a traditional 13v/18v multiswitch.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."




spam firewall