Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

R16 causing SWM problems


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BuggyBoyNYC

BuggyBoyNYC

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2007

Posted 23 January 2010 - 06:46 PM

First off, has anyone heard of this?

I have a SWM w/ 1x8 splitter setup, I have 2 HD DVRs, an R16, and a D12.

In total, I would have 7 SWM channels used up.

I started having problems on one HD DVR where one tuner would randomly not be able to receive any signal. So I had it replaced under the PP, still have the same issue (totally random timing).

Today my D12 was saying searching for signal out of the blue for half the day, even after RBRs.

I got to thinking, and it seemed like since I got the R16 I have been seeing random problems. So I re-ran the satellite setup on the R16 and disabled the second tuner.

Not a single problem since!

Thoughts??? :grin:
-Sterling

#2 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 23 January 2010 - 07:33 PM

What SWiM do you have?
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#3 OFFLINE   BuggyBoyNYC

BuggyBoyNYC

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2007

Posted 23 January 2010 - 08:09 PM

Eagle Aspen AU9-SL3-SWM

Originally had the WNC brand, but due to problems with low outside temp, I replaced it with an Eagle Aspen brand which fixed that problem.
-Sterling

#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 26 January 2010 - 12:09 PM

Possibly a bad output on the splitter?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 26 January 2010 - 06:06 PM

Try using one of the other unused outputs on the splitter to run the R16 and see if the problem continues.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





spam firewall