Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

directv winter olympics interactive guide


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Lethrneck4

Lethrneck4

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2010

Posted 14 February 2010 - 02:23 PM

ok, why isnt the interactive menu available when you are watching the main NBC station? this seems crazy since most events and most coverage will be on their main station. CNBC has the interactive menu option during olympic coverage, but they will not be gettin any real big time events there.

anyone know if directv is gonna fix this ?

Edited by Lethrneck4, 14 February 2010 - 03:19 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 February 2010 - 12:12 AM

As a general rule, DirecTV doesn't put interactive content on local channels. They'd have to send out the application separately for each channel, which isn't going to happen. It's the same thing for football, the NFLST channels in the 700s have the interactive content, but your local Fox and CBS stations do not.

#3 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 933 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 15 February 2010 - 12:27 AM

I'd be interested to know how much overhead the interactive stuff really adds to a channel's bandwidth. Of course, even if it's just a tiny amount, that would still add up for the possibly 100 or more NBC affiliates that DirecTV carries.

Still, with most of them being on spot beams, it seems like they could eek out a few more bits here and there. It's not like picture quality on the SD channels has ever mattered to them before. :P

#4 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 February 2010 - 12:37 AM

I'd be interested to know how much overhead the interactive stuff really adds to a channel's bandwidth.

I don't think it's so much the overhead, it's just managing it on over 100 channels. Their systems may not even have the capability to do that.




spam firewall