Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SixtoReport: DirecTV National HD Listing


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1586 replies to this topic

#1181 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,720 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 12 July 2011 - 05:56 PM

When both are pointing at the same place, without being able to really dig into the data, it's impossible to say. For all we know it could have been a software glitch.


I wonder if that caused some of the slow performance across all DirecTV receivers lately.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#1182 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 July 2011 - 06:10 PM

I wonder if that caused some of the slow performance across all DirecTV receivers lately.

Highly doubtful.

#1183 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 18 July 2011 - 12:33 PM

Bye, bye Golf:
[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2011-07-18[/B] compared to 2011-07-14:[/U]

  162 CINEHD  FT D11  4 1040  <------  162 CINEHD  FT D11  4 1700



[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: OLD (removed) from 2011-07-14 compared to [B]2011-07-18[/B]:[/U]

 NONE



[U]Part-time Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2011-07-18[/B] compared to 2011-07-14:[/U]

  122 PPV     PT D11  4 1700  <------  122 PPV     PT D11  4 1040



[U]Part-time Changes: OLD (removed) from 2011-07-14 compared to [B]2011-07-18[/B]:[/U]

  701 OPCHD   PT D11  6 1700

  702 OPCHD   PT D10 14 1700

  703 OPCHD   PT D11  2 1700

  704 OPCHD   PT D11  2 1700

  705 OPCHD   PT D11  2 1700

 9701 *DTV    PT D11  6 1fc0

 9702 *DTV    PT D10 14 1050

 9703 *DTV    PT D11  2 1010

 9704 *DTV    PT D11  2 1020

 9705 *DTV    PT D11  2 1040

 

[U]Legend:[/U]

1st column is the channel number

2nd column is the channel name, an '*' prior to the name designates a TEST channel

3rd column is FT for Full-Time, PT for Part-time, RM for Remapped from another channel

4th column is the Satellite, 5th column is the transponder number

6th column is 'slot' number with 10xx: active/online, 1700: offline, 0000: unassigned

DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1184 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 20 July 2011 - 04:14 AM

5 TEST channels, all replacing Cinema HD:
[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2011-07-20[/B] compared to 2011-07-18:[/U]

  106 *ESPN3D PT D12 13 1020

  505 *HB2wHD FT D12 13 1050

  520 *5MAXHD FT D12 16 1030

  521 *WMAXHD FT D12 15 1050

  523 *@MAXHD FT D12 18 1020



[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: OLD (removed) from 2011-07-18 compared to [B]2011-07-20[/B]:[/U]

  128 CINEHD  FT D12 13 1020

  134 CINEHD  FT D12 18 1020

  135 CINEHD  FT D12 13 1050

  138 CINEHD  FT D12 16 1030

  139 CINEHD  FT D12 15 1050



[U]Part-time Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2011-07-20[/B] compared to 2011-07-18:[/U]

  NONE

  

[U]Part-time Changes: OLD (removed) from 2011-07-18 compared to [B]2011-07-20[/B]:[/U]

 NONE

 

[U]Legend:[/U]

1st column is the channel number

2nd column is the channel name, an '*' prior to the name designates a TEST channel

3rd column is FT for Full-Time, PT for Part-time, RM for Remapped from another channel

4th column is the Satellite, 5th column is the transponder number

6th column is 'slot' number with 10xx: active/online, 1700: offline, 0000: unassigned

DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1185 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,720 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 20 July 2011 - 05:25 AM

5 TEST channels, all replacing Cinema HD


So how many Cinema HD's are left that they can borrow from? Where was ESPN 3D when they were broadcasting? Just curious of the bandwidth situation (ChicagoBlue seems to think were at a bandwidth apocalypse).

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1186 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 20 July 2011 - 06:14 AM

So how many Cinema HD's are left that they can borrow from? Where was ESPN 3D when they were broadcasting? Just curious of the bandwidth situation (ChicagoBlue seems to think were at a bandwidth apocalypse).


There have been indications that bandwidth is limited, currently, further proven today.

There were 36 Cinema HD (see post # 1), now 5 less, currently.

ESPN3D was parttime.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1187 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,720 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 20 July 2011 - 06:59 AM

There have been indications that bandwidth is limited, currently, further proven today.

There were 36 Cinema HD (see post # 1), now 5 less, currently.

ESPN3D was parttime.


ESPN3D being part time, I guess they would just switch it in or out with Cinema HD bandwidth when needed then right?

Post 1 ah.. I always come to the latest post in the thread :)

Thought there were some transponders out there doing nothing though. More of like they don't want to buy any more encoders or uplink equipment to utilize them, thus it's easier to just re-purpose the Cinema HD equipment until they get the very expensive hardware to utilize the rest of the satellite.

What also urks me is that some of these content providers use some state of the art encoders that package their services in a smaller bitrate (though still decent quality). So what does DirecTV do with these lower bandwidth HD channels, pad the remaining transport stream with null packets? Seems like a waste of transponder space when with SOME networks they could get away with 6 channels per tp (or maybe 6 HD + 1 SD).

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1188 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2011 - 07:11 AM

ESPN3D being part time, I guess they would just switch it in or out with Cinema HD bandwidth when needed then right?

DirecTV will finally be offering ESPN3D full time.

Thought there were some transponders out there doing nothing though.

That was solved months ago. They're being used for push services.

So what does DirecTV do with these lower bandwidth HD channels, pad the remaining transport stream with null packets?

What are you talking about?

#1189 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:14 AM

Maybe that explains why the signal levels on both 103c's were jumping around yesterday.

#1190 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2011 - 08:58 AM

Maybe that explains why the signal levels on both 103c's were jumping around yesterday.

How would that explain anything having to do with the signal levels?

#1191 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,720 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 20 July 2011 - 09:59 AM

DirecTV will finally be offering ESPN3D full time.

That was solved months ago. They're being used for push services.

What are you talking about?


I thought only 4 tp's were used for push services.


What I'm talking about is providers like NBC Universal who encode stuff like USA and Universal HD at like 8mbps. I'm not sure how much mbps a transponder can hold, but I do know it's more than a 6 MHz QAM channel on cable (which is 38.8mbps). Cable used to put only 2 channels per QAM but then these providers started getting better encoders and putting 3 channels per QAM. I know some are now even putting 4 channels per QAM and that's MPEG2 still.

So let's just theoretically say there's 60mbps per transponder. That works out to 12mbps per channel if you only put 5 channels on it. Well whats up with some of these companies only sending 7-10 mbps? If you put 6 channels per transponder you could still fit them at 10mbps rate. Heck you could fit 7 channels a transponder at 8mbps. That's CBR math too. But you could rob peter to pay paul, say there's an intense action scene on one feed but two others are relatively still... VBR baby!

So if DirecTV is allowing 12mbps per pid, and say it bursts to 10mbps, what do they do with the remaining 2mbps? fill it with null packets? That's a waste of bandwidth in my opinion. AT LEAST they could do is statistically multiplex a mixed bag of services like some low action, low bandwidth content like QVC/HSN HD, HLN, or stuff that's already constrained by the source (AMC,IFC,Fuse,We,UHD,USA,TruTV,HBO's, Showtimes, Cinemaxes, etc).

I just think there are more tricks up the sleeves to add more content while using the same number of transponders and uplink equipment. We are talking better encoders or just changing settings on the ones they have now and picking and choosing the right content that statmuxes well together.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1192 OFFLINE   JoeTheDragon

JoeTheDragon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,138 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2008

Posted 20 July 2011 - 09:59 AM

There have been indications that bandwidth is limited, currently, further proven today.

There were 36 Cinema HD (see post # 1), now 5 less, currently.

ESPN3D was parttime.


so with NFL ST needing like 14-18 HD slots? + other RSN HD over flows there is not much Cinema space left for the new PAC 12 and other new upcoming RSN channels or is push PPV going to take over for PPV and the slots just be used for part time needs and only have PPV HD on when they don't need them?
I want CLTV / CLTV HD on direct tv.

#1193 OFFLINE   JoeTheDragon

JoeTheDragon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,138 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2008

Posted 20 July 2011 - 10:03 AM

I thought only 4 tp's were used for push services.


What I'm talking about is providers like NBC Universal who encode stuff like USA and Universal HD at like 8mbps. I'm not sure how much mbps a transponder can hold, but I do know it's more than a 6 MHz QAM channel on cable (which is 38.8mbps). Cable used to put only 2 channels per QAM but then these providers started getting better encoders and putting 3 channels per QAM. I know some are now even putting 4 channels per QAM and that's MPEG2 still.

So let's just theoretically say there's 60mbps per transponder. That works out to 12mbps per channel if you only put 5 channels on it. Well whats up with some of these companies only sending 7-10 mbps? If you put 6 channels per transponder you could still fit them at 10mbps rate. Heck you could fit 7 channels a transponder at 8mbps. That's CBR math too. But you could rob peter to pay paul, say there's an intense action scene on one feed but two others are relatively still... VBR baby!

So if DirecTV is allowing 12mbps per pid, and say it bursts to 10mbps, what do they do with the remaining 2mbps? fill it with null packets? That's a waste of bandwidth in my opinion. AT LEAST they could do is statistically multiplex a mixed bag of services like some low action, low bandwidth content like QVC/HSN HD, HLN, or stuff that's already constrained by the source (AMC,IFC,Fuse,We,UHD,USA,TruTV,HBO's, Showtimes, Cinemaxes, etc).

I just think there are more tricks up the sleeves to add more content while using the same number of transponders and uplink equipment. We are talking better encoders or just changing settings on the ones they have now and picking and choosing the right content that statmuxes well together.


constrained by the source? D* fibers in some of there channels. Cable uses the pre packed, compressed HITS.
I want CLTV / CLTV HD on direct tv.

#1194 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2011 - 10:05 AM

What I'm talking about is providers like NBC Universal who encode stuff like USA and Universal HD at like 8mbps.

8mbps MPEG2 at 1080i resolution? I find that very hard to believe.

As for the rest of your numbers, they're way off. DirecTV doesn't have 60mbps per transponder. It's closer to 40mbps. Re-do your math with that number, and things should become clearer.

#1195 ONLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,720 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 20 July 2011 - 10:08 AM

constrained by the source? D* fibers in some of there channels. Cable uses the pre packed, compressed HITS.


Yeah the content producer (AMC Networks or HBO for example) encode their feed at a certain bit rate. Sometimes these HD networks drop as low as 6 or 7mbps if there's very simple slow paced scenes going on. You pair the right networks together and you can offer more HD services without an impact in quality. It's simple analyzing the content and doing the math as to what fits in the current pipe.

Heck, Universal HD and AMC HD are as low as 8mbps in MPEG2! EVEN ON FIOS, which fibers it in as well. How much better could you get transcoding that to MPEG4? could you shave another 1 or 2 mbps off that yet?

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1196 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,888 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 20 July 2011 - 11:33 AM

5 TEST channels, all replacing Cinema HD:

[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2011-07-20[/B] compared to 2011-07-18:[/U]
  106 *ESPN3D [B][COLOR="Red"]PT[/COLOR][/B] D12 13 1020
  505 *HB2wHD FT D12 13 1050
  520 *5MAXHD FT D12 16 1030
  521 *WMAXHD FT D12 15 1050
  523 *@MAXHD FT D12 18 1020

[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: OLD (removed) from 2011-07-18 compared to [B]2011-07-20[/B]:[/U]
  128 CINEHD  FT D12 13 1020
  134 CINEHD  FT D12 18 1020
  135 CINEHD  FT D12 13 1050
  138 CINEHD  FT D12 16 1030
  139 CINEHD  FT D12 15 1050

[U]Part-time Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2011-07-20[/B] compared to 2011-07-18:[/U]
  NONE
  
[U]Part-time Changes: OLD (removed) from 2011-07-18 compared to [B]2011-07-20[/B]:[/U]
 NONE
 
[U]Legend:[/U]
1st column is the channel number
2nd column is the channel name, an '*' prior to the name designates a TEST channel
3rd column is FT for Full-Time, PT for Part-time, RM for Remapped from another channel
4th column is the Satellite, 5th column is the transponder number
6th column is 'slot' number with 10xx: active/online, 1700: offline, 0000: unassigned


Sixto, if ESPN3D is going full time (FT), why do you still list it above as "PT?"

#1197 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 20 July 2011 - 01:41 PM

Sixto, if ESPN3D is going full time (FT), why do you still list it above as "PT?"

Yes, I need to update that channel info, and update post#1, and update post#2 ... (I usually do all that once the channel(s) is up, "live", and final).
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1198 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 20 July 2011 - 01:46 PM

...So let's just theoretically say there's 60mbps per transponder ...

There's been lots of debate on this topic over the years ... for Ka, seemed like it was in the 30-40Mbps range, closer to 40, but I've never seen anything definitive. Also, been lots of discussion of whether that could be better utilized/optimized with the latest-and-greatest technology ($) that may have not been available just a few years ago.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1199 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,963 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 20 July 2011 - 01:54 PM

ESPN3D being part time, I guess they would just switch it in or out with Cinema HD bandwidth when needed then right?

Post 1 ah.. I always come to the latest post in the thread :)

That's how ESPN3D works today, Cinema HD goes down, ESPN3D goes up, ESPN3D goes down, Cinema HD comes back up. The usual part-time shuffle. This is now a permanent allocation of ESPN3D, with a week of testing first.

Post#1 always have the official counts, and Post#2 always has the most current D10/D11/D12 transponder maps as best we know them, and there's always a little mystery there, as we discover new stuff.

As an example, are D12 transponders 1 & 2 really empty, or are they used for something else we can't detect, or are they awaiting encoder/up-link equipment that's not been budgeted/purchased yet, or waiting for newer encoder/up-link technology that not available yet ... all stuff behind the curtain that we're not always privy too.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1200 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 July 2011 - 02:46 PM

There's been lots of debate on this topic over the years ... for Ka, seemed like it was in the 30-40Mbps range, closer to 40, but I've never seen anything definitive. Also, been lots of discussion of whether that could be better utilized/optimized with the latest-and-greatest technology ($) that may have not been available just a few years ago.


Ka, DVB-S2D, SR 30 Msps:
QPSK 3/5 35 Mbps
QPSK 2/3 39 Mbps
QPSK 4/5 47 Mbps
8PSK 3/5 52 Mbps




spam firewall