Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SixtoReport: DirecTV National HD Listing


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1586 replies to this topic

#1381 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,422 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 07 March 2012 - 12:09 PM

YEP

truTV in NET 11 (the"spot" beam listing) PID 0x0822

Looks to be vpid 1060 (a sixth channel) on TPN 3 SAT 99 D-11

I've seen some new HD LIL's start out this way and then "move" to their correct PID/NET listing later.
Don't understand the process but to my mind, says not a lot of "extra room" and just getting it into data steam to work out the details.

As an aside, lots of "Guide issues" when LIL's done this way.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#1382 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,766 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 07 March 2012 - 01:53 PM

Wait is it a spot beam that is just focused CONUS?

How does that work? This is space normally used for local channels but its national?

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1383 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,839 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2012 - 02:16 PM

Wait is it a spot beam that is just focused CONUS?

How does that work? This is space normally used for local channels but its national?


Huh ?!

99W© = D11:LTP1-14

Edited by P Smith, 07 March 2012 - 11:07 PM.
Oops, lets the cat out of bag ...


#1384 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,766 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 07 March 2012 - 03:38 PM

Huh ?!

99W(ca) = D11:LTP1-14


I skimmed over Doctor J's post - confused over the term "spot" beam listing.


truTV in NET 11 (the"spot" beam listing) PID 0x0822


- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1385 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,839 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2012 - 04:10 PM

oh well, you confused listing and satellite ... don't rush to post next time without doing home work

#1386 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,020 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 March 2012 - 05:10 PM

Huh ?!

99W(ca) = D11:LTP1-14


"99(ca)" P. Smith?;

Didn't know there was one. Perhaps after the future launch of D14/RB-1 to 99W there will be :)

But right now there's only "99©," and it refers to the Ka B-band for CONUS beam Tps. 1-14 on D11 at 99W.

Also, what doctor j said and is maybe what confused cypherx is that truTV-HD's data list it on "NET 11" which according to the "Network Decoder" in gct's maps anyway, is used for the Ka A-Band HD LiLs at 99W for spotbeam Tps. 1-6 on SW2, and Ka B-Band SB Tps. 15-24 on D11. NET 11 is sometimes listed temporarily at their initial launch until moving to the normal LiL NET ID range of 512-723.

But now we apparently have a CONUS channel showing on NET 11. :confused:

Edited by HoTat2, 07 March 2012 - 05:24 PM.


#1387 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,859 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 07 March 2012 - 06:01 PM

HoTat2 is correct - and thank you for taking the time to give some clear explanations of how this all fits together.

Please remember that documents like the Network Decoder reflect 'the rules'. But DIRECTV Engineering can change and bend the rules as they wish.

In this case, Net 11 is indeed providing a CONUS signal carrying truTV-HD. And if you check the LIL listing closely, you will also find a few cases where Net 15 CONUS resources are providing HD LIL channels to some markets.

We are not given any explanation why they sometimes use this 'redirection'. But you can be sure the engineering folks are doing their best to use all their resources to the fullest advantage.

Edited by gct, 07 March 2012 - 06:16 PM.



#1388 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,020 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 March 2012 - 08:00 PM

Yeah ... and speaking of "bending the rules," :) is this a first for DIRECTV multiplexing six HD channels on one Ka-band transponder instead of the usual, if not exclusive, max. of 5?

DIRECTV-11 Tp.3 ---

ABC West HD (DNS) - 397
Showtime Extreme HD - 549
SportsSouth HD (RSN) - 649
Altitude HD (RSN) -681
Arizona HD (RSN) - 686
truTV HD - 246

#1389 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,735 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 07 March 2012 - 08:13 PM

Yeah ... and speaking of "bending the rules," :) is this a first for DIRECTV multiplexing six HD channels on one Ka-band transponder instead of the usual, if not exclusive, max. of 5?

DIRECTV-11 Tp.3 ---

ABC West HD (DNS) - 397
Showtime Extreme HD - 549
SportsSouth HD (RSN) - 649
Altitude HD (RSN) -681
Arizona HD (RSN) - 686
truTV HD - 246

Wonder if they're going to try it to see what it looks, it may allow for more HD additions with their current capacity.

#1390 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,992 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 07 March 2012 - 08:17 PM

Yeah ... and speaking of "bending the rules," :) is this a first for DIRECTV multiplexing six HD channels on one Ka-band transponder instead of the usual, if not exclusive, max. of 5?

DIRECTV-11 Tp.3 ---

ABC West HD (DNS) - 397
Showtime Extreme HD - 549
SportsSouth HD (RSN) - 649
Altitude HD (RSN) -681
Arizona HD (RSN) - 686
truTV HD - 246


Yea, I saw that. How many of those RSN's ate 720p? 397 is 720p and while 549 is 1080i it is mostly 24fps material so maybe that allows them to go to 6/TP?

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#1391 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 07 March 2012 - 08:36 PM

I see no issues with using 6 per transponder. The actual source material is probably of less quality than adding another channel to the transponder would make worse.

Like reencoding a 128kb mp3 to 512kb doesnt make it sound any better than the original.
If they measure the actual bandwidth of their source channels, I am sure they can find combinations of 6 to mux together without losing any quality at all.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#1392 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,766 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 07 March 2012 - 09:15 PM

I see no issues with using 6 per transponder. The actual source material is probably of less quality than adding another channel to the transponder would make worse.

Like reencoding a 128kb mp3 to 512kb doesnt make it sound any better than the original.
If they measure the actual bandwidth of their source channels, I am sure they can find combinations of 6 to mux together without losing any quality at all.


Exactly. This is how cable and Fios has been getting 3 HD's in the normal space that 2 Hd's would take. It makes perfect sense and they should be able to do this for a few other channels, especially 720p, "talking heads" and 24fps content.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#1393 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,839 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:16 PM

"99(ca)" P. Smith?;

Didn't know there was one. Perhaps after the future launch of D14/RB-1 to 99W there will be :)

But right now there's only "99©," and it refers to the Ka B-band for CONUS beam Tps. 1-14 on D11 at 99W.

Also, what doctor j said and is maybe what confused cypherx is that truTV-HD's data list it on "NET 11" which according to the "Network Decoder" in gct's maps anyway, is used for the Ka A-Band HD LiLs at 99W for spotbeam Tps. 1-6 on SW2, and Ka B-Band SB Tps. 15-24 on D11. NET 11 is sometimes listed temporarily at their initial launch until moving to the normal LiL NET ID range of 512-723.

But now we apparently have a CONUS channel showing on NET 11. :confused:

D J confused all of us ...
Anyway, D11 LTP1-14 [Ka-Lo] belong to Net10 and it is CONUS tpns.

DJ report came from tables off net11 with a redirection flag. Here is the snippet:
Network 11
ChName|Number|tp#/net#|TID|VPID|APID|LiL#|OTA||||
"*DTV" | 9311| 13^10| 136 |1030| 1032| -| - |"ABC Family HD (Test)"| "ABC Family HD (Hidden)"| "tv:9311hd.ch"| "8144"
"NBC" | 12 | 5^10| 128 |1020| 1022 | 57| -| "NBC television services from WNBCDT-TV, 12, Dothan, AL."| "A3 Dothan 12 NBC (Virt)"| "tv:nbchd.ch"| "3830"
"truTVHD" | 246| 3^10| 126 |1060 |1062 |-| -| "Welcome to truTV, the home of the most exciting REAL stories told by the fascinating people who lived them. With a lineup of all REAL, high-stakes originals, truTV is the destination for viewers who want to experience real-life excitement and ventur"| "truTV HD"| "tv:truhd.ch" |"1363"

Edited by P Smith, 08 March 2012 - 06:15 PM.


#1394 OFFLINE   charlie460

charlie460

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 382 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2009

Posted 08 March 2012 - 03:51 PM

Yea, I saw that. How many of those RSN's ate 720p? 397 is 720p and while 549 is 1080i it is mostly 24fps material so maybe that allows them to go to 6/TP?


Sure hope they don't start sacrificing quality for quantity even more...

#1395 OFFLINE   paco1986

paco1986

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 574 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:04 PM

Sixto,

Can you let us know when FS San Diego shows up in testing?:)

#1396 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,974 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 March 2012 - 04:53 PM

Sixto,

Can you let us know when FS San Diego shows up in testing?:)

Yep, will continue to check daily, but assuming it may just be part-time which required zero additional bandwidth. We'll see.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1397 OFFLINE   paco1986

paco1986

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 574 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 08 March 2012 - 05:18 PM

Yep, will continue to check daily, but assuming it may just be part-time which required zero additional bandwidth. We'll see.


Thanks! First spring training TV broadcast is set for March 17th. So something might show up around that date.

#1398 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,974 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 12 March 2012 - 06:39 AM

Fox Sports San Diego HD (694-1) up, part-time HD:
[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2012-03-12[/B] compared to 2012-03-05:[/U]

 NONE



[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: OLD (removed) from 2012-03-05 compared to [B]2012-03-12[/B]:[/U]

 NONE



[U]Part-time Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2012-03-12[/B] compared to 2012-03-05:[/U]

  210 ESNaHD  PT D11 14 1700

  694 FSSDHD  PT D10  

  

[U]Part-time Changes: OLD (removed) from 2012-03-05 compared to [B]2012-03-12[/B]:[/U]

  210 *ESNaHD PT D11 

 

[U]Legend:[/U]

1st column is the channel number

2nd column is the channel name, an '*' prior to the name designates a TEST channel

3rd column is FT for Full-Time, PT for Part-time, RM for Remapped from another channel

4th column is the Satellite, 5th column is the transponder number

6th column is 'slot' number with 10xx: active/online, 1700: offline, 0000: unassigned

Edited by Sixto, 12 March 2012 - 09:46 AM.

DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#1399 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,020 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 12 March 2012 - 09:21 AM

Fox Sports San Diego HD (694-1) up, part-time HD:

[U][B]SIGNIFICANT[/B] Changes: NEW (added/moved) from [B]2012-03-12[/B] compared to 2012-03-05:[/U]
  [B]694 FSSDHD  FT D10[/B] ...


Sixto, out of technical curiosity is there some other data that can be posted here, like maybe the HD channel has an inactive "1700" slot number ("right now that is"), while the SD feed has an active one, that indicates the HD feed is only part time?

I know simply looking at the channel guide with the SD feed being on channel 694 while the HD one is at 694-1 indicates the HD is only part time, but was wondering about what in the data stream shows it.

EDIT: OK, see you correctly moved it to PT status, but anything on the current slot number assigned?

Edited by HoTat2, 12 March 2012 - 09:51 AM.


#1400 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,974 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 12 March 2012 - 10:36 AM

Sixto, out of technical curiosity is there some other data that can be posted here, like maybe the HD channel has an inactive "1700" slot number ("right now that is"), while the SD feed has an active one, that indicates the HD feed is only part time?

I know simply looking at the channel guide with the SD feed being on channel 694 while the HD one is at 694-1 indicates the HD is only part time, but was wondering about what in the data stream shows it.

EDIT: OK, see you correctly moved it to PT status, but anything on the current slot number assigned?

Yep, I fixed it when RAD noticed the error. Added 694 to the part-time list, and switched 693 (which was 694) to full-time.

I didn't list the slot info for 694 because it's in limbo right now, not assigned anywhere. This is normal for some of the part-time HD channels.

I don't know how to distinguish part-time from full-time in the PID data, so I do it manually. gct/doctor j/p. might have a way.

I just look at the D10/D11/D12 data in PIDs 823/824 looking for changes. gct and team do such a great job with the overall report that there's no need to duplicate efforts. I put my process in place just to quickly notice D10/D11/D12 changes in between gct reports.

Edited by Sixto, 12 March 2012 - 10:45 AM.

DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...