Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP722K - L6.56 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Frodo301

Frodo301

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 12 February 2010 - 08:11 AM

Just noticed this morning. Don't see mentioned on the forum. Anyone else have this? I have been having dropouts and pixelation all morning think it might be related.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,931 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 February 2010 - 10:39 AM

The L6.56 start spooling a couple weeks before. Perhaps not too many changes to notice.

#3 OFFLINE   slickshoes

slickshoes

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Sep 20, 2009

Posted 12 February 2010 - 10:44 AM

We need to see if this fixes the issues with HDMI to many receivers out there with the audio skips...I'll check my version when I get home today.

#4 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,306 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 13 February 2010 - 09:06 AM

Mine's got it, but I had to check to see that it did as I can see nothing that changed either good or bad.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#5 OFFLINE   JSIsabella

JSIsabella

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2006

Posted 14 February 2010 - 10:30 AM

6.56 here also - I see nothing different in any of the menus.

#6 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,306 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 14 February 2010 - 11:34 AM

One thing I have noticed is that I don't get the 'pauses' anymore. Maybe that what it was supposed to fix.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,931 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 February 2010 - 09:06 PM

New version L6.57 is spooling, so far for 127 lucky DVRs:

PID=085Ah
DownloadID:XCTB
Upgrading parts of new FW with filters: [1]
L657:'AAA1'-'ARD1','L040'-'L656'
New FW:'L657'
List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN: [1/1]
'1[0-8][13][0-2]'&'RM[BDF-HKMNQ].': {ViP722k} [127]


Edited by P Smith, 16 February 2010 - 02:47 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   slickshoes

slickshoes

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Sep 20, 2009

Posted 16 February 2010 - 11:02 AM

6.56 fixed the guide button swapping between lists. It now retains the setting through power cycles. Anyone check on the HDMI sound issues with Onkyos yet??:biggthump Dish

#9 OFFLINE   deffers

deffers

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 17 February 2010 - 09:25 AM

It has NOT fixed the sound problems with my Onkyo receiver thru HDMI with the 6.56 update.

#10 OFFLINE   slickshoes

slickshoes

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Sep 20, 2009

Posted 17 February 2010 - 11:14 AM

Lame....thanks for the update deffers, I'll keep my optical connected then.

#11 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 04 August 2009 - 10:48 PM

ViP722K - L6.56 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss

Please use this thread to post your experiences and bugs found with this release.

Be sure when you report an issue or an experience be sure to include details and specify what receiver you saw it on. We definitely have is recording, and then pull out the AC plug for 20 seconds and then plug it back in.seen some issues be receiver model specific so including the model is always good practice.

After receiving an update, if your box does not appear to be operating properly first step should be, find a ten minute period where nothing


Reported Fixes or new Features:

Reported Possible New Issues:

Other Reported Highs and Lows:


Moderator Note: Feel free to report getting it or not, but don't be surprised if we sweep through and delete those type of posts with an update at the top indicating the state of the roll out.

Edited by Ron Barry, 21 February 2010 - 08:49 PM.


#12 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,931 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 February 2010 - 08:57 PM

New version coming from 129W:

PID=0859h
DownloadID:0TRC
Upgrading parts of new FW with filters: [2]
L656:'AAA1'-'ARA0','ATA1'-'ATA1','L100'-'L655'
L656:'AAA1'-'ARA0','ATA1'-'ATA1','L100'-'L655'
New FW:'L656'
List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN: [3/3]
'1[0-8]1[0-2]'&'RM[BDF-HKMNQ].': {ViP722k} R0084587379-R0093531460
'1[0-8]3[0-2]'&'RM[BDF-HKMNQ].': {ViP722k} R0084587379-R0093531460


  • 225James likes this

#13 OFFLINE   DishTV

DishTV

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2007

Posted 05 March 2010 - 11:59 AM

How do I know if my 722 k has the latest update? Where does one find the latest update available? I suppose it is here. Do the 722 and 722K models have different numbering for the latest versions?

I assume so, because my 722 is operating great and the 722K has major audio problems 1) sync between TV1 video and TV1 analog audio, 2) garbling 3) major variations in the volume during programs 4) audio that sounds like people are talking into a 55 gallon steel drum. I hope they get all the bugs out... I just paid $100 for the upgrade plus $25 for the OTA module and irritation and frustration factor is WAY UP.

ALSO, I just got off the phone with a very polite female tech from Dish Network who said in effect (not her words... my interpretation) that the software engineers have been working so much on new software versions that my request was ... well, not even on the radar screen; My request was...

"Why is there no interaction features on TVG for the 722K as on the 722?" She said that she would put it on the list, but gave me the impresssion that the other problems that they were trying to solve are so much more important to many others which is taking all their time...I sure hope they fix all the audio bugs.... oh well... please put this on the list.

Thanks for any help on my first set of Questions above and I'll keep my fingers crossed the 722k audio gets fixed.

Edited by DishTV, 05 March 2010 - 02:46 PM.

I really want Dish Equipment to work correctly.
TV: SONY 46" W3100. Sat DVR's: New Dish Hopper w/Sling and 1 Joey that won't maintain a "Link".
DVD: SONY BDP-BX2
Audio: Okyno TX-SR505. Theater Spkrs: 5.1. House Speakers: Analog


#14 OFFLINE   langlin

langlin

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 369 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2005

Posted 05 March 2010 - 03:45 PM

How do I know if my 722 k has the latest update? Where does one find the latest update available? I suppose it is here. Do the 722 and 722K models have different numbering for the latest versions?

I assume so, because my 722 is operating great and the 722K has major audio problems 1) sync between TV1 video and TV1 analog audio, 2) garbling 3) major variations in the volume during programs 4) audio that sounds like people are talking into a 55 gallon steel drum. I hope they get all the bugs out... I just paid $100 for the upgrade plus $25 for the OTA module and irritation and frustration factor is WAY UP.

ALSO, I just got off the phone with a very polite female tech from Dish Network who said in effect (not her words... my interpretation) that the software engineers have been working so much on new software versions that my request was ... well, not even on the radar screen; My request was...

"Why is there no interaction features on TVG for the 722K as on the 722?" She said that she would put it on the list, but gave me the impresssion that the other problems that they were trying to solve are so much more important to many others which is taking all their time...I sure hope they fix all the audio bugs.... oh well... please put this on the list.

Thanks for any help on my first set of Questions above and I'll keep my fingers crossed the 722k audio gets fixed.


First, I've had a 722k for many months and do not have the audio problems you mention.

You can press "menu" twice and see the version of firmware.

the 722 and the 722k have different software.

Hope this helps
Sending pictures through the air is impossible, Television will never work!

Leon
Dish VIP722K
SW L6.62 Sat 1000 and 500 61.5/110/119/129
AbsoluteHD
Monitor Toshiba TW65x81 Component and Samsung HL-T7288W
Other Dish VIP612 SW L6.09

#15 OFFLINE   DishTV

DishTV

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2007

Posted 05 March 2010 - 03:48 PM

You can press "menu" twice and see the version of firmware. the 722 and the 722k have different software. Hope this helps


Thanks for the info. Is the latest 722k version L6.56? if so, how long has it been out?

I also found out that the RF mode may be better than Line mode to keep the background noice from drowning out the voices, that I described earlier.

Thanks again

I really want Dish Equipment to work correctly.
TV: SONY 46" W3100. Sat DVR's: New Dish Hopper w/Sling and 1 Joey that won't maintain a "Link".
DVD: SONY BDP-BX2
Audio: Okyno TX-SR505. Theater Spkrs: 5.1. House Speakers: Analog


#16 OFFLINE   langlin

langlin

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 369 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2005

Posted 05 March 2010 - 08:29 PM

Thanks for the info. Is the latest 722k version L6.56? if so, how long has it been out?

I also found out that the RF mode may be better than Line mode to keep the background noice from drowning out the voices, that I described earlier.

Thanks again


I've heard of 6.57 being out on some but I have still 6.56 and 6.56 is still listed as the current.
Check here:
http://tech.dishnetw...oftwarelist.asp
Sending pictures through the air is impossible, Television will never work!

Leon
Dish VIP722K
SW L6.62 Sat 1000 and 500 61.5/110/119/129
AbsoluteHD
Monitor Toshiba TW65x81 Component and Samsung HL-T7288W
Other Dish VIP612 SW L6.09

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,931 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 March 2010 - 10:06 PM

I've heard of 6.57 being out on some but I have still 6.56 and 6.56 is still listed as the current.
Check here:
http://tech.dishnetw...oftwarelist.asp

Perhaps from post#9 ? ;)

#18 OFFLINE   Voyager62

Voyager62

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2009

Posted 11 March 2010 - 02:46 PM

I haven't noticed any fixes with 6.56, except that it hasn't crashed when reordering timers. The Dish Pass timers still record the same program on the listed channel it's mirror at the same time. You'd think that would be an easy fix, but I guess not.

There is one new bug I've noticed. If the DVR turns itself off using the inactivity timer, the lights on the front of the DVR will remain on even though the DVR is in Standby. Maybe that is why 6.57 was released so soon after 6.56. Who knows.

The list of bugs is long, so I don't think any new release will take care of all of them.

#19 OFFLINE   ruffneckc

ruffneckc

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 12 March 2010 - 12:12 AM

I received L6.58 today. I have noticed that the guide preference remains now after a power cycle. Anyone else notice anything new?

#20 OFFLINE   jeremyg

jeremyg

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2006

Posted 17 March 2010 - 03:23 PM

I seem to be noticing a couple seconds of audio drop-out after hitting skip-forward or -back on 6.56




Protected By... spam firewall...And...