Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP722K - L6.56 Software Experiences/Bugs Discuss


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:27 AM

Wrong? Then why did it NOT record the next showing until I manually told it to?


I do this several times a week and it's never failed to pick up the next airing of a program.
Also, you need to clean up your DVR recordings. Ten minutes of available space is just asking for trouble.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Keybounce

Keybounce

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2009

Posted 14 June 2010 - 02:07 PM

Sorry, did not see your response. Odd: While you get the "New"'s to record if the first recording doesn't happen, I don't.

Here's a possible difference: I explicitly said "skip" on the first showing, because it would repeat this week and I had low disk space. It did not record one of the later shows.

Do you simply have a case of "There is a scheduling conflict, and priority forces the first episode to be skipped"? If so, then recording the next one to work around the scheduling conflict works, but recording the next to work around a skip instruction does not.

#53 OFFLINE   Keybounce

Keybounce

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2009

Posted 14 June 2010 - 02:10 PM

Today: At 1 pm, I had something scheduled to record. At 12:58, I cleaned up enough space for it to record.

It did not record. It shows the "red recording light" in the schedule, but not on the front panel, and not in the actual list of shows in the DVR.

EDIT: Manually saying "Record", and "Record entire event", turns on the red light on the front, but does not change the time remaining, nor displays it in the list of programs on the DVR.

#54 OFFLINE   Presence

Presence

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 361 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2004

Posted 29 June 2011 - 04:00 PM

Why is this thread stickied to the top? Seems a bit ... outdated.

#55 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 29 June 2011 - 09:41 PM

We tried sticking to the bottom but it didn't work. :)
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#56 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 28 September 2011 - 08:12 AM

Mods is there any way you can setup a L688"sticky" thread for the 722k,please.This is the software upgrade I received this morning.:)

Edited by Jhon69, 28 September 2011 - 08:20 AM.


#57 OFFLINE   Presence

Presence

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 361 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2004

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:35 PM

Why is this thread still stickied to the top? Is it nobody's job to stay on top of these things anymore?

#58 OFFLINE   altidude

altidude

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2010

Posted 11 July 2012 - 01:05 AM

I had to do a front panel reset on my 722k again tonight. The 722k stopped responding to the remote and then the picture just went black. Last night the guide froze on screen. I was going weeks between a forced restart until this firmware arrived and now two days in a row.

#59 OFFLINE   gschield

gschield

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2012

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:19 PM

My 722 freezes every time I try to rewind.

#60 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,389 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:00 PM

Cool it down - open a cover, let it work for a week; post results.

#61 OFFLINE   MattE303

MattE303

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2011

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:26 AM

This is the same issue that has been a problem I have experienced and commented on several times here since I got the 722K 6 months ago. Programs show a full recorded time but the acutal recording available for replay stops early.

Today I was out and could not watch the Masters Golf Tournement so I recorded the full 5 hours plus and extra hour over in case of a playoff. When I watched it this evening it showed six hours and one minue recorded but the recording skipped to the end after one hour.

This is very frustrating it seems to happen on the big events that I want to watch the most.


...and almost 3 years later, this is STILL a problem. I had this exact thing happen to me tonight; recorded a 3 hour live supercross race on Speed with an extra hour. The program shows as 4:04 (4 hours, 4 minutes), but will only play about the first hour, then it abruptly ends and goes back to the show info screen. I even tried archiving the show to my external drive and playing it from there, same result.

Seriously DISH, how can you guys not address such a severe bug? It's enough to make me want to go back to DirecTv :mad:

#62 OFFLINE   dttruax

dttruax

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2010

Posted 19 March 2013 - 03:48 PM

anything on the L757 software?

#63 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 17 April 2013 - 07:55 AM

...and almost 3 years later, this is STILL a problem. I had this exact thing happen to me tonight; recorded a 3 hour live supercross race on Speed with an extra hour. The program shows as 4:04 (4 hours, 4 minutes), but will only play about the first hour, then it abruptly ends and goes back to the show info screen. I even tried archiving the show to my external drive and playing it from there, same result.

Seriously DISH, how can you guys not address such a severe bug? It's enough to make me want to go back to DirecTv

:mad:

When you record a program or a sporting event and add extra time and it skips to the end that means the recording is corrupt. Will this happen on every recording when you record?  



#64 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 17 April 2013 - 08:25 AM

anything on the L757 software?

Dttruax we have updated the 722k software on March 13th, we are currently in the L7.59 software.



#65 OFFLINE   MattE303

MattE303

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2011

Posted 17 April 2013 - 08:28 AM

When you record a program or a sporting event and add extra time and it skips to the end that means the recording is corrupt. Will this happen on every recording when you record?  

Hi Mike, no, this does not happen on every recording, it is a very long standing, intermittent problem that has been discussed many times here in various threads and on other boards. 

Here are 2 other examples of the same issue being discussed, going back years:

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...ck-ended-early/

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...s-ending-early/



#66 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:31 AM

Hi Mike, no, this does not happen on every recording, it is a very long standing, intermittent problem that has been discussed many times here in various threads and on other boards. 

Here are 2 other examples of the same issue being discussed, going back years:

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...ck-ended-early/

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...s-ending-early/

MattE303 would you PM me with the phone number on the account to submit a problem report about this issue?






Protected By... spam firewall...And...