Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR2x and R22 0x03A8: Issues Only


  • Please log in to reply
158 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 01 March 2010 - 08:29 PM

Receivers included in this release:
HR20-100 • HR20-700
HR21-100 • HR21-200 • HR21-700 • HR21Pro
HR22-100 • HR23-700
R22-200 • R22-100


Release notes: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=173490

Discussion: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=171265

Remember, of course... please keep all posts to issues only. If you have no issues, or simply want to discuss other issues related to this release, please use the discussion thread.

We ask that you keep polite and focused within this thread, and post as much detail as possible. If your receiver is set up for network issue reporting, please post the key generated by the receiver.

Being part of the DBSTalk community means working together to help each other document issues and come up with solutions. While everyone gets upset from time to time, this is not the appropriate place for vents or rants. All off-topic posts and discussion will be deleted.


Thanks!

Edited by Doug Brott, 01 March 2010 - 08:36 PM.

DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mica

mica

    College Football Fan

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 03 March 2010 - 10:12 PM

Got the update last night at 2:24 AM and this morning I had no recorded programs, no SL's, no Fav Channels. Call me disappointed.
HR20-700 (1TB Seagate Barracuda ESATA), HR10-250 (ret.), GXCEBOT (120 hrs.) — D* Customer Since Nov. 1994

#3 OFFLINE   mjterrill

mjterrill

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:34 AM

Mica,

I have the same setup as you. HR-20 700 with an external 750GB HD. This update seems to have killed by external drive. Is this possible?

#4 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:51 AM

Guys, power down both your set top box and your external drive .. wait about 60 second, power up the external drive .. wait about 60 seconds and then power up the set top box. Hopefully that will get you back to where you think you should be.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 598 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 04 March 2010 - 09:28 AM

One of the changes for 3A8 is this:

Playlist Sort Order: Alphabetical sorting of folders now chronological within folder

If I set my sort order to A-Z the sorting within the folders is also A-Z. Am I missing something? Is there something I need to do to get chronological sorting within the folder? Both of my HR21-700s were upgraded to 3A8 early on 3/3.

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x0912 AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x0987
DirecTV since 1997


#6 OFFLINE   DvrJo

DvrJo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2009

Posted 04 March 2010 - 06:53 PM

I got this update two nights ago. After getting it I get a warning that my DVR is too hot and will have to shutdown. Then it just perpetually reboots. DIRECTV wants to send me my 3rd HD DVR in 15 months. I currently have a HR21-200. When I force an "update" back to 395, everything works fine. This may be the problem that makes me an EX-Customer. Anyone have any ideas. Oh, the real beauty was that after forcing a "down grading" of software versions yesterday, it "upgraded" again last night. Is there ANY way to keep it from updating over night besides pulling the power cable?

#7 OFFLINE   trojanralphie

trojanralphie

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 09:45 PM

Have a local digital OTA channel in Las Vegas that has 6 channels. 47-1 thru 47-5 worked fine until this update. Now the channel listing only recognizes 47-5 even though all five still show in the guide. I checked the signal and all five showed 89 percent plus on both tuners but when selecting 1 thru 4 the channel not available message appeared. I rebooted the DVR and now the guide only showed 47-4 but had 47-5 programming. I re-did the antennae initial setup and now the guide shows 47-4 with the right programming although the guide shows 47-5 programming. 47-6 has never appeared.
I contacted the engineer at channel 47 and they are having no problems but they have heard from several DTV customers with the same complaint. Finally, I hooked my outside antennae directly to the HDTV's digital tuner and all 6 worked fine.

#8 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,085 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 04 March 2010 - 09:51 PM

HR21-100/AM21

A recording was in the soft pad at the end of the show. I wanted to change channels, entered the new channel and the box was changed channels like it was on slow motion. The channel banner for the new channel came up and it sat there for a good 8 to 10 seconds before actually changing to the new channel.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#9 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 05 March 2010 - 03:46 PM

All channels in Live TV show a solid red progress bar extending the full length of the current show, just as you always see in a recorded show.

Everything else is normal. The time pointer, the three h:mm(a/p) displays, the show title, the trick-play icon and the huge DirecTV logo are all there; but you can't tell whether the current live show is being recorded or not, because the progress bar is totally red!

A Menu Reset fixed the problem.
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#10 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 06 March 2010 - 04:25 PM

As far as speed and responsiveness go, this release is a step backwards for me. Much more frequently than in recent months, I've found myself pressing a button a second time (after waiting 2 or 3 seconds) only to find the command being acted on twice. My HR21 is about as sluggish now as it was about 6 months ago. BTW, I've had my HR21 disconnected from the Internet for a few months, and I've been using 0x03a8 since Feb 21.

Edited by Syzygy, 06 March 2010 - 04:31 PM.

Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#11 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 06 March 2010 - 07:32 PM

Issue: Beginning of OTA recordings being cutoff

Receiver: HR21-100 with AM21 and 1TB eSata, report 20100306-2EE9

On Wednesday March 3rd, the following shows were recorded:

Gary Unmarried 8:30-9:00 on OTA channel 12-1
Modern Family 9:00-9:30 on OTA channel 34-1
Law & Order: SVU 9:00-11:00 on OTA channel 34-2

The order they are listed above is also the order they are in in the series manager.

Nothing else was recording during the 8-9 hour, so only one OTA tuner (let's call it tuner #1) was in use (to record Gary Unmarried), and we were watching other recorded shows, so the box was free to change the channel on the free tuner (let's call it tuner #2). At 9:00, the free OTA tuner (tuner #2) began to record Modern Family on time as expected.

BUT, tuner #1 did not start recording Law & Order until 9:01, presumably due to the soft padding being recorded at the end of Gary Unmarried, or due to the slowness of the HR21 to change channels, or both.

This happens to me a lot where I'll miss the beginning of a show because of shows being recorded in the previous hour - not just on this software release, but on previous ones too.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#12 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 08 March 2010 - 06:40 PM

Issue: TV Apps stopped working

Receiver: HR21-100 with AM21 and 1TB eSata

Report: 20100308-2B39

TV Apps had been working great for a long time (and I've had this software release since the 1st night it was available), including this morning, but then this afternoon when I tried to bring them up, all I got was the blue bar stating "TV Apps loading... this may take a minute." But they never loaded. I verified my network was working by bringing up the Apps on my HR21-200 with no problems. A menu restart of the HR21-100 fixed the problem and now they are working again.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#13 OFFLINE   hdtvluvr

hdtvluvr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2008

Posted 09 March 2010 - 07:08 AM

I watched Grey's Anatomy last night using MRV. It was recorded on one HR20-700 and I was watching it on my other HR20-700. I had picture freezes and audio issues every few minutes. This was recorded OTA (not D* feed). During the freezes I could hear what sounded like hard drive thrashing. This DVR was replaced about 3 weeks ago by D* as their fix attempt for audio dropouts.

While I had audio issues (using and not using MRV) prior to 0x03A8, they weren't this bad. Anyone else having these issues?

I watched Chuck later in the evening that had been recorded on the local DVR with maybe 2 small audio issues.

#14 OFFLINE   Huskerville

Huskerville

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2009

Posted 09 March 2010 - 10:43 AM

I had picture freezes and audio issues every few minutes. This was recorded OTA (not D* feed). During the freezes I could hear what sounded like hard drive thrashing. This DVR was replaced about 3 weeks ago by D* as their fix attempt for audio dropouts.


I'm gonna need a replacement HR20-700 to replace my "thrasher" also. Same deal as you have...problems w/ OTA recordings mainly. I've been waiting to hear if people have been having the same problems w/ their replacements. Sounds like the replacement you got still has the same issue many people are reporting from 5-6 months ago. This sounds unacceptable to me.

#15 OFFLINE   finaldiet

finaldiet

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 09 March 2010 - 03:00 PM

Just checked again and my receiver on MRV shows " playback failed. No audio/video packets received from server" Whats this?
Avatar says" Children are the only earthly possessions you can take with you to heaven, where are you taking yours"

#16 OFFLINE   CTJon

CTJon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 09 March 2010 - 03:25 PM

Got the update last night. I haven't had the slowness problem before but I have it now. It is so slow going through the menu or getting to the guide. I have tried a restart and it made no difference. This is a bad update for me.

#17 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 09 March 2010 - 03:32 PM

Just checked again and my receiver on MRV shows " playback failed. No audio/video packets received from server" Whats this?


Does it play from the server?

#18 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 09 March 2010 - 04:38 PM

Just checked again and my receiver on MRV shows " playback failed. No audio/video packets received from server" Whats this?


I get this all the time. Especially after using 30 second skip. It works for a few jumps, then freezes and I get this message. I've gotten to the point where if I watch something on MRV, I just let the commercials run.

#19 OFFLINE   finaldiet

finaldiet

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,158 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2006

Posted 09 March 2010 - 05:14 PM

First time its happen. I don't know what server its talking about. I can get only frozen screen on selected program with a progress bar at bottom.
Avatar says" Children are the only earthly possessions you can take with you to heaven, where are you taking yours"

#20 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:57 PM

Issue: Beginning of OTA recordings being cutoff

Receiver: HR21-100 with AM21 and 1TB eSata

Report: 20100309-3471

This happened again on Monday March 8th (see my first post about this issue)

The following shows were recorded:

24 9:00-10:00 on OTA channel 40-1
The Big Bang Theory 9:31-10:00 on OTA channel 12-1
Law & Order 10:00-11:00 on OTA channel 34-2

The order they are listed above is also the order they are in in the series manager.

Law & Order didn't start recording until 10:01, presumably due to the soft padding being recorded at the end of 24 and/or The Big Bang Theory, or due to the slowness of the HR21 to change channels, or both.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003




Protected By... spam firewall...And...