Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR2x and R22 0x03A8: Issues Only


  • Please log in to reply
158 replies to this topic

#141 OFFLINE   SkersR1

SkersR1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2007

Posted 29 April 2010 - 04:54 PM

I have three HR20-700s, all running on 0x3a8. Over the past several weeks I've noticed that all three units have problems with trick play; specifically, severe audio drop outs and/or stuttering video after using the rewind or skip back functions. It seems to have gotten worse recently, to the point that rewinding is completely frustrating. It usually takes a minute or two to get the problems "out of the system," after which things return to normal (until the next time I rewind or skip back).

As this is happening with all three of my DVRs, I have to think that the problem is systemic. Does anyone know if there's a fix in sight?



Got this on my HR20-700 as well. I noticed it when I was watching the NFL draft last weekend. Would watch ESPN and then double play over to NFLN and skip back or visa versa.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#142 OFFLINE   clcoyle

clcoyle

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2004

Posted 02 May 2010 - 07:54 AM

Woke up this morning and my HR20-700 DVR Series Manager had NO programs listed to record. I had like 20 shows that were there just yesterday. Why did that happened?

Bummed

#143 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 02 May 2010 - 09:19 AM

Woke up this morning and my HR20-700 DVR Series Manager had NO programs listed to record. I had like 20 shows that were there just yesterday. Why did that happen?

The Series Manager sometimes reverts to a previous state, removing new Series Links and re-adding old ones. I've had it happen to me at least three times; each time it reverted to a state from several days before. Last week it happened to me again, running 0x03A8 this time. I don't know why (or even how) it does that.

I reported this issue back in November, with 0x0368 (two NRs ago):
http://www.dbstalk.c...019#post2271019
http://www.dbstalk.c...190#post2272190

By any chance, were all of your 20 or so SLs fairly new?

Edited by Syzygy, 02 May 2010 - 10:15 AM.

Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#144 OFFLINE   clcoyle

clcoyle

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2004

Posted 02 May 2010 - 11:17 AM


By any chance, were all of your 20 or so SLs fairly new?


No not really, I had College Football Live on 206 set for at least 1yr.

Chris

#145 OFFLINE   AdMaven

AdMaven

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2008

Posted 02 May 2010 - 01:18 PM

Playback of "48 Hours" just froze again. Turned off the tv and back on, still frozen. Remote totally useless. Have to wait it out until it decides to play again.

I did a restart this morning because our guide listings for all SD channels said "to be announced". I have the HR21/200.

Just froze again but only seconds this time, not minutes. I'm at a loss as to what is going on here. Very frustrating.

Also, I've been recording the HBO "Pacific" series and it is only keeping 5 and recording over the first episodes. I changed my record preferences to "all episodes" but it is still only keeping 5 and recording over the earliest ones. What am I doing wrong?
HD-DVR HR22-100
HD-H20-100
Standard D-10
Standard GAEBOA
42" LG Plasma PC5D

#146 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,202 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 03 May 2010 - 12:31 PM

Yesterday both of our remotes (we've got his and hers) froze up and wouldn't control anything on our HR20-700. Mute and volume buttons still worked but that's just a pass-through to the TV set.

Pushed a couple buttons on the front panel with no response either. Eventually I did manage to change channels on the front panel and after that the remotes began working again. I was getting pretty close to an RBR at that point.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#147 OFFLINE   phodg

phodg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 04 May 2010 - 01:03 PM

I had Australian GT Racing on Speed yesterday record on both tuners for some reason. I never scheduled it, and when I tried to delete the scheduled recording it would just reschedule itself immediately. Once the show had recorded, I was able to delete it without any problems.
Happened on 2 of my 3 receivers.


OK - so now the HR22 in the bedroom still shows Australian GT Racing twice in the "manage recordings" list with a date of 4/26. Even though today is 5/4 and the scheduled recordings after that look correct. I can't delete either of the Australian GT Racing scheduled recordings. They just reappear straight away. Very weird.

#148 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 04 May 2010 - 11:04 PM

In the To Do List, I saw a first-run series episode (requested by a compound Keyword Autorecord) that wouldn't be recorded even though it could be; it was marked with an (X). Selecting Episode Options, then Record seemed to set the recording, but instead of the (X) changing to an ® in the To Do List, the episode's entry was simply deleted. Visiting the Guide showed a plain ® -- not the expected ®* -- and revisiting the To Do List showed the episode's entry had reappeared, also with an ®.

BTW, it frequently happens that a first-run series episode requested by a compound Keyword Autorecord doesn't get recorded unless you explicitly request it.
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#149 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 04 May 2010 - 11:18 PM

In the Guide, three episodes from three different series (requested by three different compound Keyword Autorecords) conflicted so that only two would be recorded. Rather than reordering the Autorecords in the Series Manager, I chose to stay in the Guide and simply select the episode that wouldn't be recorded and try to set it to record, at the same time cancelling one of the other episodes (Select, Select, Select, Down, [Down,] Select, Select).

I got the "Recording Set" message, but in fact the recording request was not honored -- although the cancellation was honored. I had to go back through the same process again and request the recording again. The second time through, the recording request was honored.

However, within an hour the scheduler undid everything, recording the episode I cancelled instead of the episode I explicitly requested -- evidently because priorities derived from the Series Manager were reapplied, overriding my explicit request.

(I did a test to see if the same problems would occur if the three series were requested by three ordinary Series Links. There were no problems. All these problems arise only with compound Keyword Autorecords, which wouldn't even be necessary if the Series Link limit was, say, 80 instead of 50.)
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#150 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 04 May 2010 - 11:26 PM

Cancelling a series episode requested by a compound Keyword Autorecord doesn't stick; at the last moment, if there's no conflict, the episode gets rescheduled and is recorded -- even if it was previously cancelled twice.
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#151 OFFLINE   STEVEN-H

STEVEN-H

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 612 posts
  • Location40241
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 05 May 2010 - 04:50 AM

My HR20-700 will not tuned to off air 11.1, 11.2, 11.3. This stations was digital 55 but, moved back to 11 after analog shut off. A reboot of the box has no effect. I re setup off air a number of times and still will not receive. Had the same problem with my HR21-100 /AM21 but, a rescan go it to come in. No matter what I do can not get it to tune on the HR21-100. On signal strength screen it is 0. All other locals work fine.
HR24-500 AM-21
HR24-200 AM-21
Direct TV Slimline-5S (SWM) DECA
Direct TV since 6/23/96.

#152 OFFLINE   MartyS

MartyS

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,104 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 05 May 2010 - 05:09 AM

My HR20-700 will not tuned to off air 11.1, 11.2, 11.3. This stations was digital 55 but, moved back to 11 after analog shut off. A reboot of the box has no effect. I re setup off air a number of times and still will not receive. Had the same problem with my HR21-100 /AM21 but, a rescan go it to come in. No matter what I do can not get it to tune on the HR21-100. On signal strength screen it is 0. All other locals work fine.

SOunds like the change in channel wasn't reported to the company that D* gets its info from. As you know, D* only passes on the channels that they get from (I think) Tribune Media Services.

I'd cal the channel and tell them that you can't get it any more because its not in the DirecTV database any longer, since they changed. They should be able to track it down and get it fixed through TMS
Marty

My Setup

Life is in HD and 3D -- be sure to enjoy it!!

Never argue with an idiot.
He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

#153 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,237 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 07 May 2010 - 03:34 PM

HR22-100 (2)
Belkin Powerline Gigabit Adapters
While watching an HD recording over MRV, from the bedroom HR22 to the Liv Room HR22, a window popped up and basically said that the network had lost connection and the program was no longer viewable. I did, however, continue to watch the program for 5 minutes more and use trickplay. I only lost it when I clicked "OK" in the popup. Was just some kinda glitch I guess, but it would be nice if the network error popup woulda cleared itself without making me stop, seeing how I did not really lose connection.
65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
 

#154 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 11 May 2010 - 12:44 PM

mjterrill, mica and others,

I have also posted on directv forums aboout this and spent a long time on the phone with Directv trying to find someone who cared. No luck. My dislike for the organization has become intense.

PROBLEM: a number of WD eSata drives stopped working after the update

SYMPTOM: The HRxx seems to be sending a signal to the external drive to shut itslef off during the "searching for satellite" phase of the boot and the HRxx reverts to booting from the internal drive.

CURE: None so far

QUESTION: A poster mentined being able to roll back the upgrade. Is that possible?


I am having the same problem here. I have a WD eSata drive as well. Talked to Customer Support this evening and they are able to revert back to a previous software version, although they were not willing to do so for me tonight. Perhaps is was a timing issue...

CSR claims that their version of the release notes indicate no changes were made to the external harddrive code.

I'm hoping a fix is found soon for this, however, according to the CSR, its not on their radar yet as a known issue.

I'm surprised to hear that a CSR could roll you back to a previous version.

WRT the release notes, it seems that the developers keep the CSRs in the dark almost as much as us "beta testers." ;)
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#155 OFFLINE   ATARI

ATARI

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,876 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 11 May 2010 - 02:27 PM

Not possible to 'roll back' to a previous national release.

#156 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,617 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 02:45 PM

Not possible to 'roll back' to a previous national release.

"If it could be", the older national has to be in the stream and this means the newer one is still in the staggered rollout stage. Then the CSR would need to remove your receiver from the update list and then manually force an update. Can this be done? :shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#157 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 14 May 2010 - 10:44 PM

Often the first item in the list of "Smart" Search results is discarded each time you select any item to explore it.

Edited by Syzygy, 15 May 2010 - 08:49 AM.

Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#158 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 14 May 2010 - 11:13 PM

The feature that suggests an alternate channel when a live event is blacked out no longer seems to work.

My case: 668 FSNOHD pretends it's going to show every Sunday Twins game, but something else is always shown instead, while the actual Sunday games are always on 29 WFTC (spot-beamed). WFTC's Twins broadcasts are also in HD, but WFTC always fails to flag them as HD. Several times, this set of circumstances has led me to request a Sunday recording on 668, and the software never makes any suggestion to try and find another showing.
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#159 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:22 AM

In keyword searches, NNOT after TTITLE always causes a search to return no results.

Thanks to Steve for verifying this bug (parser error).

Edited by Syzygy, 21 May 2010 - 10:15 AM.

Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package




spam firewall