Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Does Dish let you select/choose which model receiver you have?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 04 March 2010 - 11:18 AM

May sound like a silly question, but with DirecTV, you have no conrtrol (unless you get a unit through a store) what model receiver or DVR you have. You just select HD receiver or HD DVR for example. You don't know what specific model they will send you or what they will send you in the case of an equipment swap-out. You could go out and get an HR-23, it go bad in 2 months, and they might send you an older, smaller hard drive HR21 in it's place. You have no say in the matter.

Just curious how it works with Dish.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 04 March 2010 - 11:35 AM

You usually get the same model as the one that went bad. If it is an older model, you could possibly get the next available model. Dish does not have that many different models and are currently phasing out non-HD models, that should cut down the number of current models as well.

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:09 PM

Dish considers (or has considered) these equal:

622/722/722k

222/222k

211/211k

625/522

301/311/381

So, if you ordered, say, a 625 and a 211k, you could end up with a 522 and a 211.

Also, no SD equipment has been manufactured for over a year, so everything SD will be a reman. For HD equipment, only the 612 and the "k" models are in current production, so everything else will be a reman.

#4 OFFLINE   nicedeboy26

nicedeboy26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:14 PM

If, lets say, one of my 622s goes bad. Would dish replace it with a 722 or 722k?

#5 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:19 PM

If, lets say, one of my 622s goes bad. Would dish replace it with a 722 or 722k?


Only if no 622 was available.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#6 OFFLINE   nicedeboy26

nicedeboy26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:30 PM

I actually wanted to swap out my 622 with a 612, since its just on one HD TV and dish charges $10 more for the 622. But Dish will not let me. Even if I put money out, they still will not!

#7 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,416 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 04 March 2010 - 12:31 PM

If, lets say, one of my 622s goes bad. Would dish replace it with a 722 or 722k?

You could specifically request something, but...

Posted Image


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian





Protected By... spam firewall...And...