Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

OTA and channels


  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

Poll: Are you having trouble with your over-the-air channels? (198 member(s) have cast votes)

Are you having trouble with your over-the-air channels?

  1. I have OTA and I am having issue (describe below) (61 votes [30.81%])

    Percentage of vote: 30.81%

  2. I have OTA and I am not having any issues (note market below) (86 votes [43.43%])

    Percentage of vote: 43.43%

  3. I do not have OTA (51 votes [25.76%])

    Percentage of vote: 25.76%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 OFFLINE   F1Mike

F1Mike

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 02:27 PM

HR20-100 lost in the guide 35-1 (ABC) and 35-2 (CBS) in the Lima, OH area. Normal methods to restore have failed. All other OTA channels in the area are showing and working normally.

Mike

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   jjfeo

jjfeo

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2009

Posted 08 March 2010 - 02:28 PM

I use an OTA for D* (AM21). I am not getting 25.1 and 69.1. Although, I am getting them through the TV tuner.

#23 OFFLINE   Marlbs

Marlbs

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2010

Posted 08 March 2010 - 03:42 PM

17.1 shows up sometimes when I do the scan and then it disappears. I went though so much to get this channel working an added, it is a shame that the AM21 seems to be so buggy. Columbus, OH market - 43215 ZIP.

#24 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,652 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 08 March 2010 - 03:43 PM

No OTA where I live.

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#25 OFFLINE   freerein100

freerein100

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 03:48 PM

Lake Charles, LA DMA : No problems thankfully as we may never get locals from D*

#26 OFFLINE   michaelancaster

michaelancaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 140 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 04:16 PM

I'm in the Charlotte DMA and have no issues with local OTA's
HR20-700
HR20-700
R22-100
R16-300
Slimeline-3

#27 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,708 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 08 March 2010 - 04:21 PM

My issues related to a few OTA channels I can easily get with my TV's OTA tuner (signal levels in the 70s and 80s) but can't get them on the HR20-700's tuner at all.
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#28 OFFLINE   bakers12

bakers12

    What? Me hurry?

  • Registered
  • 1,653 posts
  • LocationChicago - W. Suburbs
Joined: May 29, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:08 PM

We use OTA all every day with no problems. Chicago, DMA #3.

House #1:
HR20-700 -> LG 42LH40 LCD (HDMI)
HR23-700, AM21N -> Slingbox Solo (component)
and AverTV HD DVR C027 card on Lenovo desktop (HDMI)
HR23-700, AM21 -> Samsung HL-R4266W (HDMI)
AU9 SWM5

House #2:
HR34-700 ->
Insignia NS-55L260A13 Rev E (HDMI)
C31-700 -> Sansui SLED1980E (HDMI)
AU9 SWM5

More details are available here.


#29 OFFLINE   coolyman

coolyman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:15 PM

Cincinnati, no problems.

#30 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,063 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:16 PM

Seattle DMA. No issues. Since KOMO (ABC) put up their new antenna I am now getting their main and subchannels which I could not receive before.

#31 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,647 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:26 PM

According to antennaweb, from my location in NJ FOX, PBS & WOR have a different compass heading then ABC, NBC, PIX & CBS. ABC,NBC,CBS & PIX are (from me) at 81degrees and 14.8 miles and PBS, FOX and WOR are at 75degrees and 17.1 miles so i don't think FOX is on the ESB unless antennaweb isn't updated. Seems the 17.1 mile stations are further uptown.

Actually I think antennaweb is screwed up because it lists PBS as 17.1 miles and it's actually in Newark which is probably less then 10 miles from me.

Something is probably wrong with the data. As you can see from the attached, from my location, FOX (WYNY) is at the same compass heading as NBC, CBS, et al, but is apparently located 3 miles closer to me! That would put their antenna somewhere inside Manhattan's Central Park, which I doubt. :)

According to this, WYNY was among several broadcasters that signed a 15-year lease to broadcast from the ESB back in 2003, so unless they've temporarily re-located, I'm not sure why the distance discrepancy unless it's just an Antennaweb data entry error.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Antenna Web.JPG

Edited by Steve, 08 March 2010 - 05:34 PM.

/steve

#32 OFFLINE   Kithron

Kithron

    Mentor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 47 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:26 PM

Binghamton,NY

No issues here

HR34-700 / HR24-500 / C41-100 (2)


#33 OFFLINE   HIGHWAY

HIGHWAY

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
  • Locationnorth east pa
Joined: Apr 11, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 05:32 PM

lost fox sunday afternoon when race was on ota and directv also off for an hour.

#34 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 March 2010 - 06:07 PM

Little Rock, AR
OTA locals are working fine. DirectTv HD lil has a problem with pixellation thats been going on for several weeks now, especially on the two VHF channels.

#35 OFFLINE   prozone1

prozone1

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 08 March 2010 - 06:16 PM

Missoula OTA 8-1 and 8-2 do not come in any more, on both HR20-700 They are strong signals. No problem with Eye TV on my Imac from same ant.

#36 OFFLINE   GP245

GP245

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 268 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 08 March 2010 - 07:30 PM

Continue to be disappointed and frustrated by the lack of sensitivity of the AM21.

Same antenna's signal is split - one end to the AM21 and the other to my Sharp HDTV's tuner. No contest - the Sharp pulls in stations that the AM21 can't.

Also wish the AM21 has the ability to scan vs. using the bankrupt Tribune service.

Find myself using the TV's tuner more and more these days.

#37 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 08 March 2010 - 08:28 PM

Something is probably wrong with the data. As you can see from the attached, from my location, FOX (WYNY) is at the same compass heading as NBC, CBS, et al, but is apparently located 3 miles closer to me! That would put their antenna somewhere inside Manhattan's Central Park, which I doubt. :)

According to this, WYNY was among several broadcasters that signed a 15-year lease to broadcast from the ESB back in 2003, so unless they've temporarily re-located, I'm not sure why the distance discrepancy unless it's just an Antennaweb data entry error.


Interesting .... although that article is 7 years old. Have to check some other sources. Now you have me wondering.

#38 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,160 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 09 March 2010 - 06:33 AM

No PBS 16.1, 16.2, and 16.3 in Aberdeen, SD after new scan. Still available on receivers that I have not updated.
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#39 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,052 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 09 March 2010 - 07:30 AM

Normal channels are fine in OKC.
Didn't look and don't care about the religious or Spanish channels.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#40 OFFLINE   weaver6

weaver6

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 563 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 09 March 2010 - 08:55 AM

Washington, DC. No problems, at least the last time I looked.
AU9 5 LNB Dish
HR21-100 with AM-21 to Sharp LC-60E79U using HDMI, optical to Harmon/Kardon AVR-247, 2 TB external hard drive
HR21-700 to 31" Mitsubishi CRT, 2 TB external hard drive
Westell 7500 Router, Hardwired to HR21-100, 7500 hardwired to Netgear switch to HR20-100




Protected By... spam firewall...And...