Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

PS3 Slim /blueray problem


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 683 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 15 March 2010 - 11:38 PM

I got myself a ps3 slim for xmas. Last weekend went to Hollywood video and got a " Surrogates" on blueray. Here is the problem, when I want to watch the movie there is no sound. If I switch to 5.1 french or spanish dolby then the sound works fine. I also get sound playing the extra stuff on the disk. Just no sound when its set up for english. Bad disk? Also regular dvd's play fine.

HR20-100 s/w version 0x087f
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 16 March 2010 - 05:54 AM

Do you have the issue with any other BD?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 683 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 16 March 2010 - 08:53 AM

Do you have the issue with any other BD?

- Merg

That is the only one I tried so far. Got the disk at hollywood video rental place that is going out of business. They were selling br disk at half price and dvd movies for $3.00 a piece.

HR20-100 s/w version 0x087f
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.


#4 OFFLINE   northrk

northrk

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2007

Posted 16 March 2010 - 12:15 PM

I looked up this disc and it comes with an english DTS surround sound track. Try the PS3 audio settings and select LPCM in place of Bitstream.

#5 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 683 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 18 March 2010 - 11:47 PM

Ok got another br disk and it works fine. When I get time I will fiddle with the junk br disk and try to make it work. I will try the LPCM "what ever that means" setting.

HR20-100 s/w version 0x087f
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.


#6 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,725 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 19 March 2010 - 12:05 PM

Unless the slim is vastly different let it auto set up your audio for you. It sounds like it was playing an audio that your TV or AV receiver did not support.

LPCM is an abbreviation for a multi channel PCM output. PCM is the same standard as is used on CDs but they are only 2 channel...

Multi channel PCM from the PS3 means it is using its on board decoders to convert the audio stream to LPCM. This is ONLY AVAILABLE AT THE HDMI OUTPUT! The specs for coax/optical have the bandwidth but they will not support multi channel PCM!

If you are connecting HDMI to a TV, its a pretty safe bet it will not support ANY HDMI audio other than 2 channel PCM or Dolby Digital 5.1. If you are going throgh an AV receiver consult its specs.

Regardless, the PS# should be smart enough to determine if you let it do the setup.

Don "the new AV realm is still user unfriendly" Bolton

Ok got another br disk and it works fine. When I get time I will fiddle with the junk br disk and try to make it work. I will try the LPCM "what ever that means" setting.


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#7 OFFLINE   B Newt

B Newt

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 683 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2007

Posted 19 March 2010 - 05:39 PM

Ok I looked on the br case and it says the feature is encoded in 5.1 DTS-HD MA. My receiver is only regular dolby 5.1 capable.

Edited by B Newt, 19 March 2010 - 06:43 PM.

HR20-100 s/w version 0x087f
au9 dish NO multiswitch or diplexers.
Internet connection via WIFI.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...