Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Network FAQ Thread


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:59 AM

Hi, still crunching out some monthly fees before I make a commitment to HD.

What are the advantages/disadvantages of buying as opposed to leasing a receiver?

Ditto for the DVR. What fees are associated with leasing?

Can I still use my old 301 (the one that I am currently using) on one of my older Non HDTV sets when I sign up for HD?

Thanks for any help,


The only 'advantage' to buying over leasing is that you're not in a contract. The cost is the same regardless.

Using your 301 depends on whether or not you're in an Eastern Arc market; the 301 would be upgraded if you are.

"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 06 August 2012 - 08:36 PM

Added how to enable bridging on the Hoppa.

"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#53 OFFLINE   LouF_Dish

LouF_Dish

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2011

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:49 PM

What's the secondary per month fee on the 922? I thought it was 19 but I don't know for sure.


If the 922 is the primary or only receiver on a Dish account, there is a $6/month account level DVR fee, and a $10/month DVR fee for the 922, effective 1Aug12.

Thanks for asking!
:flag: Olympic Gold! GO USA!!! :flag:
Lou F.
Social Media Representative
Tues-Sat 14:45 - 23:15

#54 OFFLINE   joetex

joetex

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:21 AM

Upgraded to a 722 and 211 and have an old 2800 receiver to dispose of. Is it ok to leave it with my trash collection & leave the smart card in it?

#55 OFFLINE   lamp525

lamp525

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 30 October 2012 - 05:05 PM

I have hopper and 2 joeys 2hdtv and 1 sd..any advantage to swapping out the sd to hd..able to record more shows?

#56 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,220 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 October 2012 - 05:22 PM

if you changing TVs (am I right ?), then no difference; all hoppers/joeys are capable deliver HD to your TV (if you subscribed to HD channels).

#57 OFFLINE   lamp525

lamp525

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:08 AM

thank you

#58 OFFLINE   Satnovice

Satnovice

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2012

Posted 09 December 2012 - 06:51 AM

Can DP 34 Switch work with Dish 1000.2 Dish?

#59 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:36 AM

Can DP 34 Switch work with Dish 1000.2 Dish?

Yes a DP34 can work with a 1000.2 dish but you would lose 1 output. 1000.2 uses DPP technology and would allow connecting 3 dual tuner receivers. The DP34 takes the dish backwards one generation of product and requires 2 cables to each dual tuner so it can support only 2 receivers. Why don't you go back to the DISH forum and ask what you really want to do?

#60 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 21 December 2012 - 01:00 PM

Added the pricing info for 2013.

"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#61 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 18 April 2013 - 03:00 PM

Added NEW pricing info for Hopper effective 5/22/13. Sigh.

 

Also the new board seems to keep my revisions visible? Or am I the only one who sees that?


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#62 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 26 April 2013 - 02:44 PM

Corrected with new numbers for Hopper increase 5/23/13


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#63 OFFLINE   bigredoes

bigredoes

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • Locationwherever
Joined: Nov 06, 2013

Posted 06 November 2013 - 04:22 PM

Newbie here...so I apologize in advance if this isn't the right way to ask a question.

 

I have Hopper/Joey account installed at my home.  I also have a second home with more conventional system VIP 211k and VIP 612 - separate account.

 

QUESTION - if I take either the 211k or 612 and connect it to a television in the Hopper/Joey home (not connected to that system) will it work? 

 

Basically I am trying to combine two accounts into one so that I do not have to pay a double bill.



#64 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,220 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 November 2013 - 12:07 AM

for now dish will not allow you use ViP boxes with H/H2/J setup ... only one ViP211 with Tailgate box would be allowed



#65 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,187 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 07 November 2013 - 12:59 PM

Also... if you are trying to have two addresses on the same account, you would be violating terms of service anyway.


-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#66 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 14 November 2013 - 10:29 AM

You can setup a Snowbird account where you take your receivers from one location to use at your second home.  You can go between homes but you must take your receivers with you.  You cannot have receivers at both locations working at the same time.  Please let me know if you have further questions.  Thanks.

 

Newbie here...so I apologize in advance if this isn't the right way to ask a question.

 

I have Hopper/Joey account installed at my home.  I also have a second home with more conventional system VIP 211k and VIP 612 - separate account.

 

QUESTION - if I take either the 211k or 612 and connect it to a television in the Hopper/Joey home (not connected to that system) will it work? 

 

Basically I am trying to combine two accounts into one so that I do not have to pay a double bill.



#67 OFFLINE   SeaBeagle

SeaBeagle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 731 posts
Joined: May 07, 2006

Posted 14 November 2013 - 11:48 PM

You can have two receivers at two different addresses but you would need two separate accounts.

#68 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 10 January 2014 - 10:55 AM

Price Increase 2014. 


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#69 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 09 January 2015 - 10:48 AM

Does (can?) anybody take this over?


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...