Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Direct TV HD DVR vs Yamaha RX-V565


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Cwire

Cwire

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2010

Posted 03 April 2010 - 09:02 PM

Boy I am new here and have no clue if I am in the right place. I just bought a Yamaha RX-V565 Receiver and I have Direct TV. I'm using a Direct TV HD DVR and I am trying to hook up the DVR though the receiver. I hooked the HDMI from the line out in the back of the dvr and into the HDMI input on the receiver but I get no sound or video? My Blue Ray player works just fine and the only way I was able to make it work proper was to run a HDMI cable direct from the DVR to the TV and then an Optical cable from the DVR to the Receiver. I was under the assumption that I just needed to go direct from the dvr to the receiver and I would be good to go? Any advise would be great as you all know the owners manual's for these things are terrible. Thanks in Advance!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hdtvluvr

hdtvluvr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 166 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2008

Posted 04 April 2010 - 07:55 AM

Check you manual for Monitor check in the advanced menu. Figure out how to get there and turn it off. This may solve the problem. If it doesn't I'd check out:

avsforum

Let us know how you fix it.

#3 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 04 April 2010 - 11:57 AM

Most of the digital inputs are assignable, make sure you have that particular HDMI input associated with the correct selection, like TV, or sat, etc...HDMI inputs usually have a choice. For example I have HDMI2 on my Denon set as SAT input...so when I select sat on the remote, I get the audio and video from my dvr.

#4 OFFLINE   Cwire

Cwire

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2010

Posted 04 April 2010 - 03:39 PM

I'll give that a try!




spam firewall