Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Only 50 tuners?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,552 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 09 April 2010 - 09:33 AM

I don't think it will fit in the entertainment center but I still want one anyways...
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   tcusta00

tcusta00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,911 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2007

Posted 09 April 2010 - 09:55 AM

That's sick. :eek:

#3 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,826 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 09 April 2010 - 12:55 PM

!rolling That thing is awesome!
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,860 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 April 2010 - 12:57 PM

Seems to me that Tom Robertson and Earl Bonovich probably already have more than that ;)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 09 April 2010 - 12:59 PM

If I could find an Energy Star sticker, I might be able to justify it. :lol:
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#6 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,650 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 09 April 2010 - 01:01 PM

One week of setting recordings on this puppy...and I'd be set for the year watching it all.... :lol:
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#7 OFFLINE   chris vesuvio

chris vesuvio

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2007

Posted 09 April 2010 - 01:08 PM

BRING IT ON!!! I would like two please....

Whoooo Hooooo :--)
“Great things are not accomplished by those who yield to trends and fads and popular opinion.” Jack Kerouac

#8 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 09 April 2010 - 01:34 PM

While I do like the idea of 50 tuners (That *MAY* be enough even for me lol), it's pretty much useless if you ask me:
"1. Connect your TV signal

The SnapStream Server supports recording from a variety of television inputs, including:

* analog antenna
* regular cable (illustrated above)
* digital cable (with set-top box)
* DirecTV or DISH satellite (with set-top box)"'

Which means SD only, no HD.

#9 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,525 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 09 April 2010 - 01:48 PM

But does it autopad?
/steve

#10 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,502 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 09 April 2010 - 02:00 PM

I don't think it will fit in the entertainment center but I still want one anyways...

It looks small until you scan down the page to see the room it is in.

I wonder how much it would cost for the subscription to keep all of the tuners working? Is it DirecTV Titanium compatible?

They don't need 50 sources, but I can see someone like The Daily Show and The Colbert Report using something like this on the news channels to make sure they don't miss something they can use in their show. Also the news networks monitoring all of their sources and each other. Record everything forever.

#11 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,525 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 09 April 2010 - 02:04 PM

[...] I wonder how much it would cost for the subscription to keep all of the tuners working? Is it DirecTV Titanium compatible? [...]

If you apply current DirecTV HD DVR pricing, $120 month "extra" is not outrageous, if anyone truly needed this capability. ($5 x 24 add'l tuner pairs.)

Personally, after looking at my Series Managers, we could probably get by with 12 tuners recording 7x24 and never have to schedule a show... ever. :)
/steve

#12 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 04 May 2010 - 07:00 AM

They don't need 50 sources, but I can see someone like The Daily Show and The Colbert Report using something like this on the news channels to make sure they don't miss something they can use in their show. Also the news networks monitoring all of their sources and each other. Record everything forever.


Actually, Daily Show, Colbert and the Soup use it to pull together clips.

I use their consumer-grade BeyondTV software on my HTPC and it's brilliant.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#13 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,907 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 05 May 2010 - 05:32 PM

WOW!! I'd love that. But I've never get that much TV watched. Plus I don't have the space. Unless my mother would let the fridge go. LOL
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#14 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,249 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 May 2010 - 08:49 PM

But all this is SD. :(

I've got 20-ish tuners of HD :)

Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)


#15 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,649 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 June 2010 - 06:09 PM

While I do like the idea of 50 tuners (That *MAY* be enough even for me lol), it's pretty much useless if you ask me:
"1. Connect your TV signal

The SnapStream Server supports recording from a variety of television inputs, including:

* analog antenna
* regular cable (illustrated above)
* digital cable (with set-top box)
* DirecTV or DISH satellite (with set-top box)"'

Which means SD only, no HD.



Sounds like it says the tuners are analog, drop number of tuners in half for HD. Course this thing takes 30 amps power. I'd be able to work that part, other than the electric bill and figuring out where to plug in my Christmas lights.




spam firewall