Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

channel 1 must go!


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Comar

Comar

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2007

Posted 11 April 2010 - 07:46 AM

Is there a way to stop my Receiver from changing to channel 1 when i accidentally hit the 1 button on my remote when i meant to hit mute?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 527 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 11 April 2010 - 08:35 AM

Yes, press EXIT before it changes channels.

#3 OFFLINE   Clemsole

Clemsole

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 367 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 11 April 2010 - 09:01 AM

Get a new pair of glasses.

#4 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 11 April 2010 - 09:12 AM

Cut the button off with a razor knife:)
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#5 OFFLINE   Avder

Avder

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,395 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2010

Posted 11 April 2010 - 09:17 AM

Use a universal remote whos mute button is located far away from the numberpad.

#6 OFFLINE   weaver6

weaver6

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 563 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2005

Posted 11 April 2010 - 04:40 PM

Use a favorites list , and delete channel 1.
AU9 5 LNB Dish
HR21-100 with AM-21 to Sharp LC-60E79U using HDMI, optical to Harmon/Kardon AVR-247, 2 TB external hard drive
HR21-700 to 31" Mitsubishi CRT, 2 TB external hard drive
Westell 7500 Router, Hardwired to HR21-100, 7500 hardwired to Netgear switch to HR20-100

#7 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 11 April 2010 - 04:43 PM

Use a favorites list , and delete channel 1.


Favorite list, or not, it will tune to the number you enter.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#8 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 11 April 2010 - 04:47 PM

Get a new pair of glasses.


Or smaller thumbs.

#9 OFFLINE   Tele-TV

Tele-TV

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 475 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2003

Posted 20 April 2010 - 12:33 PM

Cut the button off with a razor knife:)


:D When I had to some operation on my HR210-250 - HD Tivo Peanut remote, I used scissors. It would have prob been a cleaner finished look if used a [sharp] razor. And maybe even pliers.

Thanks for the tip.
+ D* please add E! HD WITH -- TruTV HD. And...National Geographic WILD HD, WeTV HD, G4 HD, BBC-America HD [Top Gear HD]. Miscellaneous: Maybe DIY HD, Style HD, Cooking Channel HD, Wealth TV HD. + ....OXYGEN HD ("BAD GIRLS CLUB HD"; "THE FACE" HD); --->>OWN HD; WeHD;; ETC., ETC., thanks! }}} MILITARY CHANNEL HD (discoverynetworks).

#10 OFFLINE   Hoosier205

Hoosier205

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,596 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 20 April 2010 - 02:21 PM

Remove, carefully, your left and right index fingers. :)
DTV = Digital Television

#11 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 20 April 2010 - 04:11 PM

Watch less tv.

Everybody took all the good answers already.

#12 OFFLINE   JeffBowser

JeffBowser

    blah blah blah

  • Registered
  • 2,504 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 22 April 2010 - 09:41 AM

He basically wants a button on the remote to stop doing what it is supposed to do (input a 1). There is no good answer to that. Reminds me of tech calls I get all the time from schoolteachers who want my software to be able to stop kids from pulling power cords. Just illogical.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...