Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wanted: Play a group


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Keybounce

Keybounce

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2009

Posted 22 April 2010 - 02:17 PM

I want to be able to play a group of shows. For example: Select the group "Life", hit "play group", and watch 11 shows play all day.

Currently, you can only play one show. When it stops, you have to select the next show to play.

Order: Since the episode # is often wrong (and the original air date more accurate), I want to be able to choose between:
1. Actual recording order
2. Episode #
3. Original air date order

With some smarts (if a showing was broken up and recorded in parts, play the parts in order -- essentially, break air date ties with episode #, break air date and episode # ties by recording order).

Finally, remember where in the group you left off, so that later I can say "resume group playback".

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 22 April 2010 - 02:41 PM

I want to be able to play a group of shows. For example: Select the group "Life", hit "play group", and watch 11 shows play all day.

Currently, you can only play one show. When it stops, you have to select the next show to play.

Order: Since the episode # is often wrong (and the original air date more accurate), I want to be able to choose between:
1. Actual recording order
2. Episode #
3. Original air date order

With some smarts (if a showing was broken up and recorded in parts, play the parts in order -- essentially, break air date ties with episode #, break air date and episode # ties by recording order).

Finally, remember where in the group you left off, so that later I can say "resume group playback".


This has been asked for before, and would be GREAT if they could find a way to do it.

#3 OFFLINE   ShapeShifter

ShapeShifter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2008

Posted 23 April 2010 - 11:21 AM

I haven't tried it myself, but maybe you can do it with an external hard drive?

When I have shows on an external hard drive that I want to move onto the internal drive, I go down the list checking off the shows I want, and once the selection is made I move over to the action buttons and select the action to restore them to the internal drive. That goes ahead and moves all of the selected shows.

There is another action button to delete all of the selected shows, and that also works on the full selected list.

One more action button is "Play." While I've used it to play back individual shows from the external drive, I've not tried it when there is a bunch of shows selected. My guess is that it would play all of the selected shows, one after the other.

Anybody tried playing multiple shows from an external drive? What happens?

AT250, Locals, Platinum HD
Dish 500 (110 & 119) plus wing dish (61.5)
Living room: ViP612 to Yamaha receiver and JVC 42" 1080i 16:9 plasma
Bedroom: ViP612 to JVC 32" 1080i 16:9 CRT
Motorhome: ViP722, to Sharp 32" 1080i 16:9 LCD (TV1) and SD 4:3 CRT (TV2)


#4 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 23 April 2010 - 11:49 AM

You guess wrong. The Play button should have been grayed out if multiple programs are selected. I guess they missed that when they "tested" the EHD.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#5 OFFLINE   ShapeShifter

ShapeShifter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2008

Posted 23 April 2010 - 01:48 PM

You guess wrong.

Oh well, it was worth a try... :(

AT250, Locals, Platinum HD
Dish 500 (110 & 119) plus wing dish (61.5)
Living room: ViP612 to Yamaha receiver and JVC 42" 1080i 16:9 plasma
Bedroom: ViP612 to JVC 32" 1080i 16:9 CRT
Motorhome: ViP722, to Sharp 32" 1080i 16:9 LCD (TV1) and SD 4:3 CRT (TV2)


#6 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,117 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 23 April 2010 - 02:40 PM

It used to be that you could select multiple programs on the EHD and have the Play button available. The one time I tried it, it came back with an error pop-up saying I could only play one selection at a time. Nowadays, the Play is grayed out, or so it's been reported. I haven't tried to play multiples since the first time I got my wrist slapped. :D
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#7 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 23 April 2010 - 08:20 PM

It used to be that you could select multiple programs on the EHD and have the Play button available.


It's still that way. It doesn't work.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009




spam firewall