Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DIRECTV Launches Univision and TeleFutura in Crystal-Clear HD


  • Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 964 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 02 May 2010 - 12:04 AM

So, not only does UNI beat the #1 Cable Network (USA Network) handidly, it almost doubles FOX News as well .....

Perhaps now we can all understand why DirectTV added UNI-HD ahead of any of the other networks still missing in HD....


If that's the case I have to wonder why it wasn't launched when the HD channel went live. :P

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   mystic7

mystic7

    Icon

  • Banned User
  • 632 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2007

Posted 02 May 2010 - 05:49 AM

Well, personally I am STUNNED to find out that Sabado Gigante is NOT an HD program! The only reason I had for watching this channel at all. Something's not right, though. On the one part I watched they were doing some kind of lottery thing with viewers who had phoned in on Skype. In a split screen, the studio feed of the host was in a miniature window which was in 16:9, so it seems they're in HD, but when they cut back to the host in the studio I was getting black bars on the side (but not on the top and bottom).

Edited by mystic7, 02 May 2010 - 05:57 AM.


#128 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,722 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 02 May 2010 - 09:21 AM

What area does that spotbeam cover? Maybe it covers a majority of the people that would get the channel anyway (the southwest) so they put it there for now and will move it later?

Maybe that is why we have some people who seemingly should get the channel but can't (like dtv757)?


Oh sure, anything is possible;

But it is AFAIK surely unprecedented to launch a national HD channel on a spotbeam tp. frequency. And also very unreliable and speculative to try and target only specific areas of the country where the majority of Hispanics and other Spanish speaking interested parties allegedly live with spotbbeams. Therefore I think BigRedFan's post here is the more likely problem, and the transponder number "23" on 119 posted earlier is simply incorrect for some reason.

http://www.dbstalk.c...817#post2441817

#129 OFFLINE   dtv757

dtv757

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 757 posts
  • Location757
Joined: Jun 03, 2006

Posted 02 May 2010 - 01:32 PM

Msg from an email I sent to D*

"I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble receiving Telefutura channel in HD. Upon review, I verified that we have no known broadcast issue with Telefutura in HD. However, I found that you have already contacted one of our specialist over the phone regarding the same issue, which have been forwarded to our technical support team for further research and resolution. Be assured that we are working quickly to get this resolved"
.

DIRECTV customer since SEPT 2000 (1) Genie (2) Genie Mini's (1) HR22-100 (1) HR23-700 all networked, total 10 live tunners!!-------------
SAYING NO TO CABLE .. PRICELESS
There’s good TV there’s better TV and than there’s DIRECTV (the undisputed sports & HD leader in TV)
NOTE: my comments are my own personal options and in no way shape or form represent my employer


#130 OFFLINE   BigRedFan

BigRedFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2010

Posted 02 May 2010 - 09:06 PM

If that's the case I have to wonder why it wasn't launched when the HD channel went live. :P


Univision-HD was launched on January 1st, 2010 with the Tournament of Roses Parade (live from Pasadena).... So DTV added the channel within 4 months of the HD launch.... pretty quickly I'd say....

TeleFutura-HD went live a month earlier (early December 2009) with the Colombian series "Vecinos" ("Neighbors"), Mon-Fri. 10-11 PM (ET).... Here DTV added TF-HD within 5 months of the HD launch....Again, did not take too long....

#131 OFFLINE   BigRedFan

BigRedFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2010

Posted 02 May 2010 - 09:14 PM

Msg from an email I sent to D*

"I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble receiving Telefutura channel in HD. Upon review, I verified that we have no known broadcast issue with Telefutura in HD. However, I found that you have already contacted one of our specialist over the phone regarding the same issue, which have been forwarded to our technical support team for further research and resolution. Be assured that we are working quickly to get this resolved"
.


This e-mail response shows that DTV has a "right hand does not know what left hand is doing" problem.... The 4 people I know (with DTV "Mas" subscriptions), plus myself, all cannot yet see TeleFutura-HD on Ch. 408, only the SD version.... Let's hope the May 7th promised date is true for resolving the HD black-out....

#132 OFFLINE   Piratefan98

Piratefan98

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 685 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2008

Posted 03 May 2010 - 12:54 PM

The celebration continues here in Gettysburg


Posted Image

#133 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 May 2010 - 12:57 PM

Folks, I've done a little more cleanup here. Let's stay on topic. Thanks.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#134 OFFLINE   dreadlk

dreadlk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,538 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 03 May 2010 - 04:24 PM

Add me to the column that says lets get all the Popular english channels that can be transmitted in HD done first before we spend Bandwidth on non english stations that cator only for a minority of people. My personal feeling is that Directv only did this so they can boast that they are the first to carry it!

#135 OFFLINE   bamaweather

bamaweather

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 587 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2009

Posted 03 May 2010 - 04:44 PM

Add me to the column that says lets get all the Popular english channels that can be transmitted in HD done first before we spend Bandwidth on non english stations that cator only for a minority of people. My personal feeling is that Directv only did this so they can boast that they are the first to carry it!


The ratings say you are wrong.

#136 OFFLINE   AacidusX

AacidusX

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2007

Posted 03 May 2010 - 06:22 PM

Add me to the column that says lets get all the Popular english channels that can be transmitted in HD done first before we spend Bandwidth on non english stations that cator only for a minority of people. My personal feeling is that Directv only did this so they can boast that they are the first to carry it!


yeah look at POST 119

#137 OFFLINE   mystic7

mystic7

    Icon

  • Banned User
  • 632 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2007

Posted 04 May 2010 - 07:14 AM

Can I possibly be the only person who is pissed about Sabado Gigante not being an HD program?

#138 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,183 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 04 May 2010 - 07:19 AM

Can I possibly be the only person who is pissed about Sabado Gigante not being an HD program?


I was bummed about that as well. I don't understand much Spanish but I was looking forward to seeing it in HD.

Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
C41-400
XBoxOne
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200

 


#139 OFFLINE   jollygrunt

jollygrunt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2005

Posted 04 May 2010 - 08:13 AM

I enjoyed the football games on Saturday, Pachuca v. Monterey, and Sunday, America v. Toluca, but I was disappointed that unlike ESPN 2 they were displayed in 4X3 and not 16x9. Hopefully this gets rectified before the World Cup.
Time Warner Cable/Roadrunner/VOIP
AT&T/DirecTV - Family
SBC/DISH: 4/15/05 - 2-13-09
Time Warner Digital Cable: 2002 - 4/16/05
DirecTV: 2000 - 2002
Primestar: 1995 - 2000
Analog Cable: 1992 - 1995

#140 OFFLINE   Wicked

Wicked

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2005

Posted 04 May 2010 - 02:26 PM

The world cup will be aired in HD. That's is a major reason why these two channels were added. And it is also a major reason why many univision produced programs aren in HD.. Univision is t ready for HD, well their content isn't HD that's why I'm saying that..

Cheers to a wonderful World Cup.. And hope El Tri has a great run..
Vizio E550VA 55"LCD HDTV 1080p
Panasonic TH-42PD12 42" Plasma HDTV 720p
DirecTV
-Lo Maximo/NFLST/MLBEI/FS+/SportsPack
HR24-500
HR23-700
SKY Mexico
-SKY UNIVERSE+La Liga
SKY+HD (HR23)


#141 OFFLINE   paco1986

paco1986

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 574 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 04 May 2010 - 02:28 PM

I enjoyed the football games on Saturday, Pachuca v. Monterey, and Sunday, America v. Toluca, but I was disappointed that unlike ESPN 2 they were displayed in 4X3 and not 16x9. Hopefully this gets rectified before the World Cup.


The Pachuca v. Monterrey game feed provided to Univision was not produced in HD. So it wasn't a technical issue. But the World Cup will be in HD!:)

#142 OFFLINE   bamaweather

bamaweather

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 587 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2009

Posted 05 May 2010 - 11:46 AM

Telefutura Is Once Again America’s #2 Spanish-Language Network in Spanish-Language Primetime, Beating Telemundo

#143 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,759 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 05 May 2010 - 12:04 PM

Hopefully this gets rectified before the World Cup.

ALL MATCHES will be shown in HD on the ESPNs. I suppose that commercials might be an issue one way or the other, but nobody should be shut out entirely from getting a live HD feed unless they are absolutely adamant about hearing the Spanish call.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#144 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,759 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 05 May 2010 - 12:22 PM

The world cup will be aired in HD. That's is a major reason why these two channels were added.

The once a year World Cup was probably not a compelling reason to add Univision and Telefutura.

The compelling reason to add these two channels is for subscribers who want HD renditions (or significantly better renditions of SD programming) of conventional Latino television programming that isn't available otherwise.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#145 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,370 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 05 May 2010 - 12:27 PM

The once a year World Cup was probably not a compelling reason to add Univision and Telefutura.

The compelling reason to add these two channels is for subscribers who want HD renditions (or significantly better renditions of SD programming) of conventional Latino television programming that isn't available otherwise.


World Cup is every 4 years. Harsh is wrong, again. Shocking! :rolleyes:
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#146 OFFLINE   Wicked

Wicked

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2005

Posted 05 May 2010 - 02:01 PM

The once a year World Cup was probably not a compelling reason to add Univision and Telefutura.

The compelling reason to add these two channels is for subscribers who want HD renditions (or significantly better renditions of SD programming) of conventional Latino television programming that isn't available otherwise.

Check it's lineup.. Look at how much content on the channels are actual HD? And tell me the World Cup wasn't a major reason these channels were added.
Vizio E550VA 55"LCD HDTV 1080p
Panasonic TH-42PD12 42" Plasma HDTV 720p
DirecTV
-Lo Maximo/NFLST/MLBEI/FS+/SportsPack
HR24-500
HR23-700
SKY Mexico
-SKY UNIVERSE+La Liga
SKY+HD (HR23)


#147 OFFLINE   BigRick10

BigRick10

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2009

Posted 05 May 2010 - 02:14 PM

Thank god i just got my SKYHD. I can't stand the announcers here :hurah:

#148 OFFLINE   bamaweather

bamaweather

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 587 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2009

Posted 05 May 2010 - 02:36 PM

Check it's lineup.. Look at how much content on the channels are actual HD? And tell me the World Cup wasn't a major reason these channels were added.


Part of it probably has to do with the fact that Univision and TeleFutura didn't launch in HD until the beginning of this year. Is not as if they could have added it very far in the past. I'm sure the whole World Cup thing didn't hurt, though.

#149 OFFLINE   BigRedFan

BigRedFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2010

Posted 05 May 2010 - 03:09 PM

Having trouble with Telefutura Ch 408HD I get ext. 721. Directv says issue with HD channel will not be resolved until May 7 something about a billing issue on their end not with me.


Finally today DTV resolved the black-out of TeleFutura-HD Ch.408 in the zip codes where Ch.408 had been previously blacked out (in TF local affiliate markets before HD was added last Wednesday).... I'm now receiving the HD channel for the first time since it was launched last week.... Nice !

If you're still not getting the TF-HD channel (721 message) do a receiver refresh.... It should come in because all zip codes are now open to receive it (if you subscribe to "Mas" or "En Espanol" packages).....This, according to the Tech Support Supervisor who was handling my account and called to give me the news this afternoon ......

#150 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,759 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 05 May 2010 - 11:52 PM

World Cup is every 4 years.

That represents 75% less support for the idea that the World Cup 2010 is a "major" reason to add two full-time HD channels as Wicked had rationalized.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK





Protected By... spam firewall...And...