Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV/DECA Going National May 13th


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1989 replies to this topic

#1976 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 10:02 AM

Giving every tech a 'hands-on' is time consuming and therefore costly. Decisions like these will always be decided by the bottom-line.


I used to be a "trainer" and was actually in charge of training. It costs a fortune. Every one that's getting trained has to replaced in the field by another person who has to be replaced and that person has to replaced and so on down the line. On top of that, training manuals and videos cost a small fortune.

BTW, I'm old school too, but there is nothing like a video you can replay over and over again.


Twenty years ago, I would not have agreed with you. Today a mechanic can take a laptop out in the field and have access to all kinds of videos. Great way to learn.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#1977 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,545 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 24 May 2010 - 11:12 AM

I don't understand how they (D*) get away with such low wages. The guys that I know that work for Cablevision seem to be very well trained and make a living wage. A lot of them have been with CV for years and like the job. I've got yet to meet a D* installer that was satisfied with his job.

I know the CWA tried to unionize the cable industry about two decades ago when it looked like Ma Bell was going to get into it.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#1978 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:50 PM

I know the CWA tried to unionize the cable industry about two decades ago when it looked like Ma Bell was going to get into it.


Be a pretty big effort, considering that the people they would be trying to unionize are spread across the nation. But, perhaps the Teamsters, or some other huge union...

Rich

#1979 OFFLINE   aquavette2k1

aquavette2k1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2009

Posted 25 May 2010 - 01:58 PM

Here is my experience with this situation:

I actually ordered the DECA kit (99+49) and after reading this forum I decided to call customer service one last time and complain about how my the service was working just fine and how the DECA kit literally does the exact same thing as my wired network did before they disabled the service. The CSR I got said she would enable the WHDVR service and let me see if it worked correctly with my existing hardware setup. She sent the authorization, I rebooted the DVR's and I in about 15 minutes I was watching content from the my living room in the basement....

I guess the buzz words you have to push is simple this:
You had no problems...
You understand you won't get support...
You already have the infrastructure in place...

Combine that with a little CSR luck and you'll get it turned on with your existing LAN.

#1980 OFFLINE   Leftcoastdave

Leftcoastdave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 250 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2004

Posted 25 May 2010 - 02:55 PM

I have five (two HR20-100's & three HR20-700's) HD DVR's connected to my local area network. Three are hardwired to my Linksys router and two access the LAN via a wireless bridge. MRV works flawlessly using any and all of the DVR's; either as players or as content hosts.

About ten days ago, I called DIRECTV and opted for the unsupported Ethernet solution because my MRV was working just fine during the beta test; and it still is working just fine. I am now gleefully committed to send an additional $3/month to continue using MRV.

Having since read several posts herein extolling the virtues of the SWM + DECA solution, I got to thinking at some point as my legacy receivers and old sidecar satellite dish age, I might have to abandon my unsupported configuration and jump on the DECA bandwagon.

One question that I have not seen answered is: If I went with SWM+DECA, would I be able to free up the three hardwired ports on my router now occupied by my three HR20'?
Ut Prosim

#1981 OFFLINE   tjbtexas

tjbtexas

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 02:59 PM

yes,
because all your DVRs will communicte through one router port.
Think of it as the DECA Cloud connecting to your router (not each DVR)

:)

#1982 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 03:03 PM

One question that I have not seen answered is: If I went with SWM+DECA, would I be able to free up the three hardwired ports on my router now occupied by my three HR20'?


All of your HR2x receivers would be removed from the network switches if you go with DECA. They would all be on their own MRV optimized private network (a.k.a. the DECA cloud).

You would like attach one more DECA node that would connect to your router (or switch). This would provide Internet/Home Network connectivity for all of your receivers through this one junction.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#1983 OFFLINE   Leftcoastdave

Leftcoastdave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 250 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2004

Posted 25 May 2010 - 03:41 PM

Thanks guys. Now I am beginning to understand why many felt the $149 price was a bargain. The freed up router ports are another bonus of the professional installation.
Ut Prosim

#1984 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,756 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 May 2010 - 03:47 PM

Thanks guys. Now I am beginning to understand why many felt the $149 price was a bargain. The freed up router ports are another bonus of the professional installation.


In addition to that getting the low price upgrade to a SWiM system. Removing the need for two lines at each DVR, but still able to use both tuners.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#1985 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 26 May 2010 - 08:33 AM

Thanks guys. Now I am beginning to understand why many felt the $149 price was a bargain. The freed up router ports are another bonus of the professional installation.


You could do the same thing with a work station switch for $26, if all you care about is freeing up space on your router.

Rich

#1986 OFFLINE   kiddk1

kiddk1

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2003

Posted 26 May 2010 - 07:07 PM

You could do the same thing with a work station switch for $26, if all you care about is freeing up space on your router.

Rich


true I just added a switch now I have 4 empty ports

#1987 OFFLINE   texz71

texz71

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2009

Posted 02 June 2010 - 02:19 PM

Can the DECA modules work with the SWimLine Dish setup...ie SL5-SWM LNB single line fed by a PI-21 Power Supply & SWS-8 8-Port splitter (AU9-5-SWM-B-PWS)? Is there any need for the Band Stop Filter with this configuration and HR23-700 receivers?
Occupation: Satellite Systems Engineer/Test Engineer
Setup:
- QTY 4 HR23-700's w/ SWM-8
- QTY 2 Linksys WRT-54GS w/ DD-WRT v24 pre-SP2.

#1988 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 02 June 2010 - 02:45 PM

Can the DECA modules work with the SWimLine Dish setup...ie SL5-SWM LNB single line fed by a PI-21 Power Supply & SWS-8 8-Port splitter (AU9-5-SWM-B-PWS)? Is there any need for the Band Stop Filter with this configuration and HR23-700 receivers?


It depends. If it's a newish SWM LNB with a green label, a Band Stop filter isn't needed. If it's been there for a while, a BS filter is needed (and in any case won't hurt). The HR23s will have DECAs attached and should not have BS filters. You'll want another DECA and PS to connect to your home network.

If the splitter doesn't have a green label, it should be replaced with a new green label MRV rated splitter (the old one will work, the green label one will work better).

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#1989 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,801 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 03 June 2010 - 09:56 AM

It depends. If it's a newish SWM LNB with a green label, a Band Stop filter isn't needed. If it's been there for a while, a BS filter is needed (and in any case won't hurt). The HR23s will have DECAs attached and should not have BS filters. You'll want another DECA and PS to connect to your home network.

If the splitter doesn't have a green label, it should be replaced with a new green label MRV rated splitter (the old one will work, the green label one will work better).


Man, did this thread slow down! I wonder if the "Boys from Staten Island" have the DECA install figured out yet. I can't imagine turning one of them loose on my sat system. Maybe in a year or so. No joke intended here, I'm quite serious, sadly.

Rich

#1990 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,031 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 June 2010 - 09:59 AM

Yes, in fact I think the time has come to close this one and ask you to start new threads as necessary for specific issues.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...