Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DECA Adapters available online


  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 10 May 2010 - 08:46 PM

Yeah, I'm aware of that method since I was one of the lucky few that got to test DECA. That however would require a DECA module just for the other SWM 8 to hook into my network. I was just wondering if the Genius, VOS, knew of a way to bridge DECA across 2 SWM 8's. :)


It looks like VOS has a way, maybe he can share with the class :). I suppose you could construct a bandpass filter that would pass only the DECA frequencies (between SWM8's) but I don't know if anything is in the works on such a part. Besides that, I can't think of another way besides bridging to a DECA dongle on the second SWM8...

Edited by dsw2112, 10 May 2010 - 08:59 PM.

SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,717 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:05 PM

read your PM ;)


Got it... I PM'd back with a question. Based on your answer to that I may be able to try it out as soon as tomorrow.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#43 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,717 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:06 PM

I have a SWM5 (with no green sticker nor a bandstop filter) and DECA networking works fine between the SWM 1 and SWM 2 ports (filters were not supplied as part of the H24/HR24 field test).


I just pulled the filter on mine and it's working. The funny thing is now the c.link light on all the DECA adapters is out when normally the light is solid. :lol:
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#44 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,717 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:07 PM

It looks like VOS has a way, maybe he can share with the class :).


If it works I'll let VOS know and he can decide whether or not to share with the class since it's his idea. :D
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#45 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,833 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:12 PM

Good news all around. Remember we have to remind people that these things could fry and egg they're so toasty hot!


Are they all hot? How about the PIs?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#46 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,945 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:22 PM

Are they all hot? How about the PIs?


The DECA I have connected to my router is slightly warm. The PI is cool.

OTOH, when I had my bedroom receiver networked with MoCA (over the OTA cable), it got so warm that the plastic case deformed (later it failed altogether).

#47 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:27 PM

Are they all hot? How about the PIs?


Yes I think they do get pretty "warm". You can't hold on to them for too long but I guess that's my hands being babied by working in a hospital for that last 10 years (always washing, but I welded for 5 years before that, go figure)

The PI's are cool.

[meant to say fry an egg]
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#48 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,640 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:32 PM

Yes I think they do get pretty "warm". You can't hold on to them for too long but I guess that's my hands being babied by working in a hospital for that last 10 years (always washing, but I welded for 5 years before that, go figure)

The PI's are cool.

[meant to say fry an egg]

Wuss

I just checked my DECA [again] and the unit is barely warm, while the metal connector [coax] is slightly warmer. I think I stop drinking my coffee when it's only this warm. :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#49 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:46 PM

Wuss

I just checked my DECA [again] and the unit is barely warm, while the metal connector [coax] is slightly warmer. I think I stop drinking my coffee when it's only this warm. :lol:


I deserve that! :grin:

I just remember a few of us had thought them to be pretty warm. I haven't check them lately, they work so flawlessly!

But I'll make a note it when I go to bed tonight.
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#50 OFFLINE   uwhumpty

uwhumpty

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 146 posts
  • LocationSioux City, IA
Joined: Oct 22, 2007

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:48 PM

Since it appears that the DECA adapter that SolidSignal has up does not come with a power supply, at least it doesn't list it, where would you go about getting a power supply? Thanks in advance.
Slimline SL3-SWM
HR34-700 via HDMI --> Onkyo HT-RC260 --> Samsung PN50C8000 3D Plasma
HR24-200 via HDMI --> Samsung LN32D550
H24-700 via HDMI --> Samsung UN32EH5300
H25-700 via HDMI --> Samsung UN40ES6100
Receivers networked via DECA. DECA cloud networked to a Linksys E4200.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Verizon, Stock ICS 4.2.2)
Asus Nexus 7 (Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2)
Asus Transformer Infinity (Stock ICS 4.2.1)

#51 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:51 PM

Since it appears that the DECA adapter that SolidSignal has up does not come with a power supply, at least it doesn't list it, where would you go about getting a power supply? Thanks in advance.


You can use the 21 volt PI they carry.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#52 OFFLINE   uwhumpty

uwhumpty

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 146 posts
  • LocationSioux City, IA
Joined: Oct 22, 2007

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:52 PM

You can use the 21 volt PI they carry.


Thanks for the quick reply!
Slimline SL3-SWM
HR34-700 via HDMI --> Onkyo HT-RC260 --> Samsung PN50C8000 3D Plasma
HR24-200 via HDMI --> Samsung LN32D550
H24-700 via HDMI --> Samsung UN32EH5300
H25-700 via HDMI --> Samsung UN40ES6100
Receivers networked via DECA. DECA cloud networked to a Linksys E4200.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Verizon, Stock ICS 4.2.2)
Asus Nexus 7 (Stock Jelly Bean 4.2.2)
Asus Transformer Infinity (Stock ICS 4.2.1)

#53 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,640 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 May 2010 - 09:55 PM

Since it appears that the DECA adapter that SolidSignal has up does not come with a power supply, at least it doesn't list it, where would you go about getting a power supply? Thanks in advance.

The PI for the DECA/router that DirecTV now offers isn't this one, "but" this is what we used during testing:
http://www.solidsign...ku=874409000844
A.K.A VOS

#54 OFFLINE   aandjw

aandjw

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 11 May 2010 - 09:02 PM

OK - help!

Current:
SwimLine Dish - connected to 8-way splitter (in garage) installed by D a while ago. Coax from splitter to PI mounted on the wall in the garage (3 feet). Coax runs from splitter to HR20-700 (living room), HR21-200 with 1TB external drive (bedroom). Not using any other receivers right now. In addition, on the wall in the garage is a ethernet switch that connects to the cat-5 runs throughout the house (and uplinks to the router/DSL modem).

If I understand this right, I need:

3-DECA units (1 for each receiver, 1 for the ethernet switch in the garage), plus one more PI for the DECA in the garage (and a short cat-5 cable from that DECA to the switch). MRV and VOD accomplished? Granted, need FIOS to really make VOD fly - but that's another hurdle with Verizon!

$40 X 3 and $19? So $139? Just not really in favor of a truck run from D - really not necessary for this.

#55 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 09:11 PM

Sounds like you got it correct there. Might need a bandstop filter. They sent me one, but never tried without it. It goes between the splitter and the LNB.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#56 OFFLINE   paragon

paragon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:30 PM

I currently have two HR21-100's with an SWM8 and an SWS4. Everything was purchased/installed in August 2008. Am I missing anything that I would need in order to do it myself?

1) 3 DECAs (1 for each HR21, 1 for internet) [DECA1MR01] (3x$39.99=$119.97)
2) 1 21V power inserter for internet [PI-21] ($18.89+$4.95 shipping)
3) 1 band stop filter for the SWM8 [BSFR01] ($3.99)
Total: $147.80

Will I need to replace the SWS4 with one of the MRV SWS4's?

Looks like if I don't need a new SWS, then I am at exactly the break even point for paying DIRECTV to do it. I am hoping I can get them to give me a discount since I bought the SWM8 myself and if I had waited, I would get it included in the install now.

#57 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,640 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:36 PM

I currently have two HR21-100's with an SWM8 and an SWS4. Everything was purchased/installed in August 2008. Am I missing anything that I would need in order to do it myself?

1) 3 DECAs (1 for each HR21, 1 for internet) [DECA1MR01] (3x$39.99=$119.97)
2) 1 21V power inserter for internet [PI-21] ($18.89+$4.95 shipping)
3) 1 band stop filter for the SWM8 [BSFR01] ($3.99)
Total: $147.80

Will I need to replace the SWS4 with one of the MRV SWS4's?

Looks like if I don't need a new SWS, then I am at exactly the break even point for paying DIRECTV to do it. I am hoping I can get them to give me a discount since I bought the SWM8 myself and if I had waited, I would get it included in the install now.

"Looks like" you've got all you need.
We tested DECA long before the new splitters came out without issues.
A.K.A VOS

#58 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,912 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:40 PM

I currently have two HR21-100's with an SWM8 and an SWS4. Everything was purchased/installed in August 2008. Am I missing anything that I would need in order to do it myself?

1) 3 DECAs (1 for each HR21, 1 for internet) [DECA1MR01] (3x$39.99=$119.97)
2) 1 21V power inserter for internet [PI-21] ($18.89+$4.95 shipping)
3) 1 band stop filter for the SWM8 [BSFR01] ($3.99)
Total: $147.80

Will I need to replace the SWS4 with one of the MRV SWS4's?

Looks like if I don't need a new SWS, then I am at exactly the break even point for paying DIRECTV to do it. I am hoping I can get them to give me a discount since I bought the SWM8 myself and if I had waited, I would get it included in the install now.


If you let DIRECTV do the install, they will make sure you are 'green labeled' with qualifying equipment. But you may be happy going either way on this.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#59 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:48 PM

I currently have two HR21-100's with an SWM8 and an SWS4. Everything was purchased/installed in August 2008. Am I missing anything that I would need in order to do it myself?

1) 3 DECAs (1 for each HR21, 1 for internet) [DECA1MR01] (3x$39.99=$119.97)
2) 1 21V power inserter for internet [PI-21] ($18.89+$4.95 shipping)
3) 1 band stop filter for the SWM8 [BSFR01] ($3.99)
Total: $147.80

Will I need to replace the SWS4 with one of the MRV SWS4's?

Looks like if I don't need a new SWS, then I am at exactly the break even point for paying DIRECTV to do it. I am hoping I can get them to give me a discount since I bought the SWM8 myself and if I had waited, I would get it included in the install now.


Since you're at the "break even point" for the MRV upgrade, it would seem better long-term to have D* do the installation (and they'll replace the SWS-4... they might even want to replace the SWM8 with a SWM LNB). Presumably, D* will turn on some kind of DECA bit in your account. No one has addressed yet (has D* even thought it through?) what happens when you want to add a receiver after the MRV upgrade completes. Presumably, they will see that you have DECA and send either a DECA-capable receiver or provide a DECA for a non-DECA receiver.

Hopefully, eventually we'll be able to get them to recognize DIY-DECA like they do DIY-SWM (with some effort).

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#60 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:53 PM

Hopefully, eventually we'll be able to get them to recognize DIY-DECA like they do DIY-SWM (with some effort).


I did a DIY SWMline (and soon DIY SWM16) What does it get me if they recognize it? :confused: :grin:
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.




spam firewall