Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Design my SWM/DECA System


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:14 PM

I know there are a couple of other threads asking for help with DECA, but I didn't want to hijack them. I thought I understood, but now I'm a little confused with this BS filter. I'm basically just looking for what goes where.
I'm going to be majorly consolidating my system down. This is what it will look like before I deal with DECA or anything:
SWM LNB to 4 way splitter (Outside). This will feed 2 H24s, and then feed another 4 way splitter. That splitter will feed 2 HR24s and a DECA adapter for internet access. Where in the line does this BS filter fit in? And do I need anything else?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:29 PM

I know there are a couple of other threads asking for help with DECA, but I didn't want to hijack them. I thought I understood, but now I'm a little confused with this BS filter. I'm basically just looking for what goes where.
I'm going to be majorly consolidating my system down. This is what it will look like before I deal with DECA or anything:
SWM LNB to 4 way splitter (Outside). This will feed 2 H24s, and then feed another 4 way splitter. That splitter will feed 2 HR24s and a DECA adapter for internet access. Where in the line does this BS filter fit in? And do I need anything else?


The Band Stop Filter always goes between the SWM (in this case, the LNB) and the first splitter. The purpose of the filter is to protect the SWM from the relatively high-level 500-600 MHz DECA signals that it wasn't designed for.

I'm not sure cascading 2 4-way splitters is 'supported' (that's a 16-way split), if it doesn't work, you'll have to change your configuration.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#3 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:30 PM

The Band Stop Filter always goes between the SWM (in this case, the LNB) and the first splitter. The purpose of the filter is to protect the SWM from the relatively high-level 500-600 MHz DECA signals that it wasn't designed for.


And it's fine outdoors?

#4 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:34 PM

And it's fine outdoors?


The filter?

Yes.

#5 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,118 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:36 PM

The filter?

Yes.


Splitters, too?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#6 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:39 PM

Any difference where it goes? Better closer to to the dish, or closer to the first splitter?

#7 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:44 PM

Splitters, too?


Sure, with the right connectors and drip loops depending on location.

#8 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:45 PM

Any difference where it goes? Better closer to to the dish, or closer to the first splitter?


It shouldn't matter... I'd put it adjacent to the first splitter. Note that all splitters aren't created equal... the original SWS-2, SWS-4 and SWS-8 splitters didn't have rubber 'boots' on the F-sockets, so might be less desirable to use outside. The 'green sticker' MRV-rated splitters do, as do Zinwell Split_-Z splitters currently available.

P.S. Don't forget grounding. I'm not sure the configuration you describe (unless the first 4-way splitter is within earshot of the electrical service entrance) meets NEC.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#9 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,903 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:46 PM

Any difference where it goes? Better closer to to the dish, or closer to the first splitter?


Put it in the LNB arm if it will fit.

#10 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:49 PM

The Band Stop Filter always goes between the SWM (in this case, the LNB) and the first splitter. The purpose of the filter is to protect the SWM from the relatively high-level 500-600 MHz DECA signals that it wasn't designed for.

I'm not sure cascading 2 4-way splitters is 'supported' (that's a 16-way split), if it doesn't work, you'll have to change your configuration.


If he has a green label SWM LNB then the BS filter is not required. So in his setup he wouldn't need any BS filters as he doesn't list any receivers that are not MRV compatible.

#11 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 11 May 2010 - 01:50 PM

If he has a green label SWM LNB then the BS filter is not required. So in his setup he wouldn't need any BS filters as he doesn't list any receivers that are not MRV compatible.


I just went out and checked earlier. No green sticker :(

#12 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:00 PM

The DECA converter that connects to my router-what power supply do I need for that?

#13 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:03 PM

The DECA converter that connects to my router-what power supply do I need for that?


21 volt PI
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#14 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:04 PM

21 volt PI


The same model as the one that powers my SWM LNB?

#15 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:07 PM

The same model as the one that powers my SWM LNB?


That will work, but it needs to be in addition to the SWM PI. In other words the SWM needs a PI and each DECA dongle (not attached to a receiver) also needs one.

This one was used for testing DECA:

http://www.solidsign...)&c=Multiswitch Power Supplies&sku=874409000844
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#16 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:08 PM

That will work, but it needs to be in addition to the SWM PI. In other words the SWM needs a PI and each DECA dongle (not attached to a receiver) also needs one.


Yeah, just wasn't sure which to get.

#17 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,100 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:36 PM

This one is designed for DECA but the other one will work also:

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=

#18 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:49 PM

This one is designed for DECA but the other one will work also:

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=


Thanks!!

#19 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 May 2010 - 11:10 PM

Given the costs why not just order it from DirecTV?

#20 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 11:44 PM

Given the costs why not just order it from DirecTV?


I'm thinking about it, but it's still going to end up being cheaper to do it myself (All Hx24 receivers when I'm done).
This is the filter I want I take it: http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=




Protected By... spam firewall...And...