Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Swm8 vs Swm16 for mrv


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,231 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:17 PM

Is there any differences at all between installing a swm8 vs a swm16 for MRV other than the number of individual runs to the receivers?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:24 PM

:confused:

The SWiM-16 is 2 SWM8, so it has two outputs of eight tuners each.
The Green stickered SWM8 can use both outputs, but if you only used one, then there wouldn't be much difference between it and one leg out of the SWiM-16.
What the SWiM-16 does that two SWM8s don't is have a crossover for the DECA so both outputs share the networking, which two SWM8 can't.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 12:29 PM

Plus the SWiM16 has 4 ports to allow for cascading to another multiswitch
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#4 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,750 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:50 PM

So do I read this proper? The SWM16 does not have both a SWM1 & SWM2 out on each of its "halves"?

Don "using both outputs on both my SWM8s at present" Bolton

:confused:

The SWiM-16 is 2 SWM8, so it has two outputs of eight tuners each.
The Green stickered SWM8 can use both outputs, but if you only used one, then there wouldn't be much difference between it and one leg out of the SWiM-16.
What the SWiM-16 does that two SWM8s don't is have a crossover for the DECA so both outputs share the networking, which two SWM8 can't.


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#5 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,112 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:05 PM

The SWiM-16 has only two SWiM outputs.

#6 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:24 PM

So do I read this proper? The SWM16 does not have both a SWM1 & SWM2 out on each of its "halves"?


This is correct .. Each output supports 8 tuners. If you need two wires out of each port, you will have to split it just past the output port.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#7 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,750 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:35 PM

Interesting! I use the SWM1 AND SWM2 outputs to "load balance" some of the total footage to my 9 receivers. With (measured) runs out to 191, 143, 128 ft, plus 2 at 83 and then some more normal sized runs it helps ensure a nice fat signal throughout.

Don "Hmm" Bolton

This is correct .. Each output supports 8 tuners. If you need two wires out of each port, you will have to split it just past the output port.


What's a dazzling urbanite like you doing in a rustic setting like this?


#8 OFFLINE   taylorhively

taylorhively

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:30 PM

I have two SWM8 switches fed by 4 splitters (from the 4 feeds coming off the dish.) To support MRV, do all devices have to be on the same SWM?

Eg:
DVR 1,2,3,4 are on SWM8 #1
DVR #5 is on SWM8 #2
Can #5 do MRV with units 1-4?

Or, do I need an SWM16?
Or will replacing the 4 splitters with an SWM expander help?
Or am I completely confused here?

Thanks.

PS. I think I posted to the wrong forum and this belongs in the installation forum. My apologies.
And the answer here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=177002
Mod please close/remove thread.

Edited by taylorhively, 13 May 2010 - 05:38 PM.

5 DirecTV HD DVRs: HR20-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR21-100, HR24-500
60" Sony SXRB HD

#9 OFFLINE   taylorhively

taylorhively

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:42 PM

So devices can not do DVR across two SWM8.
But they all devices on a SWM16 can do MRV.
Correct?
5 DirecTV HD DVRs: HR20-700, HR20-700, HR22-100, HR21-100, HR24-500
60" Sony SXRB HD

#10 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:49 PM

So devices can not do DVR across two SWM8.
But they all devices on a SWM16 can do MRV.
Correct?


Sorta .. Any DECA (internal or external) can communicate with each other on a SWiM-16 .. Also, any DECA can communicate with each other on a SWiM-8 .. What can't be done is having DECA on one SWiM-8 communicate with DECA on a different SWiM-8.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#11 OFFLINE   vader78

vader78

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2008

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:50 PM

This is not supported - but you can connect each SWiM to your router via DECA and this will work (having 2 SWM8 units) - video and data will work and you can share traffic across the SWiMs. This would take up 2 ports on your home router/data network switch. DTV wants you to upgrade to a SWiM16 as this is the supported method for homes with more than 8 tuners. A packet is packet - you need to make sure that the SWiMs each have their own connection to the data network.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...