Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Will 3D be on the same HD channel as 2D?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:19 PM

For example, 3D broadcast on ESPN - will it be on the regular channel 206 HD feed? Or a seperate channel?

If the same channel, does having the feed being 3D adversely effect in any way the PQ for those with "old fashioned" :rolleyes: 2D HDTVs?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:23 PM

ESPN 3D isn't going to be a full-time channel to start, so it can't be on the same channel number. It could be 206-1, but I think DirecTV will just put it on it's own number.

#3 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:28 PM

I agree, I think there will a be a grouping of the 3D channels somewhere in the lineup, not sure where though.

#4 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,559 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:30 PM

70-76. LOL!
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#5 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:33 PM

Without a 3D tv will we:

a) see the channel in 2D (not likely).

B) get a blank screen/no acccess (likely).

?????

#6 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 01:35 PM

Without a 3D tv will we:

a) just see the channel in 2D (not likely).

B) will we just get a blank screen/no acccess (likely).

a) isn't just not likely, it's not possible. The STBs are not capable of converting 3D to 2D. If the receiver allowed the 3D content to be output to a non-3DTV, you'd just see two images side-by-side.

#7 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:36 PM

OK, sounds like a totally separate feed then.

Count me in the camp as one not terribly excited about all this 3d stuff, especially if it is going to eat up bandwidth. (I know, there is a seperate "why the hate" thread)

#8 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,559 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 02:51 PM

Without a 3D tv will we:

a) see the channel in 2D (not likely).

B) get a blank screen/no acccess (likely).

?????


Given that it has been reported here (and I have witnessed it) that the STB knows you don't have a 3D TV, you will probably get the same thing you get when something is blacked out for you. A black screen and a notice that you do not have 3D equipment connected.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#9 OFFLINE   taz291819

taz291819

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 385 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 03:08 PM

More than likely you'll be able to tune to the channel with a 2D display, but it'll look like this:


When Comcast aired The Masters in 3D last month, anyone with a HD STB could tune to it.

#10 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 03:51 PM

More than likely you'll be able to tune to the channel with a 2D display, but it'll look like this:


When Comcast aired The Masters in 3D last month, anyone with a HD STB could tune to it.

The reason it was open to al Comcast HD subscribers was because Comcast hadn't updated their STBs to lock out non-3DTVs. DirecTV has indicated that they will be locking them out.

#11 OFFLINE   taz291819

taz291819

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 385 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 04:59 PM

The reason it was open to al Comcast HD subscribers was because Comcast hadn't updated their STBs to lock out non-3DTVs. DirecTV has indicated that they will be locking them out.


Haven't heard that from Directv, have a link by any chance?

I'm not doubting you, because that's what I would do if I were in charge. I hope they get the EDID info correct, unlike the 1080p fiasco.

I've downloaded the EDID info from my Samsung, and even though it's 3D-Ready (and I use the 3D feature quite often), it's set to "FALSE" for stereoscopic, which is 3D.

#12 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,559 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 12 May 2010 - 05:19 PM

Haven't heard that from Directv, have a link by any chance?

I'm not doubting you, because that's what I would do if I were in charge. I hope they get the EDID info correct, unlike the 1080p fiasco.


Treading on CE info here, so let's just say that some of us have already seen the way DirecTV will handle non-3D equipment on a 3D channel.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#13 OFFLINE   loveshockey

loveshockey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 368 posts
  • LocationLancaster, NY
Joined: Feb 24, 2008

Posted 12 May 2010 - 06:17 PM

ESPN3D will be channel 106

#14 OFFLINE   Satelliteracer

Satelliteracer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,036 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:30 AM

For example, 3D broadcast on ESPN - will it be on the regular channel 206 HD feed? Or a seperate channel?

If the same channel, does having the feed being 3D adversely effect in any way the PQ for those with "old fashioned" :rolleyes: 2D HDTVs?


3D channels (4 of them) will be in the low 100's in the channel range
DIRECTV employee

All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#15 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,150 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 12:59 PM

106 for espnhd 3d

#16 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 01:36 PM

Looks like ESPN 3D will be on 106.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...