Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR20-100 Needs Band Stop Filter?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,232 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 13 May 2010 - 10:26 AM

I am not clear on whether a band stop filter is needed for HR20-100. Have read conflicting info. Can anyone set me straight? Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 10:29 AM

I am not clear on whether a band stop filter is needed for HR20-100. Have read conflicting info. Can anyone set me straight? Thanks.

The current setup needs one.
The DECA connects to the SAT #2 [for power] then to a 2-way splitter. The other leg of the splitter needs the bandstop filter and connects to SAT #1.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   yogi

yogi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 02:58 PM

The current setup needs one.
The DECA connects to the SAT #2 [for power] then to a 2-way splitter. The other leg of the splitter needs the bandstop filter and connects to SAT #1.


Why would you need to put a band stop filter between the splitter and port #1?

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 03:03 PM

Why would you need to put a band stop filter between the splitter and port #1?

Bandstop filter are used for all receiver that don't have a DECA to stop the signal from reaching the SAT input.
The HR20-100 is a slightly different case, as they've first used no filter and the splitter was between the DECA and the SAT inputs, but later rev has moved the splitter to before the DECA, leaving the other splitter output feeding the DECA signal into the SAT #1 port and why this now needs a bandstop filter.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,274 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 13 May 2010 - 04:03 PM

I don't know what might be different with my HR20-100, but the tech installed the DECA so it is fed from the SWiM16 and the DECA in turn feeds a 2 way splitter, the power pass output to SAT2 and the other output to SAT1.

There is no band stop filter installed, but the splitter does have a green label.

The HR20-100 works fine, it sees all the other HD DVRs and they see it.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#6 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,232 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 13 May 2010 - 04:27 PM

This is the conflicting information that I spoke of in OP.

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 04:46 PM

This is the conflicting information that I spoke of in OP.

The current method is:
HR20.PNG

While the first one was:

HR20-1.png
The setup was changed because some HR20-100 had pixelation issues
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,232 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 13 May 2010 - 05:09 PM

The current method is:
[ATTACH]22028[/ATTACH]

While the first one was:

[ATTACH]22029[/ATTACH]
The setup was changed because some HR20-100 had pixelation issues


Thanks for the diagrams, really helps.

#9 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,274 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 13 May 2010 - 06:44 PM

The current method is:
[ATTACH]22028[/ATTACH]

While the first one was:

[ATTACH]22029[/ATTACH]
The setup was changed because some HR20-100 had pixelation issues


Mine is hooked up as in the second picture with no band stop filter.

Just for kicks, I tried hooking it up as you show in the first picture. (although with no band stop filter, because I don't have one.) When I did that, I could not see all of the HD DVRs in the DECA cloud.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:02 PM

Mine is hooked up as in the second picture with no band stop filter.

Just for kicks, I tried hooking it up as you show in the first picture. (although with no band stop filter, because I don't have one.) When I did that, I could not see all of the HD DVRs in the DECA cloud.

As I look at both setups, the "no filter" layout makes the most sense to me and why DirecTV has changed it doesn't make sense, "unless" the techs weren't following it correctly and had the splitter in front of the DECA, which is simply wrong.

They may find some HR20-100s simply have problems and need to be swapped [as some techs have found/done on site].
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   bird dog

bird dog

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2007

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:32 PM

if i recall my trainer said sat 1 does not provide the required power to the deca. its not to much we see the 20 series boxes but i imagine when word of mrv gets out, we will be doing more upgrades!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...