Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Enable MRV using your home networking


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
439 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   xmetalx

xmetalx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 289 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2009

Posted 14 May 2010 - 08:20 PM

It's incompetence. It's their job, they should know how to do it!!!! Give me a break, hard to find. I can just imagine at my job if I couldnt get something done......that was my job......and told my boss : "well it's just hard". I'd be fired on the spot.


I completely, wholeheartedly agree. I was trying to give them the benefit of the doubt (sometimes I'm a bit too nice).

And sigma, nope :P I don't touch an account unless I have to
DirecTV employee since 2008
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.


There's no place like ~/

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,441 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 14 May 2010 - 08:32 PM

And sigma, nope :P I don't touch an account unless I have to


Awww man. ;)

I think us DBSTalk Club Members should have "special CSR" to help us. :lol:
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#28 OFFLINE   larry976

larry976

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 14 May 2010 - 08:32 PM

For those of us who have been using it in beta, it there a specific time when it will stop working if we don't call DirecTV and add it.

#29 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,091 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 14 May 2010 - 08:33 PM

For those of us who have been using it in beta, it there a specific time when it will stop working if we don't call DirecTV and add it.


May 20th

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#30 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 14 May 2010 - 09:01 PM

My question is. Since home networking is unsupported will there ever be a software update for the HR20's that might screw us home networked mrv users over? One that might make it only possible to get MRV via DECA?

And yah I know u were kidding about a special CSR for us. But I've had DirecTV for 14years. Seems like being a customer for so long would get me better treatment than CSR's giving up and sending me in an endless transfer loop!

#31 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,593 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 14 May 2010 - 09:54 PM

What about TC+ with HD and DVR service? I dont want to try and add this for $3 and then get dinged another $1 or whatever the difference is between this and what the current equivalent package is, its barely worth it to me at $3.


That is what I have and had no problems adding WHDS. I also have an H20 (which I know wont work for remote) and they did not force me to upgrade it. This is good as I will never watch a remote program in the office and dont want to start a new commitment
My Setup

#32 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,080 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 14 May 2010 - 10:16 PM

I would recommend using the contact us/email feature to get this enabled. Most people have had success and you don't have to spend more time than the initial email.

It's obvious that this information was not made available and until it gets out of the "brand new" status I think more headaches, for you and the agents, will ensue.

#33 OFFLINE   boxster99t

boxster99t

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2008

Posted 14 May 2010 - 10:44 PM

I just activated mine--the CSR I talked with had done it before, so it only took a few minutes. And he threw in the HD extra pack for 90 days free, which I've had before. Still think MRV should be free for those that had been doing the beta and ran their own network, but that's life.

#34 OFFLINE   byronmphillips

byronmphillips

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 14 May 2010 - 11:35 PM

first call directv about 11:30pm. got northern alabama. rep very nice but did not have a clue about what i was telling him about to whole home drv service. told him i had legacy programming on my account and that would keep my account from being activated. told him i would need to change my programming package (cost about a dollar more per month). he kept telling me that my equipment would have to be upgraded & i kept telling him that was incorrect. anyway after about 40 minutes and several holds i thanked the rep and told him that his information was not correct. so i called again a got a rep who knew exactly what to do. if your programming was grandfathered as mind had been you have to remove that programming package. i will only cost $1 more per month. this rep. removed old programming package added $3 per month fee for multi-rooom dvr. online my account said activated. a check of my receivers say activated! the second rep. was excellent and willing to listen (or maybe knew what she was doing).

i have had my dvrs networked since day one of the beta. standard def worked fine over wireless n, but the very best way to go is to hardwire your receivers for hd programming to work.

i have 3 hd dvrs connected using a legacy connection for the directv services all the receiver are connected using ethernet.

#35 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 14 May 2010 - 11:48 PM

I just hope they dont pull the plug on doing mrv via the ethernet port somehow with a software update. Seems like Dtv didnt school their CSR's on people that use their own home network to use MRV and are pushing them to upgrade people to DECA which means more $$$$$$$$. Please tell me that the ethernet port on the dvr's will always work for MRV as long as MRV is activated.

#36 OFFLINE   Spoffo

Spoffo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 01:33 AM

I just hope they dont pull the plug on doing mrv via the ethernet port somehow with a software update. Seems like Dtv didnt school their CSR's on people that use their own home network to use MRV and are pushing them to upgrade people to DECA which means more $$$$$$$$. Please tell me that the ethernet port on the dvr's will always work for MRV as long as MRV is activated.


I can't say absolutely, but every MRV-capable receiver except the HR-24 uses the ethernet port even with DECA (via a little ethernet pigtail from the Deca adaptor.) Those receivers have no way of knowing whether that ethernet connection goes to DECA, a CAT5 connection, a wireless bridge or whatever, and I'm almost certain that having them get internet via the co-ax connection (like the HR24) would take a hardware change, not just firmware.

So unless Direct decides to trash and replace almost all the HD DVRs out there, I think MRV via your home network is safe. (Whether it works as well as with DECA is something else.)

Slimline dish with SWM8 & OTA antenna

Living room - HR24-500 with 1Tb eSATA fed native to Panny P54VT25 Plasma (3D capable). Onkyo 804 receiver, Oppo BluRay, Squeezebox, etc.
Office - HR20-700 with 1Tb eSATA fed Native to 20" Sharp LCD.
Kitchen - HR20-700 (no external disk) fed 720p to Samsung 23" LCD,
Bedroom - HR20-700 with 750 Gb eSATA fed native to 37" LG LCD

Networking: Office is hardwire CAT5 to router. Other 3 receivers are on DECA. All other gear in Living room is on separate MOCA link using old pre-SWM SAT 2 cables

All 100% self-installed

#37 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 15 May 2010 - 07:06 AM

I can't say absolutely, but every MRV-capable receiver except the HR-24 uses the ethernet port even with DECA (via a little ethernet pigtail from the Deca adaptor.) Those receivers have no way of knowing whether that ethernet connection goes to DECA, a CAT5 connection, a wireless bridge or whatever, and I'm almost certain that having them get internet via the co-ax connection (like the HR24) would take a hardware change, not just firmware.

So unless Direct decides to trash and replace almost all the HD DVRs out there, I think MRV via your home network is safe. (Whether it works as well as with DECA is something else.)


WRONG. They could easily turn off MRV for ethernet customers if they wanted to do so. They can simply set the MRV SERVICE flag to DISABLED if there is no DECA FLAG set to ENABLED in your account. A simple script. It wouldn't matter if your ethernet connection was enabled. MRV is a SERVICE (like HD or DVR) and can easily be switched on or off.

#38 OFFLINE   Satchaser

Satchaser

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 07:19 AM

What about TC+ with HD and DVR service? I dont want to try and add this for $3 and then get dinged another $1 or whatever the difference is between this and what the current equivalent package is, its barely worth it to me at $3.


I too have TC+ with HD and DVR Service. I am using a combination of wired and wireless (DVR's are wired and HD receivers wireless). I called yesterday (5/14) and was able to have it connected in about 10 minutes. I was lucky in that I had to have a replacement H21-200 activated and the CSR transferred me to Whole House Viewing.

I did not have to change anything on my programming.

Satchaser

D*TV since "94
HR20-700 -->Sony 50"
HR44-200-->Hitachi 50" LCD, HDMI
H21-100-->Panasonic 32 inch LCD, HDMI
HR23-700-->Panasonic CRT

Whole Home -- Deca, wired CCK 


#39 ONLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:04 AM

It's hard to find???? U got to be kidding me. These CSR's jobs are to be able to do things like this. That is their job. Hard to find , my butt. And if it's so hard then how does that explain the many people that have called in and got the CSR to activate it in 5-20 minutes then those of us that takes hours. It's incompetence. It's their job, they should know how to do it!!!! Give me a break, hard to find. I can just imagine at my job if I couldnt get something done......that was my job......and told my boss : "well it's just hard". I'd be fired on the spot.


As much as we'd all like a perfect world, you've got to consider that being a low level CSR is probably a relatively poor paying job, and for this job you get to be yelled at by customers while you keep a happy face.

The unfortunate truth of the matter is that some of these folks are probably new to the job and they haven't really learned the regular stuff, let alone the special things like this one. Also, it's easy to sit back and say that it should be easy. I too think it would be easy, but I've been an IT guy for 20+ years now. I'm used to walking through support systems (have even written a few in my life) and I can quickly learn what's going on. Heck, I even helped write a procedure, including the Choice Xtra + HDDVR exception, in just over 24 hours with zero direct access to their systems. But I realize, easy for me doesn't mean easy for everyone.

Not every person is as technically inclined as the folks here. If someone asked me to scale a mountain, I'd find that to be impossible, but there are people that could go right up to it and shimmy right up .. calling it easy. Some of these CSRs mean well but it's often like trying to write with your left hand when you're right handed. It takes some effort.

The best I can offer is that it's not a perfect world and it would be great if it were. But since it's not a perfect world (a fact we know), why make it harder on yourself? Use your technical inclination to help guide the CSRs through the maze and get your problem fixed. It's a win for you and yeah, it may be a win for the CSR as well. Don't let the process frustrate you .. take it as a challenge, something to win. Success can be achieved.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#40 ONLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:09 AM

I just hope they dont pull the plug on doing mrv via the ethernet port somehow with a software update. Seems like Dtv didnt school their CSR's on people that use their own home network to use MRV and are pushing them to upgrade people to DECA which means more $$$$$$$$. Please tell me that the ethernet port on the dvr's will always work for MRV as long as MRV is activated.


Solid Signal and others sell DECA equipment via the retail channel .. So the unsupported method for activation will remain.

Home Networking w/Ethernet will not be going away, but I do suspect many folks here to begin the process of switching away from the older receivers and ending up with more and more DECA equipped receivers.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#41 ONLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:16 AM

I too have TC+ with HD and DVR Service. I am using a combination of wired and wireless (DVR's are wired and HD receivers wireless). I called yesterday (5/14) and was able to have it connected in about 10 minutes. I was lucky in that I had to have a replacement H21-200 activated and the CSR transferred me to Whole House Viewing.

I did not have to change anything on my programming.


The only package that I'm sure has a problem is the Choice Xtra + HDDVR package. All other legacy packages do not appear to have this problem (although there could be others).

The problem is that these packages have the 'HD Service' flag turned off. I suspect so that you don't get billed the $10 HD Service fee. But HD service is allowed with that package.

You can check by going into the web page and looking under 'HD Service' If it is asking you to activate, then the flag is NOT set for you.

The following flags MUST be set before you can add Whole Home DVR Service to your account .. HD Service, DVR Service, MRV Compatibility.

Those with Choice Xtra + HDDVR are missing the HD Service flag and Whole Home DVR Service will remain grayed out.

The workaround if you want to add it now (without waiting for DIRECTV to fix - or not fix - the problem) is to convert your Choice Xtra + HDDVR service to Choice Xtra with HD Service & DVR Service added. If you do this, it will cost you $1/month more for your base package. However, all of the right flags will be set now and then you can add the whole home DVR service to your account.

yes, it's a bit convoluted, but it is one way to make sure you are all set.

Edited by Doug Brott, 15 May 2010 - 09:23 AM.
typo

DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#42 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,440 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:24 AM

The only package that I'm sure has a problem is the Choice Xtra + HDDVR package. ....

The workaround if you want to add it now (without waiting for DIRECTV to fix - or not fix - the problem) is to convert your Choice Xtra + HDDVR service to Choice Xtra with HD Service & DVR Service added. If you do this, it will cost you $1/month more for your base package. However, all of the right flags will be set now and then you can add the whole home DVR service to your account.

I can testify firsthand that both the situation and solution are absolutely correct as Doug reported them in this excellent post immediately above here. Nice work on the research and resolution.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#43 OFFLINE   cadet502

cadet502

    FHNSAB

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 846 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2005

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:28 AM

I sent a note thru the email system hoping to avoid some time spent on the phone.

They say they'll get back to me in 48 hours. No problem there, but now I have a question.

If I activate the "unsupported" home network, and later (in a month or two when I'm not so busy) decide to go for SWM/DECA will the special upgrade pricing still be available, or did I just disqualify myself?



.

#44 OFFLINE   basementman

basementman

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:30 AM

Doug, thanks for your tips.

I have been on the beta for a while with my own gigabit ethernet network and have really come to depend on the MRV service. It's not perfect, but almost as good as having the file on the local drive. Most times I can't tell much of a difference at all.

My question seems simple, but here goes:

Which route will give me better performance, reliability and capabilities - using my existing ethernet, or upgrading to the DECA equipment? Or is it a wash?

I have an HR20-100, an HR20-700 and an HR21-100.

Thanks.

#45 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,740 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 08:58 AM

Doug, thanks for your tips.

I have been on the beta for a while with my own gigabit ethernet network and have really come to depend on the MRV service. It's not perfect, but almost as good as having the file on the local drive. Most times I can't tell much of a difference at all.

My question seems simple, but here goes:

Which route will give me better performance, reliability and capabilities - using my existing ethernet, or upgrading to the DECA equipment? Or is it a wash?

I have an HR20-100, an HR20-700 and an HR21-100.

Thanks.


I have an HR20-100 and they are going to swap it out with a new DVR. I asked which one and she said "the new one". I took that to mean an HR24 at least I hope so. That made the deal for me so I went with DECA just for the free DVR.

#46 OFFLINE   ozonedan

ozonedan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2005

Posted 15 May 2010 - 09:24 AM

The only package that I'm sure has a problem is the Choice Xtra + HDDVR package. All other legacy packages do not appear to have this problem (although there could be others).

The problem is that these packages have the 'HD Service' flag turned off. I suspect so that you don't get billed the $10 HD Service fee. But HD service is allowed with that package.

You can check by going into the web page and looking under 'HD Service' If it is asking you to activate, then the flag is NOT set for you.

The following flags MUST be set before you can add Whole Home DVR Service to your account .. HD Service, DVR Service, MRV Compatibility.

Those will Choice Xtra + HDDVR are missing the HD Service flag and Whole Home DVR Service will remain grayed out.

The workaround if you want to add it now (without waiting for DIRECTV to fix - or not fix - the problem) is to convert your Choice Xtra + HDDVR service to Choice Xtra with HD Service & DVR Service added. If you do this, it will cost you $1/month more for your base package. However, all of the right flags will be set now and then you can add the whole home DVR service to your account.

yes, it's a bit convoluted, but it is one way to make sure you are all set.


Also, when you finally get to someone who knows their stuff and it gets added to your account, you will see that the "Opt in/Opt out" button on your DVR under "Multi room" will be gone.
If it won't fit force it.
If it breaks it needed replacing anyway.

#47 ONLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 09:26 AM

If I activate the "unsupported" home network, and later (in a month or two when I'm not so busy) decide to go for SWM/DECA will the special upgrade pricing still be available, or did I just disqualify myself?


I have no idea .. I suspect it will be around a while, but pricing is always subject to change. Just as with anything else, if you see a good deal, you might want to jump on it while it's available.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#48 ONLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,938 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 May 2010 - 09:40 AM

You'll find that a lot of people will argue that Ethernet is "better" but here are the facts:

Ethernet is unsupported by DIRECTV, but DIRECTV has allowed a path for it to be activated. It does work and many folks are happy with the the results. You will save the $150 (or less) charge for getting DECA installed.

DECA is the supported path for DIRECTV. So any changes to infrastructure or any "fixes" that need to be done will fall into this category just fine. DECA is optimized for MRV traffic. DECA is as good as or better than any Ethernet setup for MRV.

So in basic terms, there is some overlap where it's a wash in performance between DECA/Ethernet, but on the whole, DECA will provide the more reliable/stable solution.

In your case, it is most likely a decision as to whether or not you want to spend the extra dollars & time to get DECA set up. If you're adamant against that added cost, then I'd say stick with what you have and get the service turned on using the instruction I provided. If the cost means little to you then I'd say have DECA added to your system so that both your MRV network and your home network can perform even better.

Doug, thanks for your tips.

I have been on the beta for a while with my own gigabit ethernet network and have really come to depend on the MRV service. It's not perfect, but almost as good as having the file on the local drive. Most times I can't tell much of a difference at all.

My question seems simple, but here goes:

Which route will give me better performance, reliability and capabilities - using my existing ethernet, or upgrading to the DECA equipment? Or is it a wash?

I have an HR20-100, an HR20-700 and an HR21-100.

Thanks.


DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#49 OFFLINE   GirkMonster

GirkMonster

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 252 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2007

Posted 15 May 2010 - 10:15 AM

I called yesterday and despite having a CSR who hadn't done the unsupported activation...she was very patient and courteous and we walked through it. She put me on hold once to talk to tech to figure out why she wasn't finding the account activation menu. In the end, she was very appreciative of my knowledge and patience and by the time we were finished, she was confident that she could do it again for the next caller (you're welcome).

That's part of the CE process, in my opinion, helping them work out the bugs.
HR20, HR21, HR22, H21
11 TVs (6 HD, 5 SD)
3 Harmony 880s
ChannelPlus 3025 AV Distribution Modulator & IR system
SlingBox Pro
Linksys WRT610N Gateway and WRT310N, Gigabit wired LAN, couple of 8-port gigabit switches and a 5-port 10/100, NAS and some other stuff

#50 OFFLINE   jhburke

jhburke

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 15 May 2010 - 10:28 AM

Just called DirecTV to add MRV. 1st CSR instantly transferred me to someone else. She listened to Doug Brott's instructions, and said she understood but it wouldn't work. She checked with someone else for 5 minutes, then came back and said she could do it very easily, but with a different method. Then voila, it is now activated. Maybe DirecTV has updated some of its systems to make it easier to do now.

John




Protected By... spam firewall...And...