Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Enable MRV using your home networking


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
439 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   boatbumm

boatbumm

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 02:05 PM

Thanks to all for sharing their knowledge and experience in this thread!

Using Doug's script in Post #1, I was able to explain to the CSR what I wanted, and to get her to look for the "Account Attributes" drop down selection. She said she didn't have that option, and would have to get her supervisor to do it. After about 5 min on hold, the call dropped. :(

Now begins call #2, about 20 min later. Different CSR, same request, and she came back with "it's already activated on your account." Checked the HR20-700 I was sitting in front of, and lo and behold, the "Authorized" magic word was there in the Multi-Room Status screen and all beta references were gone.

Bottom line is that call #1 did the trick, even with the disconnect! :)

-Parker

Edited by boatbumm, 16 May 2010 - 02:06 PM.
Spelling


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   jpx5

jpx5

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 126 posts
  • LocationCentral New Jersey
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 02:34 PM

Call took about 10 min. The CSR knew what I was talking about. He suggested that I might NOT want to use my home network because it would not be suppported by Directv. I told him I have been using MRV in beta with no trouble, he said OK and an hour later my DVRs were authorized.

Jeff
Sat - AU9-S

SWM16 broadbandDECA

Network Linksys WRT54GS
HR34-700, HR24-500, 2 HR24-100's
WHDVR


#128 OFFLINE   infounlim

infounlim

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2009

Posted 16 May 2010 - 03:29 PM

Sigh. for any CSR's (or customers looking to get this done..)... its in DORIS. keyword mrv service > Adding Whole Home DVR Service.
click on:
3: If customers insist on adding Whole-Home DVR Service without the upgrade:
and follow the instructions completely.


This worked for me. Completed call in about 8 min.

#129 OFFLINE   LGM2007

LGM2007

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 261 posts
  • LocationMaine
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 03:50 PM

Apparently the word--and process--is getting out. When I called, I was told the CSR can no longer get into the Accounts Attributes, but they had another way of doing it now. This was the first one Marco has done and it took about 3 minutes and I had Multi-Room Authorized. He even quoted DBSTalk, and said you just saved yourself $150--but of course are unsupported. I thanked him and he thanked me for showing him something.
My Setup
Enjoy Talking About the Mets? Try The Happy Recap.

#130 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 04:22 PM

Something odd/interesting happened in the setup menu for the multi view status on my dvr's. When I had the CSR add the 3/month charge and activate MRV on my dvr's .....the status changed from beta to activated. Now it says authorized. Is that normal?

Greg

#131 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,608 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 04:37 PM

Something odd/interesting happened in the setup menu for the multi view status on my dvr's. When I had the CSR add the 3/month charge and activate MRV on my dvr's .....the status changed from beta to activated. Now it says authorized. Is that normal?

Greg


Yes Im seeing the same thing now

JACK,
 
 


#132 OFFLINE   HRJustin

HRJustin

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2009

Posted 16 May 2010 - 04:47 PM

well I finally got a CSR willing to listen to me and find where to set the unsupported flag. Of course I pretty much knew it wouldn't work because HD access is required. So much for that requirement being waved in local 72 swap markets since I also have a currently offered programming package. I guess I am out of luck for having MRV now until we actually need the HD service. Its a shame they could have made the $3 more a month for MRV at least. So for me to use MRV in my market I basically need to pay $13 even though I have all HD capable equipment. I have had MRV working great since i hooked it up hardwired without HD access this far. :nono2::nono2::(:(

EDIT: If someone else here is a CSR and can confirm that the HD flag is required to add the MRV charge please let me know. It just seems like a shame to force HD on me just to be able to use MRV on my own network. I could see forcing HD if they need to come out and do a DECA install.

Edited by HRJustin, 16 May 2010 - 05:12 PM.

**Living Room - H24-x00** **My Room - HR22-100** **Master Bedroom - R22-100**
***I am in a 72.5 local swap market I do not subscribe to HD access***

**Complete Setup Here**

#133 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,554 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 05:26 PM

Just got off the phone with a CSR and told here about Dougs script and she knew how to do it. For some reason the system gave here a bit of hard time but she got around it and set it up. I went to the web site and is on my account. Great job on her part, done in one call!
DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5 SWM 16
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500
HR44-500
ATT uverse internet

#134 OFFLINE   xmetalx

xmetalx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 289 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2009

Posted 16 May 2010 - 05:53 PM

Glad to hear most of you are getting it done successfully with somewhat minimal hassle :)
DirecTV employee since 2008
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.


There's no place like ~/

#135 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 06:04 PM

Maybe the CSR's are getting training on the homenetworking people......or so many of us are calling in to activate it word is spreading in the csr call centers.

#136 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 06:42 PM

.........EDIT: If someone else here is a CSR and can confirm that the HD flag is required to add the MRV charge please let me know. It just seems like a shame to force HD on me just to be able to use MRV on my own network. I could see forcing HD if they need to come out and do a DECA install.


I think I've seen Doug already post this a couple of times over several of the current MRV threads. He's not a CSR...but i would certainly take his word on it.
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#137 OFFLINE   rrrick8

rrrick8

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,020 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 06:46 PM

Glad to hear most of you are getting it done successfully with somewhat minimal hassle :)


Maybe the CSR's are getting training on the homenetworking people......or so many of us are calling in to activate it word is spreading in the csr call centers.


That's why I've been waiting until the last couple of days before I call. Let the CSR's get some on-the-job-training.

I'll call tomorrow.
--------------------------------------------

MY SETUP

Vermilionweather.com

#138 OFFLINE   Mr.Pibb

Mr.Pibb

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 06:48 PM

OK, I just spent probably 30 minutes on the phone with a CSR. I called in, using the script. Since I had an older package, eventually she had to put me on the newer package at $1 more a month. She REALLY wanted to figure it out, and was reading comments from other orders and entries from other CSR's. In the end, she finally figured it out, and REPEATEDLY thanked me for being patient and for "teaching her" something. She also made a comment that they rolled out this new service without giving them any training on it. Just a reminder (it's in the instructions)...they have to log out of your account completely and then go back in for it to show for them. She just tried a "refresh" initially and it still didn't show that she could turn this service on.

Anyway, I came away from the whole call very satisfied with the level of service this CSR delivered.

#139 OFFLINE   webcrawlr

webcrawlr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 07:16 PM

No instructions or guidance needed for me. Simply said I was part of the beta and wanted Whole Home DVR Services without DECA. I was placed on hold for about 5 minutes and he came back and said I was all set. About 30 seconds later I logged in to my account and it shows being enabled. Thanks Doug for making this thread with the heads up (and to everyone else that provided input)!

#140 OFFLINE   swyman18

swyman18

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 278 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2009

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:06 PM

I can also report success via the email method... First email sent Friday, and they responded back saying they can activate the service but they strongly recommended the DECA upgrade and if I did not opt for the upgrade, it would be unsupported. They asked me to reply back comfirming I was aware of this and that I definately just wanted the service activated. I replied back thanking them for the information, and I was indeed confirming I wanted it activated as 'unsupported'. Just checked today, and it is now enabled on the website, and beta is gone from my menus. All looks good.

#141 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,264 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:09 PM

I can also report success via the email method...


Brother in law is up to is 4th e-mail being sent in trying to get MRV enabled, they keep wanting to sell him "Connected Home" for $99+$49. He's said he has no problem being unsupported for MRV issues and paying the $3/month MRV charge but still no go. He's close to giving up on the e-mail route and making the phone call.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#142 OFFLINE   Rakul

Rakul

    Slacker

  • Registered
  • 623 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:14 PM

Brother in law is up to is 4th e-mail being sent in trying to get MRV enabled, they keep wanting to sell him "Connected Home" for $99+$49. He's said he has no problem being unsupported for MRV issues and paying the $3/month MRV charge but still no go. He's close to giving up on the e-mail route and making the phone call.


I e-mailed via the web page Friday night but have yet to hear back from them, hopefully calling them Monday will do the trick here.
All on SWMLine:
HR22-100 > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-100S > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-700 > HDMI > Insignia NS-LCD26-09 LCD [Networked]
HR21-100 > HDMI > Samsung 26B360 LCD [Networked]
Full Setup

#143 OFFLINE   Vinny

Vinny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,158 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:38 PM

If it's on your account now, just refresh your services with this link:
http://www.directv.c...thorization.jsp

I think it will send the auth down automatically at some point as well so all will be fine.


Thanks, Doug....

After all was said and done; the supervisor thanked me immensely for walking her through the steps that you postes. She was actually embarrassed that I knew more than her and wished that she had the script that you provided us.

My HR23 and HR20 cleared the beta off the MRV screen about 10 minutes after my call.

Again....thanks Doug and everyone else that tried to help me along the way.

Vinny
HR34-700(0x009F6)|Networked: Yes via Deca hardwired to Actiontec MI424WR (FiOS)| OTA: No | DOD Enabled: Yes |Mediashare: TVersity |
HDTV: Panasonic Plasma TH-50PZ85U connected via Monster HDMI| Home Theater: Onkyo HT-R393 connected via coax cable. Whole Home: Yes

HR20-700 (0x07EB)
|Networked: Yes via Deca| OTA: No | HDTV: Hitachi Plasma P42H401 connected via HDMI. Whole Home: Yes

AU9 Slimline | SWM|

#144 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:39 PM

Pibb,

The 5th CSR that I spoke with that finally got me activated told me the same thing. She said they were trained only for the DECA upgrade but not to activate people for the unsupported home network MRV at 3/month.

#145 OFFLINE   Spoffo

Spoffo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:08 PM

Bingo! E-mail from the website worked like a charm the first time. I selected "Services" from the main topic menu then "Whole House DVR" from the specific services sub menu. Sent my request at 6:30 saturday night, got a "forwarded to a specialist" an hour later, and a very polite confirmation that it was done about 24 hours later. Certainly easier than some of the horror stories here of having to deal with a CSR who doesn't know about the unsupported option, though it sounds like that has been getting a lot better, too.

I've copied the e-mail exchange below in case anyone wants to copy mine.

Customer (Robert Spofford) - 05/15/2010 06:21 PM

Subject
---------------------------------------------------------------
Requesting "Unsupported" activation of MRV

Hi -

I have been a tester of MRV since long before the public beta. Since late last year I have had MRV running flawlessly on 3 HD DRVs using my own networking equipment. I don't want or need any new equipment or service. I simply want to have MRV activated for my account before the May 20 beta cutoff.

DirecTv recently created an account option just for people like me, where you set the account attribute "MRV capability" to "U" for unsupported and push it to my receivers. MRV is activated on my account, $3 per month is added to my bill, no service call is required, and no tech support is provided for MRV or networking.

I hope you know what I'm talking about. Some CSRs do, some don't. If it's news to you, please ask around. . . . Or, please do this: go to DORIS. keyword mrv service > Adding Whole Home DVR Service.
click on: "3: If customers insist on adding Whole-Home DVR Service without the upgrade: "

Then please just follow those instructions.

Thanks.


---------------------------------------------------------------
Response (Megan G ID U6801) - 05/16/2010 08:21 PM
Dear Mr. Spofford,

Thank you for writing. We will be happy to assist you with adding the Whole-Home DVR service to your account. Please know that I have added the Whole-Home DVR service to your account.

Your service period is for 30 days and runs from 27th to the 26th of every month. You received a partial charge of $1.10 for activating the service today, 5/16/10. The changes to your account will be reflected on your next DIRECTV bill, or you can see them immediately by signing into your DIRECTV account online at directv.com/mydirectv and clicking on "Activity Since Last Bill" in the My Account column.

Because DIRECTV bills you for service at the start of your billing period, any changes that are made mid month, such as adding or removing a service, will show as charges or credits from the day the change occurred to the end of that 30 day period. Your next bill will reflect the partial charge of $1.10 and a full 30 day charge of $3.00 for the Whole-Home DVR service.

As explained, we will be unable to provide additional support (troubleshooting) specific to the Whole-Home DVR Service. I hope I have addressed your concerns.

Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,


Megan G.
#U6801
DIRECTV Resolution Specialist

P.S. Have a question? Anytime, any topic, instant answers - support.directv.com The Answer Center provides you helpful information, 24/7, all at your fingertips.


I just checked, and my receivers now show "Authorized" for MRV.

Edited by Spoffo, 16 May 2010 - 10:24 PM.


Slimline dish with SWM8 & OTA antenna

Living room - HR24-500 with 1Tb eSATA fed native to Panny P54VT25 Plasma (3D capable). Onkyo 804 receiver, Oppo BluRay, Squeezebox, etc.
Office - HR20-700 with 1Tb eSATA fed Native to 20" Sharp LCD.
Kitchen - HR20-700 (no external disk) fed 720p to Samsung 23" LCD,
Bedroom - HR20-700 with 750 Gb eSATA fed native to 37" LG LCD

Networking: Office is hardwire CAT5 to router. Other 3 receivers are on DECA. All other gear in Living room is on separate MOCA link using old pre-SWM SAT 2 cables

All 100% self-installed

#146 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:36 PM

From the posts here sounds like both calling and talking to a CSR and emailing them is like playing russian roulette. I just hope when the 20th rolls around dtv doesnst screw up MRV and all of us that went to the trouble to get activated ahead of time wont all get cutoff somehow. U never know!

#147 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:32 AM

I called to enable the MRV from work this morning and spoke with a very nice lady. She followed everything that I said, however, with being Choice Extra +HDDVR couldn't get it enabled for me to see it online.

She said that its on the account now, so I'll check it when I get home.

Doug's information was great and she stepped through it.

I told her to enable the HD Access, but she was hell bent on getting the flag turned on.

Edit in: I popped online and enabled the $10 HD access fee once I did this, the Whole Home DVR flipped to activated and everything looks happy :)

Edited by jefbal99, 17 May 2010 - 07:51 AM.

Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#148 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 3,045 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:41 AM

Edit in: I popped online and enabled the $10 HD access fee once I did this, the Whole Home DVR flipped to activated and everything looks happy :)

I have that same package.

Won't adding the $10 HD Access thing increase your bill by $10, in effect double charging you for HD?

Doug and others have said here people like us need to change packages and incur only a $1 increase (over the $3 MVR fee).

I plan to wait until Tuesday to see if they allow us to add MRV with my legacy package.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 C41W-100, 1 WVBR0-01, 1 HR24-500

Original install on Apr. 20, 2008 - C41W & WVB self installed on Dec. 27, 2014 - HR34 & C31 installed on Aug. 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#149 OFFLINE   Aztec Pilot

Aztec Pilot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:44 AM

Patience is key. I called this morning. Followed Doug's instructions. All done in less than ten minutes. I think that she has done this a few times. Thanks for making this easy Doug. Now I can convert to DECA on my own time.
---------------------------------------------
My Setup

#150 OFFLINE   Rakul

Rakul

    Slacker

  • Registered
  • 623 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:23 AM

Well I received a DM on Twitter from DirecTV that someone would contact me to resolve this, here's hoping.
All on SWMLine:
HR22-100 > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-100S > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-700 > HDMI > Insignia NS-LCD26-09 LCD [Networked]
HR21-100 > HDMI > Samsung 26B360 LCD [Networked]
Full Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...