Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Enable MRV using your home networking


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
439 replies to this topic

#141 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,985 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:09 PM

I can also report success via the email method...


Brother in law is up to is 4th e-mail being sent in trying to get MRV enabled, they keep wanting to sell him "Connected Home" for $99+$49. He's said he has no problem being unsupported for MRV issues and paying the $3/month MRV charge but still no go. He's close to giving up on the e-mail route and making the phone call.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#142 OFFLINE   Rakul

Rakul

    Slacker

  • Registered
  • 622 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:14 PM

Brother in law is up to is 4th e-mail being sent in trying to get MRV enabled, they keep wanting to sell him "Connected Home" for $99+$49. He's said he has no problem being unsupported for MRV issues and paying the $3/month MRV charge but still no go. He's close to giving up on the e-mail route and making the phone call.


I e-mailed via the web page Friday night but have yet to hear back from them, hopefully calling them Monday will do the trick here.
All on SWMLine:
HR22-100 > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-100S > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-700 > HDMI > Insignia NS-LCD26-09 LCD [Networked]
HR21-100 > HDMI > Samsung 26B360 LCD [Networked]
Full Setup

#143 OFFLINE   Vinny

Vinny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,094 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:38 PM

If it's on your account now, just refresh your services with this link:
http://www.directv.c...thorization.jsp

I think it will send the auth down automatically at some point as well so all will be fine.


Thanks, Doug....

After all was said and done; the supervisor thanked me immensely for walking her through the steps that you postes. She was actually embarrassed that I knew more than her and wished that she had the script that you provided us.

My HR23 and HR20 cleared the beta off the MRV screen about 10 minutes after my call.

Again....thanks Doug and everyone else that tried to help me along the way.

Vinny

HR34-700(0x00805)|Networked: Yes via Deca hardwired to Actiontec MI424WR (FiOS)| OTA: No | DOD Enabled: Yes |Mediashare: TVersity |
HDTV: Panasonic Plasma TH-50PZ85U connected via Monster HDMI| Home Theater: Onkyo TX-LR552 connected via coax cable. Whole Home: Yes

HR20-700 (0x07EB)
|Networked: Yes via Deca| OTA: No | HDTV: Hitachi Plasma P42H401 connected via HDMI. Whole Home: Yes

AU9 Slimline | SWM|


#144 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 08:39 PM

Pibb,

The 5th CSR that I spoke with that finally got me activated told me the same thing. She said they were trained only for the DECA upgrade but not to activate people for the unsupported home network MRV at 3/month.

#145 OFFLINE   Spoffo

Spoffo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:08 PM

Bingo! E-mail from the website worked like a charm the first time. I selected "Services" from the main topic menu then "Whole House DVR" from the specific services sub menu. Sent my request at 6:30 saturday night, got a "forwarded to a specialist" an hour later, and a very polite confirmation that it was done about 24 hours later. Certainly easier than some of the horror stories here of having to deal with a CSR who doesn't know about the unsupported option, though it sounds like that has been getting a lot better, too.

I've copied the e-mail exchange below in case anyone wants to copy mine.

Customer (Robert Spofford) - 05/15/2010 06:21 PM

Subject
---------------------------------------------------------------
Requesting "Unsupported" activation of MRV

Hi -

I have been a tester of MRV since long before the public beta. Since late last year I have had MRV running flawlessly on 3 HD DRVs using my own networking equipment. I don't want or need any new equipment or service. I simply want to have MRV activated for my account before the May 20 beta cutoff.

DirecTv recently created an account option just for people like me, where you set the account attribute "MRV capability" to "U" for unsupported and push it to my receivers. MRV is activated on my account, $3 per month is added to my bill, no service call is required, and no tech support is provided for MRV or networking.

I hope you know what I'm talking about. Some CSRs do, some don't. If it's news to you, please ask around. . . . Or, please do this: go to DORIS. keyword mrv service > Adding Whole Home DVR Service.
click on: "3: If customers insist on adding Whole-Home DVR Service without the upgrade: "

Then please just follow those instructions.

Thanks.


---------------------------------------------------------------
Response (Megan G ID U6801) - 05/16/2010 08:21 PM
Dear Mr. Spofford,

Thank you for writing. We will be happy to assist you with adding the Whole-Home DVR service to your account. Please know that I have added the Whole-Home DVR service to your account.

Your service period is for 30 days and runs from 27th to the 26th of every month. You received a partial charge of $1.10 for activating the service today, 5/16/10. The changes to your account will be reflected on your next DIRECTV bill, or you can see them immediately by signing into your DIRECTV account online at directv.com/mydirectv and clicking on "Activity Since Last Bill" in the My Account column.

Because DIRECTV bills you for service at the start of your billing period, any changes that are made mid month, such as adding or removing a service, will show as charges or credits from the day the change occurred to the end of that 30 day period. Your next bill will reflect the partial charge of $1.10 and a full 30 day charge of $3.00 for the Whole-Home DVR service.

As explained, we will be unable to provide additional support (troubleshooting) specific to the Whole-Home DVR Service. I hope I have addressed your concerns.

Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,


Megan G.
#U6801
DIRECTV Resolution Specialist

P.S. Have a question? Anytime, any topic, instant answers - support.directv.com The Answer Center provides you helpful information, 24/7, all at your fingertips.


I just checked, and my receivers now show "Authorized" for MRV.

Edited by Spoffo, 16 May 2010 - 10:24 PM.


Slimline dish with SWM8 & OTA antenna

Living room - HR24-500 with 1Tb eSATA fed native to Panny P54VT25 Plasma (3D capable). Onkyo 804 receiver, Oppo BluRay, Squeezebox, etc.
Office - HR20-700 with 1Tb eSATA fed Native to 20" Sharp LCD.
Kitchen - HR20-700 (no external disk) fed 720p to Samsung 23" LCD,
Bedroom - HR20-700 with 750 Gb eSATA fed native to 37" LG LCD

Networking: Office is hardwire CAT5 to router. Other 3 receivers are on DECA. All other gear in Living room is on separate MOCA link using old pre-SWM SAT 2 cables

All 100% self-installed

#146 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 16 May 2010 - 10:36 PM

From the posts here sounds like both calling and talking to a CSR and emailing them is like playing russian roulette. I just hope when the 20th rolls around dtv doesnst screw up MRV and all of us that went to the trouble to get activated ahead of time wont all get cutoff somehow. U never know!

#147 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:32 AM

I called to enable the MRV from work this morning and spoke with a very nice lady. She followed everything that I said, however, with being Choice Extra +HDDVR couldn't get it enabled for me to see it online.

She said that its on the account now, so I'll check it when I get home.

Doug's information was great and she stepped through it.

I told her to enable the HD Access, but she was hell bent on getting the flag turned on.

Edit in: I popped online and enabled the $10 HD access fee once I did this, the Whole Home DVR flipped to activated and everything looks happy :)

Edited by jefbal99, 17 May 2010 - 07:51 AM.

Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#148 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,522 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:41 AM

Edit in: I popped online and enabled the $10 HD access fee once I did this, the Whole Home DVR flipped to activated and everything looks happy :)

I have that same package.

Won't adding the $10 HD Access thing increase your bill by $10, in effect double charging you for HD?

Doug and others have said here people like us need to change packages and incur only a $1 increase (over the $3 MVR fee).

I plan to wait until Tuesday to see if they allow us to add MRV with my legacy package.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#149 OFFLINE   Aztec Pilot

Aztec Pilot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:44 AM

Patience is key. I called this morning. Followed Doug's instructions. All done in less than ten minutes. I think that she has done this a few times. Thanks for making this easy Doug. Now I can convert to DECA on my own time.
---------------------------------------------
My Setup

#150 OFFLINE   Rakul

Rakul

    Slacker

  • Registered
  • 622 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:23 AM

Well I received a DM on Twitter from DirecTV that someone would contact me to resolve this, here's hoping.
All on SWMLine:
HR22-100 > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-100S > HDMI > Samsung 4665 LCD [Networked]
HR20-700 > HDMI > Insignia NS-LCD26-09 LCD [Networked]
HR21-100 > HDMI > Samsung 26B360 LCD [Networked]
Full Setup

#151 OFFLINE   bishop1424

bishop1424

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:41 AM

No instructions or guidance needed for me. Simply said I was part of the beta and wanted Whole Home DVR Services without DECA. I was placed on hold for about 5 minutes and he came back and said I was all set. About 30 seconds later I logged in to my account and it shows being enabled. Thanks Doug for making this thread with the heads up (and to everyone else that provided input)!


I have the Total Choice Plus with locals and HD Extra Pack programming, called in this moring, waited on hold for about 15 minutes, spoke with rep named Diane who had just taken care of another customer looking to add the service. She asked if I was in the beta, put me on hold for less than 5 minutes after which she asked me to confirm the service was enabled.

I had been logged into my account and the Whole-Home DVR Service option was greyed out with the call to activate button; I logged out and back in and the service now reads Currently Activated.

I'll confirm tonight, but I expect all to be well.

Let's go Blackhawks!

- cb

UPDATE: just 2 hours later I received a Programming & Service Update email; programming package is still the same.

UPDATE: all was working well last night

Edited by bishop1424, 18 May 2010 - 08:03 AM.
confirmation at home


#152 ONLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,477 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:52 AM

Great! Just called. Got a very nice woman who had me walk her through the whole thing quickly then put me on hold. She verified she could do it the first time then hold again while she got it done. She made sure I knew that I would not get debugging support.

After I hung up, my Beta status disappeared from my DVRs.

Thanks to everyone!

(I'll probably get DECA installed later this year but just don't have the cash this month.)
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#153 OFFLINE   ShinKen

ShinKen

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:37 AM

Just got my email response and they activated the service. Big thank you to this site and everyone participating here, it was very helpful.
http://www.shugenkai.org
My Equipment
3 - HR21-700 and SWM-8

#154 OFFLINE   hobbes

hobbes

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 289 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:55 AM

Had no luck going the phone route. The reps kind of knew where to go (with my guidance thanks to Doug's instructions), but the unsupported option wasn't coming up for my account.

Tried 3 times because the first 2 transfers from CSR to supervisor dropped. The third one sent me to a Protection Plan CSR. She insisted I had to have DECA. I told her to hold off and I'd try again later in the week in case their systems got updated by then.

In the meantime, I have sent an e-mail using most of Robert's language. Wish me luck.

h

#155 OFFLINE   Ric

Ric

    Godfather

  • Gold Members
  • 474 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2002

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:01 AM

ok - 3rd attempt. Yesterday's supposedly activation didnt take so called back today. First CSR seemed to know what I was talking about but said tech support was needed. Tech support just couldnt get it activated so sent to "Internet support". They immediately seem to know what's going on but said I need to go DECA. explained Beta program and process from DBSTalk that would enable this. Was told "yes, I am familiar with DBSTalk and unfortunately there are many users and former employees there that just don't know what they are talking about".....wow!

So still on hold with internet support and supposedly he is still moving forward with process.....

Now on hold hearing Elvis sing Return to Sender - ironic :)

Oops - process completed but they say it just won't take. Flagged account and to call back in a couple of days if I dont see it activated. Nice!!!:flaiming:bang

#156 OFFLINE   CKNAV

CKNAV

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 320 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2005

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:16 AM

Just made my call and had it activated in 5 minutes. I got very nice CSR. I read her instructions from first post which she followed and it worked no problem.

I expected a lot more trouble based on feedback here.
2 HR20-700
1 HR21-700
1 HR21-200
1 SWM8

#157 OFFLINE   STEVED21

STEVED21

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 327 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:28 AM

Anybody being told it's $99 for this upgrade? I'm waiting for a supervisor

#158 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:28 AM

Oops - process completed but they say it just won't take. Flagged account and to call back in a couple of days if I dont see it activated. Nice!!!:flaiming:bang


This sounds like you have the legacy package 'Choice Xtra plus HDDVR' package. You cannot activate whole home DVR service if you have this package. If you have this package, you will need to either call or go online and change your package to Choice Xtra and then add HD Service and DVR Service. The net cost per month will be $1 more if you do this. There currently is no way around that problem, but there may be a fix in the next few days. I simply have not heard back one way or the other.

If you make the change above, since the flag is already set for you, you should also be able to add whole home DVR service online once the package has been changed.

Hope this helps.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#159 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:30 AM

Anybody being told it's $99 for this upgrade? I'm waiting for a supervisor


The $99 is for getting an installer to come out and set up DECA networking for you. Enabling MRV to use your existing home network does not entail any additional cost which is generally the reason why folks want to go this route.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#160 OFFLINE   STEVED21

STEVED21

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 327 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:30 AM

I tried, but she insists.




spam firewall