Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can I Do This With Direct?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:52 PM

We're thinking about switching to Direct for the MRV. We currently have 2 622s. The one in the bedroom is connected to the bedroom TV via component. There is an HDMI running through the wall to another TV. My wife is the only one that watches either of those and obviously, in spite of what our 4 sons used to believe, she can't be in 2 rooms at once so only one set at a time is on. The other is connected to only one TV. Will I be able to do that with Direct?
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,495 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 13 May 2010 - 07:53 PM

If you mean DirecTV, yes.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#3 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:05 PM

If you mean DirecTV, yes.

Well, paaardon me. Of course I meant DirecTV. And for what it's worth, I was a DirecTV subscriber before you.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:14 PM

I think he was alluding to the fact that you said "Direct" and not "DirecTV". :)

And between your first and last sentences you were mentioning your use of Dish equipment.

How long you've been a DirecTV subscriber is irrelevant.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 13 May 2010 - 08:35 PM

I think he was alluding to the fact that you said "Direct" and not "DirecTV". :)

And between your first and last sentences you were mentioning your use of Dish equipment.

How long you've been a DirecTV subscriber is irrelevant.

I know what he was talking about and yes I mentioned Dish because I am currently a Dish subscriber. And if time as a DirecTV subscriber is irrelevant, why do both of you include it in your signature? Should I add to my signature DirecTV sub 1998 - 2004, Dish sub 2004 - now? It's not in my sig because I truly believe it is irrelevant but I couldn't resist when he asked if I meant DirecTV. Is there another sat provider named Direct that I could possibly have been talking about?
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 14 May 2010 - 07:08 PM

The satellite provider is DirecTV NOT Direct.
But, at least you didn't say D*, which would have been a bit more correct, sort of.:)

BTW, you seem to like to shout out everything you have in your signature. :D
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,067 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 May 2010 - 07:23 PM

If you are asking if you can use more than 1 output at a time with the DirecTV HD DVR's then the answer is yes. They, of course, would be outputting the same signal however.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...