Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Connecting DECA to the HR20-100


  • Please log in to reply
118 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   kpkingdon

kpkingdon

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 09:13 AM

Installer has bandstop filter in front of the swm, then swm to splitter. Is that the splitter the additional DECA is connected to? Thanks!
KP

8xHRxx/6xHxx/DirecTV since 1997

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 09:15 AM

Installer has bandstop filter in front of the swm, then swm to splitter. Is that the splitter the additional DECA is connected to? Thanks!

SWiM->bandstop-->splitter---> DECA & receiver DECA
A.K.A VOS

#43 OFFLINE   GordonT

GordonT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:20 AM

I have 2 HR20-100's and an H24. The installers have not been able to get both HR20's doing mRV at the same time. It seems that the first one that comes in can do MRV (i.e. be seen by the H24) but when they try to connect the 2nd HR20, it can't be seen by the H24 or the other HR20.

They have tried both variations of the "trick" to connect to both Sat 1 and Sat 2 (with and without the BSF's). They have also tried substituting a green splitter (SWM splitter) for the regular splitter.

There is also some weirdness with the second HR20 showing up twice in my router's active DHCP list. The "duplicate" entry has the same MAC address but with 1 added to it:
MAC IP address
00:18:9B:F0:25:10 192.168.1.103
00:18:9B:F0:25:11 192.168.1.107


Has anyone else seen this?

TV's:
Samsung HL-R5078W
Mitsubishi VS-50805
Vizio E371VA
Satellite Dish:
Slimline-3S(SWM)
Receivers:
2 HR24-500 0x6bd
H24-100 0x66d
H21-100 0x466d


#44 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:27 AM

I have 2 HR20-100's and an H24. The installers have not been able to get both HR20's doing mRV at the same time. It seems that the first one that comes in can do MRV (i.e. be seen by the H24) but when they try to connect the 2nd HR20, it can't be seen by the H24 or the other HR20.

They have tried both variations of the "trick" to connect to both Sat 1 and Sat 2 (with and without the BSF's). They have also tried substituting a green splitter (SWM splitter) for the regular splitter.

There is also some weirdness with the second HR20 showing up twice in my router's active DHCP list. The "duplicate" entry has the same MAC address but with 1 added to it:
MAC IP address
00:18:9B:F0:25:10 192.168.1.103
00:18:9B:F0:25:11 192.168.1.107


Has anyone else seen this?

Try resetting your router.
Then have each HR20 reset to default network settings and see how they come up after you "connect now".
A.K.A VOS

#45 OFFLINE   GordonT

GordonT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:46 PM

Try resetting your router.
Then have each HR20 reset to default network settings and see how they come up after you "connect now".


I reset the router, but by that point the 2 techs and their supervisor (that's right, I had 3 Directv trucks parked in front of my house for at at least 2 hours) had decided to give up on getting both of my Hr20-100's MRV'ing at the same time. They called their experts to ask essentially the same question I asked in this thread and did not get any helpful advice.

At that point, they asked me if I wanted to swap one of my HR20's for an HR24. Since I have only had one of them for 2 months or so (replaced my dead HR10) and it didn't have a great deal of recordings on it yet, the decision was a no-brainer. They installed the HR24 and as soon as it came up, it joined the other HR20 and the H24 they had installed to replace my H20 in one big happy MRV family.

One other thing that I found out after the fact, and I don't know if it's relevant. Originally, they had the PI for the SWM hooked up between the SWM and the DECA for the HR20 in my family room. They ended up moving it into the guest bedroom on the coax that goes to a D12 receiver. The way I discovered this is sort of sad and funny at the same time. About an hour after everything was working I started getting "searching for satellite' on all 4 receivers. I called D*, who called the installers, who called me.The guy asked me if I had turned any light switches off after I left, and after I said "What?", he told me that they had moved the PI because they thought it might be causing a problem where it was (adjacent to the DECA in the family room). Unfortunately, one of the installers unplugged the floor lamp in the guest bedroom and plugged the PI power cord into that outlet. Well that outlet is controlled by a wall switch! So when I turned off the wall switch, the PI lost power which resulted in the 771's. Once the PI was plugged into a more permanent source of power, everything came back online immediately.

I don't think them moving the PI had anything to do with the problem getting fixed, but I could be wrong (couldn't get a good chronology from them). The fact that I got an HR24 out of it sort of tempered my curiosity a bit :hurah:

But I'm still curious enough to see if there are any other reports of
HR20-100's not being able to co-exist in an MRV/DECA cloud.

TV's:
Samsung HL-R5078W
Mitsubishi VS-50805
Vizio E371VA
Satellite Dish:
Slimline-3S(SWM)
Receivers:
2 HR24-500 0x6bd
H24-100 0x66d
H21-100 0x466d


#46 OFFLINE   gpauljr

gpauljr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:34 PM

Had MRV installation Wednesday. Existing 5 DVR's and 2 receivers. Mixed types. One HR 20-700 started " searching for signal" and they couldn't get the two HR 20-100's to work. Came back yesterday and replaced the failing HR 20-700 and two HR 20-100's with HR 24-500's. I also added a new DVR and they supplied an HR 24-500. Everything works well. Sure wish you could transfer external drives. Would make sense if you could transfer them within your own system.

#47 ONLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,625 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:27 AM

Have installers here now so I need a quick response

In hooking up an HR20-100 to DECA and broadband, what is the recommended hook up?

#48 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:37 AM

Have installers here now so I need a quick response

In hooking up an HR20-100 to DECA and broadband, what is the recommended hook up?

The bottom image in Post #1.
A.K.A VOS

#49 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,216 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:38 AM

Have installers here now so I need a quick response

In hooking up an HR20-100 to DECA and broadband, what is the recommended hook up?


See the diagrams in the first post of this thread. The DIRECTV preferred method is the lower drawing.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#50 ONLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,625 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:45 AM

See the diagrams in the first post of this thread. The DIRECTV preferred method is the lower drawing.


But that only shows how to hook up to the DECA cloud. How do you make the connection to the router?

#51 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,216 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 21 May 2010 - 09:50 AM

But that only shows how to hook up to the DECA cloud. How do you make the connection to the router?

See instructions by VOS in post # 40 of this thread.

You use a separate DECA with its own PI for connecting your entire DECA cloud to the internet.
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#52 ONLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,625 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:00 AM

What do you attach to the splitter?

#53 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:15 AM

What do you attach to the splitter?

post 2 or 3 from here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=177308
A.K.A VOS

#54 ONLINE   jagrim

jagrim

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,625 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:30 AM

doesn't show any pictures

#55 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:35 AM

doesn't show any pictures

http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=22058&stc=1&d=1273935586

or with this PI:
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1274108114
A.K.A VOS

#56 OFFLINE   afulkerson

afulkerson

    MI Citizen Corps Vol of Year

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,660 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:35 AM

doesn't show any pictures


Scroll down in the link and there are pictures, at least for me there is.

#57 OFFLINE   Mark_M

Mark_M

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:44 AM

All receiver but the HR20-100, have the DECA connected to SAT #1 and the network jack.



I was simply wanting MRV turned back on from the beta period when I called D*, but was told I'd have to have the DECA Whole House Upgrade. From reading the other threads I know I could still get the unsupported version, but finally agreed to have D* do the upgrade because they offered to swap out my HR10-250 for a newer model which I have been wanting to do for awhile anyway.

Thanks for the drawings. I am not that familiar with DECA & SWM. I asked D* if I needed to get Ethernet to each of the three receivers myself and was told that the DECA would have a connection back to my router. How does that look? - is it one coax with adapter to the router to run the network to all three receivers or is it something else? Is there a drawing of the big picture somewhere I could look at? My install is next Friday, so I am trying to understand how much work the installer has to do to make all of this work.
Mark
HR20-700
HR20-100
HR24-100
Toshiba 42H81
D* customer since 1996

#58 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:53 AM

I was simply wanting MRV turned back on from the beta period when I called D*, but was told I'd have to have the DECA Whole House Upgrade. From reading the other threads I know I could still get the unsupported version, but finally agreed to have D* do the upgrade because they offered to swap out my HR10-250 for a newer model which I have been wanting to do for awhile anyway.

Thanks for the drawings. I am not that familiar with DECA & SWM. I asked D* if I needed to get Ethernet to each of the three receivers myself and was told that the DECA would have a connection back to my router. How does that look? - is it one coax with adapter to the router to run the network to all three receivers or is it something else? Is there a drawing of the big picture somewhere I could look at? My install is next Friday, so I am trying to understand how much work the installer has to do to make all of this work.

Maybe this will help
Posted Image
A.K.A VOS

#59 OFFLINE   Mark_M

Mark_M

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:05 AM

Maybe this will help


Thanks - that helps.

Another question. I have the older dish (sidecar - not slimline). Does this dish or LNBs get replaced for SWiM?
Mark
HR20-700
HR20-100
HR24-100
Toshiba 42H81
D* customer since 1996

#60 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:09 AM

Thanks - that helps.

Another question. I have the older dish (sidecar - not slimline). Does this dish or LNBs get replaced for SWiM?

Dish because the AT-9 is normally replace with any service call.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...