Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Connecting DECA to the HR20-100


  • Please log in to reply
118 replies to this topic

#61 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,892 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:45 AM

Don't you think a note should be posted though for the hookup diagrams on page 1 that if "Plan-B" (the official DirecTV method) is used the splitter need not have a power-pass on one leg?

Or a least I don't see any reason for it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:48 AM

Don't you think a note should be posted though for the hookup diagrams on page 1 that if "Plan-B" (the official DirecTV method) the splitter need not have a power-pass on one leg?

Or a least I don't see any reason for it.

There isn't a need for it, but that would be the most common splitter the installer would have.
A.K.A VOS

#63 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:52 AM

Post 1 updated to reflect that the R22 does not meet the requirements of HD receivers for the WHDVRS. Also moved the HR20-100 onto its own line.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#64 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 10:10 AM

Post 1 updated to reflect that the R22 does not meet the requirements of HD receivers for the WHDVRS. Also moved the HR20-100 onto its own line.

Of this thread:http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=175094
A.K.A VOS

#65 OFFLINE   kevin o

kevin o

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 03:14 PM

Can anyone tell me exactly what splitter I need? Do you think I can get one locally or will I need to order online.

Thanks,

Kevin
Kevin O

HR20-700
HR21-700

#66 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 03:24 PM

Can anyone tell me exactly what splitter I need? Do you think I can get one locally or will I need to order online.

Thanks,

Kevin

http://www.solidsign... Splitters&sku=
A.K.A VOS

#67 OFFLINE   R8ders2K

R8ders2K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 06:37 PM

Well, FWIW, the Skywalker splitters from SolidSignal also work for my SWM8, HR20, HR23, and 3 H20s and my hardwired Ethernet network.

:D

Click this link for specifics on my setup. SWM 16 installed.

Setup Apple AirPort Extreme #1 for DIRECTV Network Services.

Setup Apple AirPort Extreme #2 for static IP addresses on your home network.

 

 

 

 

 


#68 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:20 PM

http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=22058&stc=1&d=1273935586


Can I just do this and plug it into an HR20-100 ethernet port instead of a router for hooking the HR20 into the cloud?

The BSF, splitter, and shipping is almost $20 from solid signal and I can get another PI for less than 10.

#69 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:28 PM

Can I just do this and plug it into an HR20-100 ethernet port instead of a router for hooking the HR20 into the cloud?

The BSF, splitter, and shipping is almost $20 from solid signal and I can get another PI for less than 10.

Not really, because without the DECA filtering out its signal the SAT input is going to be hit with the high level signal, which is why the bandstop filter is needed/used.
If you can't get or don't want to get the filter, you could try the "plan A" where the splitter is between the DECA and the HR20-100. While this isn't "now" the recommended way, it was before and the DECA stops the signal like the filter does.

Looking at the photo [again] "I guess" you could remove the termination on the PI and connect a cable from that connector to the SAT #1 of the HR20-100.
A.K.A VOS

#70 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:35 PM

Sorry, I have extra runs back to the SWS-8, forgot to mention that. This would have a separate run as well as the HR20 having a separate run. It would be just like the internet bridge setup.

#71 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:37 PM

Wait, I think I get it now! It is not the particular DECA adapter attached to it, it is the DECA signals in the whole system that make the HR20 have problems?

#72 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:40 PM

Wait, I think I get it now! It is not the particular DECA adapter attached to it, it is the DECA signals in the whole system that make the HR20 have problems?

Well sort of. All receivers on the SWiM, need to have the DECA Signal blocked from them. This is done either by a DECA or the filter.
A.K.A VOS

#73 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:43 PM

Ah so looks like I will just get the BSF and splitter then. I called D* and I can't get them, but solid signal has them so I will just order from there. Thanks!

Why is this anyway? Was the HR20-100 the earliest model and just created too long ago to expect something like we have today?

#74 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:47 PM

The HR20-700 was first, and it works just fine. Im guessing the -100 manufacturer took a short cut that no one caught until years later when they tried to use it, and found it wasnt working they way it should have.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#75 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 12:22 AM

Im guessing the -100 manufacturer took a short cut that no one caught until years later when they tried to use it, and found it wasnt working they way it should have.

Not sure I'd agree.
Whatever they used/designed for the input switching for SWiM, wasn't able to have the software control sending DC out SAT #1 in SWiM mode, like the other receivers. Not sure they even thought they needed to do this when it was designed.
A.K.A VOS

#76 OFFLINE   badgerdave

badgerdave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 01 June 2010 - 10:00 AM

Thanks so much for this. I had DTV do the official upgrade yesterday and the only box not really working with MRV is the HR20-100--the other three DVRs are fine. After I rebooted last night I saw the other DVRs and then as I'm trying to play something, they disapeared and I'm back to just what's on the host DVR. I'm going to check the techs work tonight with the drawings to see if I can avoid the swap. I used my credit for an HR24 so I just might have to spend the $200 for another one--it's darn nice.

On another note, the techs (or CSR) seemed unaware that I might be able to use some of my older equipment with a legacy port on the SWiM 16 so they replaced two additional boxes w/o charging me for them--and one was a H24 so no complaints on my end.
[B]Without music, life would be a mistake.[/B]
Sony KDS-R60XBR2 60" Microdisplay
HR22-100 w/AM21
Sony KV-34XBR910 34" HDTV
HR24-500
Panasonic Plasma 42"
HR21-700
Samsung 26" HDTV
HR24-500
Vizio 26" HDTV
H24-100
Samsung 19" Flat Screen 4:3 TV
R16-500
Slimline 5lnb dish with SWiM-16 and DECA
OTA antenna in attic feeding DC & Batlimore HD Channels to basement HDTV

#77 OFFLINE   eweiner1

eweiner1

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 08 June 2010 - 08:54 PM

I'm not sure if this has been explored, as it deals with ethernet (only) connectivity to Directv receivers, but I had moved about a year ago and wasn't able to get service reconnected, too many trees blocking the sky. I went with (gasp) Cablevision and had nothing but problems. Needless to say, the cable techs said that a lot of the problems were with existing cable in the premises and suggested that I home-run all cable (RJ-6u?) to a central point. While I was doing that I also ran ethernet wire to a different central point. (More on the ethernet wire later).

Needless to say, the home-runs didn't do anything to improve the cable reception. About 75 feet away was a satellite dish array. Directv was able to place a dish there, and used a SWiM system to get the signal back to my apartment.

Well it turns out that I got lucky in also running ethernet to all drops where I wanted cable outlets. I have four H21-200 receivers, one HR20-700 DVR and one HR21-700, all networked using the ethernet wiring. I am not using DECA connectivity and the system operates real well. As other posters pointed out, there is a 1-2 second lag when accessing recordings from other DVR's but that's something that I can live with. Hopefully the system will continue to operate without have to go to DECA.

IMHO Directv scored a homerun. I hope this is the "new" Directv given some of the "growing pains" that I've experienced over the last several years.

#78 OFFLINE   bearmur

bearmur

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 357 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 25 June 2010 - 12:23 PM

Does the HR20-700 need to be split to both inputs like the HR20-100 or does the internal splitter work?
Equipment:HR20-700, H24-100,H24-100,H21-200,HR20-700,SWIM Dish

#79 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,823 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 25 June 2010 - 12:28 PM

Does the HR20-700 need to be split to both inputs like the HR20-100 or does the internal splitter work?


HR20-700 is garden variety, vanilla install with a DECA unit. No special considerations are required.

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#80 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 41,618 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 June 2010 - 12:53 PM

Does the HR20-700 need to be split to both inputs like the HR20-100 or does the internal splitter work?


HR20-700 is garden variety, vanilla install with a DECA unit. No special considerations are required.

Or to say it another way [like the title of this thread] ONLY the HR20-100 needs this.
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall