Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Installers unprepared for MRV/DECA


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,200 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 16 May 2010 - 07:04 PM

And we both know his name.


His name is Mud in my book.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,975 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 May 2010 - 07:30 PM

His name is Mud in my book.


<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/953PkxFNiko&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/953PkxFNiko&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

#53 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,975 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 May 2010 - 07:33 PM

While I agree there are certainly some issues with the MRV roll out I think for the average customer it will be ok.

So far the major issues have been unsupported flags for people without DECA, and people who need SWM 16's. Both of these situations are in the minority. Unfortunately I'm in one of these camps as well and I'm predicting the tech to show up tomorrow without a SWM 16. However I would say that more people will be happy with their MRV situation than unhappy.

#54 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 16 May 2010 - 07:57 PM

Think about it, guys... D* hasn't started advertising 'Whole Home DVR' yet, hasn't even sent an email to customers talking about it. Their only public statement is on the website, and that's pretty low key. The only reason there was a feeding frenzy starting the 13th was that people here knew about it and created demands far above what D* could reasonably expect.

Yes, the CSRs and Techs need better training and documentation, and the supply chain isn't what it should be. But as others have said, it's only four days in. And MRV works, well (even for those of us with our own networks), and at a fair price.
:goodjob:

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#55 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 04:34 AM

dwcolvin,
They are most certainly advertising it - It was the biggest item on the D* homepage 30 seconds ago.

#56 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 06:20 AM

dwcolvin,
They are most certainly advertising it - It was the biggest item on the D* homepage 30 seconds ago.


But (without arguing over the size of the ad on the website), you have to go to the DirecTV website to see it. It's not in TV ads and hasn't been communicated to current subscribers (even the MRV Beta ones, AFAIK).

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#57 OFFLINE   CuriousG

CuriousG

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:35 AM

And MRV works, well (even for those of us with our own networks), and at a fair price.
:goodjob:


That last part is subjective. You could say "and at a low price". Personally, I don't consider charging an already paying customer additional money for a no-cost item "fair".

#58 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:50 AM

That last part is subjective. You could say "and at a low price". Personally, I don't consider charging an already paying customer additional money for a no-cost item "fair".


No cost? :confused:

There is considerable cost to designing, developing, testing, supporting and enhancing the firmware that enabled MRV. Yes, it's 'only' software. So? Then there's the engineering cost of developing DECA, which allows MRV for non-rocket scientist customers (and installers). And then there's the costs of documentation, training and support.

$3/month is dirt cheap, IMHO (just don't tell D* :D)

#59 OFFLINE   dhkinil

dhkinil

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 661 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:01 AM

That last part is subjective. You could say "and at a low price". Personally, I don't consider charging an already paying customer additional money for a no-cost item "fair".

well, I have two dvr's in one room and two other tvs connected to non dvr's. I can drop a non dvr and save $2 per month. Also from what I read I can also probably get a HR24 to replace one of my non dvr's and the whole thing done for ±$150. I won't be able to make one machine record from another, but if I manage my series links correctly that is a non issue and on the odd chance it isn't I can program from my computer in about two minutes or walk upstairs. No biggie. Seems pretty cheap to me.

Also, from reading everything, I figure, no need to do this for about four or five weeks.

Edited by dhkinil, 17 May 2010 - 09:02 AM.
bunch o' typos


#60 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:31 AM

well, I have two dvr's in one room and two other tvs connected to non dvr's. I can drop a non dvr and save $2 per month. Also from what I read I can also probably get a HR24 to replace one of my non dvr's and the whole thing done for ±$150. I won't be able to make one machine record from another, but if I manage my series links correctly that is a non issue and on the odd chance it isn't I can program from my computer in about two minutes or walk upstairs. No biggie. Seems pretty cheap to me.

Also, from reading everything, I figure, no need to do this for about four or five weeks.


You can schedule a recording on any HD DVR from any HD receiver. Many of us are hoping this function will be added to the DVRs as well after the MRV smoke clears (are you listening, D*? :))

Somehow, I think the number of multi-DVR households comes as a surprise to D* (which makes no sense, since they know every box at every account). :confused: Otherwise, they would have understood the demand for SWiM-16s.

#61 OFFLINE   Billzebub

Billzebub

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 638 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:52 AM

Installer just left and DECA working great. H24 added to replace R15 at no charge. I've ordered an HR24 from Solid Signal and I'll use it to replace the H24 when it arrives. Installer initially didn’t believe that the regular DECA unit could be used to connect to my network, but after a phone call to DIRECTV he was convinced. Thanks to this site my system is up and running and the installer now knows how to connect to the network for his next customer.

#62 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,214 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 17 May 2010 - 12:21 PM

No cost? :confused:

There is considerable cost to designing, developing, testing, supporting and enhancing the firmware that enabled MRV. Yes, it's 'only' software. So? Then there's the engineering cost of developing DECA, which allows MRV for non-rocket scientist customers (and installers). And then there's the costs of documentation, training and support.

$3/month is dirt cheap, IMHO (just don't tell D* :D)


While that is true, I tend to believe that is the kind of stuff the $7/month DVR fees should have been used to pay for. This is just an extension of the DVR function, which otherwise hasn't changed in years, so what is that $7/month paying for?

#63 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,133 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 12:41 PM

This ship has sailed.
the cost is going to stay.
I don't like it either, but the "net gains" are staggering for DirecTV and they've already "done the math" to justify they can charge for it.
18 million customers
60% have HD service.
$3/month from how many before they're adding 1 million a month to their bottom line?
A.K.A VOS

#64 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 654 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 12:45 PM

I think the cost is dirt cheap....
$3 is about right...

#65 OFFLINE   dhkinil

dhkinil

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 661 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:42 PM

You can schedule a recording on any HD DVR from any HD receiver. Many of us are hoping this function will be added to the DVRs as well after the MRV smoke clears (are you listening, D*? :))

Somehow, I think the number of multi-DVR households comes as a surprise to D* (which makes no sense, since they know every box at every account). :confused: Otherwise, they would have understood the demand for SWiM-16s.


no, when they get done will have three dvr's and nothing else.

#66 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:56 PM

DirecTV has always understocked high-dollar, relatively low-demand items.

Since the beginning, SWM8 switches and SWM expanders have been in very short supply and never enough to meet the demand. SWM16s will actually be in greater demand, since there are no work-arounds for 9-16 tuners and DECA, but given their price, they'll be even harder to get ahold of.

And given their cost, HSPs wait until the last minute to order them, only to have them on allocation (i.e., you only get a fraction of what you ordered), and so you'll be a week or two into the rollout and still have techs that have never seen the item in person, much less know how to install it or troubleshoot it.

Training is expensive, and big companies hate to pay for it, because they either eat the cost or have to pass it on to their customers. Training also means taking techs out of the field, which is always hard to do.

But it's the old Catch-22. Customers "in the know" demand the product NOW, even if it's not ready, and the Marketing department is right there with them. Yet engineering, training, and admin wants more time to test and prepare. Somebody has to make a decision, and no matter which decision is made, someone isn't going to be happy.

#67 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,594 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 May 2010 - 11:44 PM

But it's the old Catch-22. Customers "in the know" demand the product NOW, even if it's not ready, and the Marketing department is right there with them.


In this specific case, I would be most happy to wait awhile. Unfortunately, DirecTV has placed an arbitrary deadline of May 20th on me. I don't have a choice (and I don't want to lose MRV capability that I currently have).

What's really crappy in my case is that (1) I have Total Choice +HDDVR, so I can't even get it setup without having to change to the unbundled package for an extra $1 a month and (B) I already have DECA on all of my DVRs (but lack it on my H21). I have 9 tuners (with the H21 being on a WB68 and the others on SWM). So to get MRV activated I need an SWM16, my programming package changed (at a recurring monthly cost to me), an installation, and all this has to happen in just a couple of days. Yeah, right.

#68 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:43 AM

those unhappy with $3 per account (and I am one) should feel lucky it did not go the original price route of per receiver.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#69 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:01 AM

those unhappy with $3 per account (and I am one) should feel lucky it did not go the original price route of per receiver.


Is that what they first announced then changed it? If it were per receiver they would have virtually zero takers.

#70 OFFLINE   CuriousG

CuriousG

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:50 AM

What's really crappy in my case is that (1) I have Total Choice +HDDVR, so I can't even get it setup without having to change to the unbundled package for an extra $1 a month....


FYI, I was able to keep my legacy package when I activated MRV this past weekend. The CSR did have to switch me over to the newer package in order to get the MRV authorized on the account, but then had a supervisor switch it back to the legacy package.

#71 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,145 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:53 AM

those unhappy with $3 per account (and I am one) should feel lucky it did not go the original price route of per receiver.


Actually this is what I was quoted yesterday when I activated the service after the tech installed the equipment. The CSR told me it was per receiver.

#72 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:55 AM

reading your previous post are you saying that the installer connected one of your DVRs to your home network? The reason I ask is that a Tech at D* told me yesterday when I was trying to order MRV that they would not connect to my home net but that it was a requirement that at least one of the DVRs must be connected.

#73 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,133 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:21 AM

reading your previous post are you saying that the installer connected one of your DVRs to your home network? The reason I ask is that a Tech at D* told me yesterday when I was trying to order MRV that they would not connect to my home net but that it was a requirement that at least one of the DVRs must be connected.

this is a bit :confused:

What needs/should happen:
Each receiver gets connected to the DECA network and they install one more DECA to bridge to your home network.
A.K.A VOS

#74 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:26 AM

Veryoldschool, Thanks for the reply, this is what I was thinking but yet he told me that was my responsibility and they could not process the order unless I was connected to my home network, he also could not tell me whether that connection should be deca or cat 5, I guess I will do the keep calling until I get somebody who knows routine, I also sent an e-mail to solid signal to see if they can help but have nt heard back from them yet.

#75 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,133 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:33 AM

Veryoldschool, Thanks for the reply, this is what I was thinking but yet he told me that was my responsibility and they could not process the order unless I was connected to my home network, he also could not tell me whether that connection should be deca or cat 5, I guess I will do the keep calling until I get somebody who knows routine, I also sent an e-mail to solid signal to see if they can help but have nt heard back from them yet.

"The deal is" the installer isn't going to "mess with" your network.
The installer should/must setup a DECA at/near the router and find an open port on your router.
He should ask you to check your internet access [go to google :lol:].
He should next plug in the cable to the router and ask you to check your internet again.
If it works, he's done.
If it doesn't work, he unplugs your DECA to router cable, and then tells you to fix it. He's now done.
See how this might sound like what you were told?
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...