Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How did your "Connected Home" installation go?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
193 replies to this topic

Poll: How did your "Connected Home" install go? (160 member(s) have cast votes)

How did your "Connected Home" install go?

  1. Everything was installed ontime without any problem (68 votes [42.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 42.50%

  2. Installation was cancelled/delayed due to parts being unavailable (26 votes [16.25%])

    Percentage of vote: 16.25%

  3. Installation was attempted but was stopped due to problem (5 votes [3.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

  4. Something not listed and I've provided details in a post. (24 votes [15.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.00%

  5. Installation was completed but there were many problems/issues that installer ran into (37 votes [23.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 23.12%

Vote

#26 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:08 AM

tfederov, Have a great vacation day.:rolleyes:

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:13 AM

Something Else: I had set up the install for Sunday 12-4. The install was to include replacing one of my HR20's with a HR24. The installer arrived at the end of the 12-4 window. I asked him if this was his first install and he said yes. He had just completed the class a couple of weeks ago, then went on vacation, and came back to this install. He took a look around to see what I had (3xHR20-700's, 1xWB68, and 1xAU9 Slimline, I believe (has 4 cables coming from the switch on the back of the dish)). He didn't say much except that he had to call his supervisor. After about 40 mins, I went out and asked him where we were on this install and he said we were on track. He was prepping the DECA modules when I met up with him. I asked him if I could help, like setting up the HR24 replacement. He said that he didn't have an HR24 on his work order. I said, "Then there's gonna be a problem." He said that all of my HR20's were compatible with DECA and I responded that was not the issue. I said that the DirecTV CSR promised an HR24, I agreed to a 2-yr commitment for the HR24 and there should be an HR24 in the mix. I called DirecTV and verified that there was no HR24 in the order. The tech called some order support line and I spoke with someone who repeated that the HR20's were compatible so there shouldn't be an issue. He also said that he could include a HR2x in the order for an additional $99. He couldn't get a HR24 and the HR23 would be the best he could do. I said that I could get that deal any day of the week and I had only agreed to this upgrade at this price since it included a HR24. So I canceled the install. I will be calling DirecTV today to discuss another install.

He also wanted to replace the switch on my dish to a SWM switch. Is this really necessary?
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#28 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,214 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:18 AM

...

He also wanted to replace the switch on my dish to a SWM switch. Is this really necessary?


Yes, you need SWM to use DECA.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#29 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:27 AM

Yes, you need SWM to use DECA.


Your whole adventure is the fault of the initial CSR contact. You were never eligible for a free HR24 upgrade and one would never be generated on the install order given your current setup. Sorry man.

#30 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:29 AM

tfederov, Have a great vacation day.:rolleyes:


Heck, I'm going to catch up on email from home and at least try not to drown when I go back into the office tomorrow. :)
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#31 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:32 AM

Heck, I'm going to catch up on email from home and at least try not to drown when I go back into the office tomorrow. :)


Sorry to hear that.

#32 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:33 AM

Yes, you need SWM to use DECA.

I understand that he needed to upgrade my WB68 multiswitch to a SWM8 byt did he need to change out the switch on the back of my dish too?

Your whole adventure is the fault of the initial CSR contact. You were never eligible for a free HR24 upgrade and one would never be generated on the install order given your current setup. Sorry man.

You're right. A HR24 upgrade was not mandatory, but the CSR did, supposedly, put it into the order and it should have been there. If there was a change to the order, I should have been notified before the tech showed up and wasted everyone's time.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#33 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,214 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:35 AM

I understand that he needed to upgrade my WB68 multiswitch to a SWM8 byt did he need to change out the switch on the back of my dish too?


He could either do a SWM LNB with correct splitters or a SWM8.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#34 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,094 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:35 AM

Something Else: Install window had been set for Saturday between 12-4, the sub of a sub(D*>MASTEC>yet another sub) arrived an hour & 1/2 behind schedule. He came without the 2-way splitter, so he ended coming back today with it. Now everything is hooked up, but he wasn't able to stick around to see it through as he had other obligations. My DVRs aren't seeing one another. DECA module connected to the top Ethernet jack(all lights are GREEN) on my HR20-100 with the BSF. Here are some screen caps:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Is the above splitter even approved for use with D* DECA application?

Posted Image

Additionally, under Network Services, when it defaults to "ConfigurationType" with Automatic selected & i hit "Connect Now" it says> starting network services>then it goes to "Unable to Start Network Services" error code <301>

<Multi-Room
a) Share Playlist=YES
B) Status:
1. Multi-Room=Authorized
2. No networked DVRs Found


You didn't mention your pre-existing network, but your DVR shouldn't be getting a 16.8.25.x ip (unless you work / live with HP!)

Can you give us more details on your internet connection and router?

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#35 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,338 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:37 AM

You didn't mention your pre-existing network, but your DVR shouldn't be getting a 16.8.25.x ip (unless you work / live with HP!)

Can you give us more details on your internet connection and router?

That bottom photo shows no default gateway or DNS IP - that would make finding any Internet pretty much impossible. The correct network setup is required.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#36 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:37 AM

Your whole adventure is the fault of the initial CSR contact. You were never eligible for a free HR24 upgrade and one would never be generated on the install order given your current setup. Sorry man.


Even if the CSR had ordered an HD DVR the tech didn't have an HR24 so he would have just installed the HD DVR that he had.

#37 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:38 AM

He could either do a SWM LNB with correct splitters or a SWM8.

Exactly my thinking. Since I do have, currently, 8 drops across 5 rooms (not all drops have receivers connected to them) that he would leave my dish alone and just swap out the multiswitch for a SWM8.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#38 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:42 AM

Even if the CSR had ordered an HD DVR the tech didn't have an HR24 so he would have just installed the HD DVR that he had.

The tech said that IF the CSR had noted in the tech notes that a HR24 was to be installed, he would have pulled a HR24 off the shelf and put it into his truck. Now, if there was no HR24 "on the shelf", I don't know what would have happened. I would hope that he would say that the install/upgrade would have to be rescheduled until a HR24 appeared on the shelf.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#39 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,474 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:48 AM

I just looked it up online for me and got this
You're not eligible for this product. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-531-5000.

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-700

HR24-100

H25-100

Denon AVR-X2000

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360

Xboxone

IMAC 21.5
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#40 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,723 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:50 AM

I just looked it up online for me and got this
You're not eligible for this product. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-531-5000.

I saw that on my account the other day, even after my "Connected Home" installation was complete and working! I noticed the message was gone today.

My package was the grandfathered "TC+Locals". I set up my install by phone with a CSR.
/steve

#41 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:50 AM

That's what I had too. I believe they need to activate it over the phone.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#42 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,094 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:55 AM

That bottom photo shows no default gateway or DNS IP - that would make finding any Internet pretty much impossible. The correct network setup is required.


Yes, Steve reminded me that this is probably the 160.254.8.x address that's self assigned (no DHCP server) - thus no Internet connection.

While I tested that months (a year?) ago, I didn't remember it being a Class B address.

And also no reason to blank it out for the photo!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#43 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 654 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 11:37 AM

I called on Friday to schedule the MRV install. They said they could do Monday. Sweet! I arrange time off from work and get my receivers ready for the install.

Monday morning came and I got a call from the installer. They don't have the parts in stock! This was expected from what I've been reading in the internet forums but still disappointing. DIRECTV launches MRV apparently without being prepared in the least!. Instead of shipping the equipment and letting me install it, I now have to take ANOTHER day off and hope that they bring everything I need!

I'm very disappointed that I was charged over a hundred bucks plus three dollars a month so I can lose two days of vacation. I was hoping to spend my vacation somewhere else but it looks like that somewhere else will be my house.

"I'm sorry" won't get my days back nor will it replace the money I've given DIRECTV. "We regret the inconvenience" won't even scratch the surface. I'd love to see how they'd react if they had to lose vacation days over something you spent money on and didn't get anything to show for it on the day it was expected.

I talked to a very nice CSR who helped me out and also have been talking to the install company as they try to get the parts in today still but none of that should have had to happen if everyone was prepared on day one.


Consistency is good. I had the exact same experience.
I even spoke to the installation company this morning and made sure they knew that I needed an SWM-16. Sent the installer anyway without one.

Out of work today.
And another day to come.

Disgraceful to treat long standing customers this way. Of course when the 20th rolls around I am sure they will turn off MRV.

#44 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,185 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 12:57 PM

Everything self-installed, no issues:lol:

Activation took two phone calls but wasn't effective until a few hours after the second call:confused:

#45 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:12 PM

Just got the automated message call saying tech will be here in an hour will post an update to see if I'm in with the no swm 16 in stock club. Tech just called he used the last SWM 16 they had on his last job due to a customer changing their order once he got there. I had to reschedule but at least he didn't say 2 SWM 8's would work.

Edited by Shades228, 17 May 2010 - 01:34 PM.


#46 OFFLINE   dem

dem

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:29 PM

Posted Image

Is the above splitter even approved for use with D* DECA application?

Isn't the SWM control channel at 2.3 MHz? That splitter looks like a bad idea.
Dave

#47 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,088 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:39 PM

Isn't the SWM control channel at 2.3 MHz? That splitter looks like a bad idea.

While it isn't "a good idea", it also isn't the problem either.
The receiver has good SAT signals, good DECA LEDs and is having problems with its network configuration. This pretty much is in the receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#48 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:47 PM

Something Else: I had set up the install for Sunday 12-4. The install was to include replacing one of my HR20's with a HR24. The installer arrived at the end of the 12-4 window. I asked him if this was his first install and he said yes. He had just completed the class a couple of weeks ago, then went on vacation, and came back to this install. He took a look around to see what I had (3xHR20-700's, 1xWB68, and 1xAU9 Slimline, I believe (has 4 cables coming from the switch on the back of the dish)). He didn't say much except that he had to call his supervisor. After about 40 mins, I went out and asked him where we were on this install and he said we were on track. He was prepping the DECA modules when I met up with him. I asked him if I could help, like setting up the HR24 replacement. He said that he didn't have an HR24 on his work order. I said, "Then there's gonna be a problem." He said that all of my HR20's were compatible with DECA and I responded that was not the issue. I said that the DirecTV CSR promised an HR24, I agreed to a 2-yr commitment for the HR24 and there should be an HR24 in the mix. I called DirecTV and verified that there was no HR24 in the order. The tech called some order support line and I spoke with someone who repeated that the HR20's were compatible so there shouldn't be an issue. He also said that he could include a HR2x in the order for an additional $99. He couldn't get a HR24 and the HR23 would be the best he could do. I said that I could get that deal any day of the week and I had only agreed to this upgrade at this price since it included a HR24. So I canceled the install. I will be calling DirecTV today to discuss another install.

He also wanted to replace the switch on my dish to a SWM switch. Is this really necessary?


Wow, this reads like I typed it. I had the exact same experience. I, however, let the install proceed, and called DIRECTV back to discuss the lack of the HR24. The agreed it should have been included, and set up another appointment for this morning to install that and to correct an incomplete WHDVR install. Tech arrives today sans HR24. Another call to DIRECTV and they are willing to send me one for $99, and they can't guarantee it will be a 24. I say no thanks. I called back a while later and spoke with sevral people, and now have another appointment for Wednesday for the installation of an HR24. Fingers crossed....

#49 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:48 PM

Wow, this reads like I typed it. I had the exact same experience. I, however, let the install proceed, and called DIRECTV back to discuss the lack of the HR24. The agreed it should have been included, and set up another appointment for this morning to install that and to correct an incomplete WHDVR install. Tech arrives today sans HR24. Another call to DIRECTV and they are willing to send me one for $99, and they can't guarantee it will be a 24. I say no thanks. I called back a while later and spoke with sevral people, and now have another appointment for Wednesday for the installation of an HR24. Fingers crossed....


Bottom line, a CSR should not be promising Hx24s.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#50 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:58 PM

Bottom line, a CSR should not be promising Hx24s.


+1

Also people should not feel entitled to one either.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...