Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How did your "Connected Home" installation go?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
193 replies to this topic

Poll: How did your "Connected Home" install go? (160 member(s) have cast votes)

How did your "Connected Home" install go?

  1. Everything was installed ontime without any problem (68 votes [42.50%])

    Percentage of vote: 42.50%

  2. Installation was cancelled/delayed due to parts being unavailable (26 votes [16.25%])

    Percentage of vote: 16.25%

  3. Installation was attempted but was stopped due to problem (5 votes [3.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

  4. Something not listed and I've provided details in a post. (24 votes [15.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.00%

  5. Installation was completed but there were many problems/issues that installer ran into (37 votes [23.12%])

    Percentage of vote: 23.12%

Vote

#21 OFFLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,700 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:23 AM

My installation was done last Friday, and it did get completed that morning, but not without some equipment issues. I needed a SWM16 since I have nine tuners, and when the installer called that morning to say he was coming, I told him so. He seemed surprised, and said he would have to check with someone and call me back.

Instead of calling back, he showed up an hour later. He didn't have a SWM16 because his boss wanted him to verify that my job required one. It took 30 seconds for him to see where my two WB68s were located and to verify that I had nine lines coming out of them. He called his boss to confirm the SWM16 was necessary, and then waited an hour in his van for another installer to deliver the SWM16!

After that things went reasonably well. The guy who delivered the SWM16 helped the first guy complete the installation. In their haste to finish they forgot to connect the four feeds from the LNB to the SWM16. That resulted in all the receivers showing SFSS for a couple of minutes. But while they were running around tightening the connections on the DECAs, I went to the SWM16 and immediately saw the problem. They both had sheepish looks on their faces when I pointed out the problem.

From the time the first guy arrived until they both left took about two hours, but half that was waiting time. It wasn't a smooth install, but not a disaster either. I voted for number 4 in the poll.
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:35 AM

As I posted Saturday, first the tech tried convincing me that my both my HR20-700 and HR-100 units weren't compatible with MRV. The 'market manager' on the phone eventually talked me into letting them replace my HR20-100 with a HR24 to simplify the install. Ok, if you must.;)

However, they didn't have a power inserter to power the DECA at the router so they did nothing because they would lose money if they left the job incomplete.

They're supposed to come back Wednesday.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#23 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,459 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:58 AM

As I posted Saturday, first the tech tried convincing me that my both my HR20-700 and HR-100 units weren't compatible with MRV. The 'market manager' on the phone eventually talked me into letting them replace my HR20-100 with a HR24 to simplify the install. Ok, if you must.;)

However, they didn't have a power inserter to power the DECA at the router so they did nothing because they would lose money if they left the job incomplete.

They're supposed to come back Wednesday.

Hopefully they won't have it figured out by then, and you'll still get those 24's! Fingers-crossed.
/steve

#24 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:28 AM

Hopefully they won't have it figured out by then, and you'll still get those 24's! Fingers-crossed.

Yeah, I keep thinking they might change their minds.;)
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#25 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:03 AM

I called on Friday to schedule the MRV install. They said they could do Monday. Sweet! I arrange time off from work and get my receivers ready for the install.

Monday morning came and I got a call from the installer. They don't have the parts in stock! This was expected from what I've been reading in the internet forums but still disappointing. DIRECTV launches MRV apparently without being prepared in the least!. Instead of shipping the equipment and letting me install it, I now have to take ANOTHER day off and hope that they bring everything I need!

I'm very disappointed that I was charged over a hundred bucks plus three dollars a month so I can lose two days of vacation. I was hoping to spend my vacation somewhere else but it looks like that somewhere else will be my house.

"I'm sorry" won't get my days back nor will it replace the money I've given DIRECTV. "We regret the inconvenience" won't even scratch the surface. I'd love to see how they'd react if they had to lose vacation days over something you spent money on and didn't get anything to show for it on the day it was expected.

I talked to a very nice CSR who helped me out and also have been talking to the install company as they try to get the parts in today still but none of that should have had to happen if everyone was prepared on day one.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#26 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,227 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:08 AM

tfederov, Have a great vacation day.:rolleyes:

#27 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:13 AM

Something Else: I had set up the install for Sunday 12-4. The install was to include replacing one of my HR20's with a HR24. The installer arrived at the end of the 12-4 window. I asked him if this was his first install and he said yes. He had just completed the class a couple of weeks ago, then went on vacation, and came back to this install. He took a look around to see what I had (3xHR20-700's, 1xWB68, and 1xAU9 Slimline, I believe (has 4 cables coming from the switch on the back of the dish)). He didn't say much except that he had to call his supervisor. After about 40 mins, I went out and asked him where we were on this install and he said we were on track. He was prepping the DECA modules when I met up with him. I asked him if I could help, like setting up the HR24 replacement. He said that he didn't have an HR24 on his work order. I said, "Then there's gonna be a problem." He said that all of my HR20's were compatible with DECA and I responded that was not the issue. I said that the DirecTV CSR promised an HR24, I agreed to a 2-yr commitment for the HR24 and there should be an HR24 in the mix. I called DirecTV and verified that there was no HR24 in the order. The tech called some order support line and I spoke with someone who repeated that the HR20's were compatible so there shouldn't be an issue. He also said that he could include a HR2x in the order for an additional $99. He couldn't get a HR24 and the HR23 would be the best he could do. I said that I could get that deal any day of the week and I had only agreed to this upgrade at this price since it included a HR24. So I canceled the install. I will be calling DirecTV today to discuss another install.

He also wanted to replace the switch on my dish to a SWM switch. Is this really necessary?
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#28 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,844 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:18 AM

...

He also wanted to replace the switch on my dish to a SWM switch. Is this really necessary?


Yes, you need SWM to use DECA.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#29 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,227 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:27 AM

Yes, you need SWM to use DECA.


Your whole adventure is the fault of the initial CSR contact. You were never eligible for a free HR24 upgrade and one would never be generated on the install order given your current setup. Sorry man.

#30 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:29 AM

tfederov, Have a great vacation day.:rolleyes:


Heck, I'm going to catch up on email from home and at least try not to drown when I go back into the office tomorrow. :)
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#31 OFFLINE   Hdhead

Hdhead

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,227 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:32 AM

Heck, I'm going to catch up on email from home and at least try not to drown when I go back into the office tomorrow. :)


Sorry to hear that.

#32 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:33 AM

Yes, you need SWM to use DECA.

I understand that he needed to upgrade my WB68 multiswitch to a SWM8 byt did he need to change out the switch on the back of my dish too?

Your whole adventure is the fault of the initial CSR contact. You were never eligible for a free HR24 upgrade and one would never be generated on the install order given your current setup. Sorry man.

You're right. A HR24 upgrade was not mandatory, but the CSR did, supposedly, put it into the order and it should have been there. If there was a change to the order, I should have been notified before the tech showed up and wasted everyone's time.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#33 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,844 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:35 AM

I understand that he needed to upgrade my WB68 multiswitch to a SWM8 byt did he need to change out the switch on the back of my dish too?


He could either do a SWM LNB with correct splitters or a SWM8.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#34 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,228 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:35 AM

Something Else: Install window had been set for Saturday between 12-4, the sub of a sub(D*>MASTEC>yet another sub) arrived an hour & 1/2 behind schedule. He came without the 2-way splitter, so he ended coming back today with it. Now everything is hooked up, but he wasn't able to stick around to see it through as he had other obligations. My DVRs aren't seeing one another. DECA module connected to the top Ethernet jack(all lights are GREEN) on my HR20-100 with the BSF. Here are some screen caps:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Is the above splitter even approved for use with D* DECA application?

Posted Image

Additionally, under Network Services, when it defaults to "ConfigurationType" with Automatic selected & i hit "Connect Now" it says> starting network services>then it goes to "Unable to Start Network Services" error code <301>

<Multi-Room
a) Share Playlist=YES
B) Status:
1. Multi-Room=Authorized
2. No networked DVRs Found


You didn't mention your pre-existing network, but your DVR shouldn't be getting a 16.8.25.x ip (unless you work / live with HP!)

Can you give us more details on your internet connection and router?

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#35 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,623 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:37 AM

You didn't mention your pre-existing network, but your DVR shouldn't be getting a 16.8.25.x ip (unless you work / live with HP!)

Can you give us more details on your internet connection and router?

That bottom photo shows no default gateway or DNS IP - that would make finding any Internet pretty much impossible. The correct network setup is required.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#36 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:37 AM

Your whole adventure is the fault of the initial CSR contact. You were never eligible for a free HR24 upgrade and one would never be generated on the install order given your current setup. Sorry man.


Even if the CSR had ordered an HD DVR the tech didn't have an HR24 so he would have just installed the HD DVR that he had.

#37 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:38 AM

He could either do a SWM LNB with correct splitters or a SWM8.

Exactly my thinking. Since I do have, currently, 8 drops across 5 rooms (not all drops have receivers connected to them) that he would leave my dish alone and just swap out the multiswitch for a SWM8.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#38 OFFLINE   judson_west

judson_west

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:42 AM

Even if the CSR had ordered an HD DVR the tech didn't have an HR24 so he would have just installed the HD DVR that he had.

The tech said that IF the CSR had noted in the tech notes that a HR24 was to be installed, he would have pulled a HR24 off the shelf and put it into his truck. Now, if there was no HR24 "on the shelf", I don't know what would have happened. I would hope that he would say that the install/upgrade would have to be rescheduled until a HR24 appeared on the shelf.
Video/Audio 1: DirecTV HR24-500 (HDMI)-> Sony STR-DA5200ES -> Sony KDL-52XBR9
Video/Audio 2: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-32EX500
Video/Audio 3: DirecTV HR20-700 (HDMI) -> Sony KDL-40EX500

#39 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,461 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:48 AM

I just looked it up online for me and got this
You're not eligible for this product. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-531-5000.

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HD-A30 w/ Harmony 880
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-200

HR24-100

H25-100

Marantz NR1603 A/V 7.1

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#40 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,459 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 10:50 AM

I just looked it up online for me and got this
You're not eligible for this product. Please call Customer Service at 1-800-531-5000.

I saw that on my account the other day, even after my "Connected Home" installation was complete and working! I noticed the message was gone today.

My package was the grandfathered "TC+Locals". I set up my install by phone with a CSR.
/steve




spam firewall