Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Absolute Minimalist MRV using Ethernet


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ted M

Ted M

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2010

Posted 17 May 2010 - 06:38 AM

I have an HR24 (coming today) and an HR23.

Do not want to connect to my slow satellite Internet.
Nor do I want to use Media Share, VOD, etc.

What is the most simple way to get MRV using the Ethernet ports, and not use DECA?

Would just connecting a CAT6 cable between an Ethernet port on each DVR work? Then call D* to get the unsupported MRV?

Thank you,

Ted

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   paragon

paragon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 06:58 AM

I have an HR24 (coming today) and an HR23.

Do not want to connect to my slow satellite Internet.
Nor do I want to use Media Share, VOD, etc.

What is the most simple way to get MRV using the Ethernet ports, and not use DECA?

Would just connecting a CAT6 cable between an Ethernet port on each DVR work? Then call D* to get the unsupported MRV?

Thank you,

Ted


That should work, you *may* need a crossover ethernet cable. I am not sure how DIRECTV's boxes are set up in that regard. Hopefully someone else can chime in on that. Of course, since one box is an HR24, you would only need 1 DECA in order to get MRV over coax (assuming you already have SWM).

#3 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,162 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:13 AM

A direct ethernet connection will work, if that's all you want.

If you want a coax connection, and assuming you have a SWiM-based system, you can use one DECA module for the HR23 and your existing coax wiring.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#4 OFFLINE   Ted M

Ted M

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2010

Posted 17 May 2010 - 07:20 AM

Thanks for the replies.

Forgot to mention, I have a non-SWiM setup.

Ted

#5 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,106 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:03 AM

A crossover cable is not required.

#6 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,662 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 08:23 AM

Would just connecting a CAT6 cable between an Ethernet port on each DVR work? Then call D* to get the unsupported MRV? [...]

That would be ideal from an MRV "purist" standpoint.

You could even connect them both to a $15 10/100 switch and it would work just as well. A switch would also allow you to add more boxes to your "dedicated" MRV cloud as well.
/steve

#7 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:07 AM

If you did do a direct connection between DVRs, would you still need to enable MRV with DirecTV? Probably yes!
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#8 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,662 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:10 AM

If you did do a direct connection between DVRs, would you still need to enable MRV with DirecTV? Probably yes!

I'd say for sure.
/steve

#9 OFFLINE   larryk

larryk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 17 May 2010 - 09:10 AM

Yes...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...