Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Connected Home Installation Images (closed)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
50 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   banditsf

banditsf

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2010

Posted 29 September 2010 - 06:40 PM

I have this after 6 weeks

Attached Thumbnails

  • MRV.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   tazzboo

tazzboo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2008

Posted 27 October 2010 - 05:56 PM

I added another DVR in my house and well I just didn't have enough ports on the 6x8 to cover four DVRS and one Standard reciever. I now have one HR24-500, Three HR22-100 and one D12. This is how they hooked up my equipment for all of you guys to look at. Just so you know Three of the wires are not being used that are on the 1x8 splitters they are left over second feeds to three of the DVR's. I just simply terminated them at the wall plate. I have been looking at other installs and well they all seem to be using the 29v power grey box. Mine is the Black box what is the difference?

Attached Thumbnails

  • sat instal 1.jpg
  • sat instal2.jpg


#28 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 158 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 20 November 2010 - 03:29 PM

This is what VOS came up with for my setup.

Errol

Attached Thumbnails

  • SWM4.jpg

Edited by rayxxxle, 10 December 2010 - 09:47 AM.

HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#29 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 November 2010 - 11:59 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1290621499

Attached Thumbnails

  • Splitter combo.gif

A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   Kev4Bama

Kev4Bama

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2010

Posted 09 January 2011 - 10:59 AM

Finally got a chance to do my SWM install Using SWM-16



Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by Kev4Bama, 12 February 2011 - 10:13 AM.

HR23-700 ,H21-200, H24-700, Genie H44-700 AU9-SL3 Dish
SWM-16 , DECA network hooked to internet, WHDVR/MRV

Tailgate Setup: AU9-SL3 on 3' Tripod, H21-200
runs on Legacy port of SWM-16 when not at the game.


#31 OFFLINE   ekgermann

ekgermann

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2008

Posted 12 January 2011 - 06:37 PM

Here's my SWM16/DECA rebuild:

Posted Image

SL5 on the roof

On left, Sonora Slope Compensator, Amp and Polarity Locker top to bottom, loops around at the bottom to the input of the SWM16. Lower right is the PI for the SWM box. Broadband DECA to Internet on above the SWM16, then the 4 port greenlabel splitters.

2 HR-21's
4 R22's
1 H21

4 are DECA, rest will be when the remaining 3 DECA adapters get here.

Other than same legacy compression connectors on the main feeds coming from the dish, all compression connectors. Someday I'll rebuild that too, but all signals are 95+

EKG

#32 OFFLINE   MetalMarine

MetalMarine

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2011

Posted 19 February 2011 - 01:46 PM

here is my setup for getting internet to ps3 via swm.

MRV still works.

No lag on the ps3. plays games and video chats are great.

Posted Image
H24-100 w/ am21
HR24-100 w/ am21
HR24-200 w/ am21
HR24-500 w/ am21
SWiM 5 LNB

Also have PS3 connected through the SWiM network to stream internet to it. Works great. no problems gaming or video chatting.

#33 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2011 - 12:18 PM

These aren't installation images, but the two coax network test screens of the H25:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299349056

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299349056

Here they are from a HR24:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299350833
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299350833

Attached Thumbnails

  • Coax test 1.png
  • Coax test 2.png
  • 24coax test1.png
  • 24coaxtest2.png

Edited by veryoldschool, 05 March 2011 - 12:48 PM.

A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 08 May 2011 - 03:27 PM

Here is my DECA setup.

I got rid of a lot of Coax with this new configuration.

The video quality is amazing.

Attached Thumbnails

  • My Directv setup.png

Edited by tbolt, 09 May 2011 - 01:48 PM.


#35 OFFLINE   Buehlar

Buehlar

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2011

Posted 10 July 2011 - 09:22 PM

This is how I plan on setting mine up.
Would the part highlighted in yellow work? Any advice/opinions welcome.

Attached Thumbnails

  • My Directv setup 2.png


#36 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 July 2011 - 11:26 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1310680751

Edited by veryoldschool, 04 October 2011 - 02:17 PM.

A.K.A VOS

#37 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 July 2011 - 11:44 AM

Is that the way you set it up? I assumed it could replace my current original white DECA box where it's on it's own coax.

This device has several options to be hooked up.
I'm using it just like a BB DECA, and not using the pass through it has [terminated output].
Another way is to use it as "a replacement" for a white DECA connected to a receiver, "BUT" you also need to use a BSF. So you connect it in "pass through" mode, with ethernet to the receiver and a BSF on the SAT input.
You can also use it without DECA as a wireless adapter too.
Very flexible. :)

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1311788989

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1311788989

^ now you can replace the DECA with a BSF and connect the ethernet to the DECAW.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Capture5.PNG
  • Capture6.PNG

Edited by veryoldschool, 27 July 2011 - 11:51 AM.

A.K.A VOS

#38 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 August 2011 - 10:39 AM

If you have one shorter cable run and have four receivers, plus the BB DECA, this may give you a stronger signal than using an 8-way splitter:

http://www.dbstalk.c...44&d=1313684505
A.K.A VOS

#39 OFFLINE   sonofcool

sonofcool

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2007

Posted 01 October 2011 - 02:16 PM

Inspired by this post by daniellee and with a ton of great direction from VeryOldSchool (aka "VOS"), I rewired the DirecTV portion of my wiring closet:

http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=26719&stc=1&d=1317499087


The DirecTV installation used to just hang off various places on the structured wiring cabinet. The whole install is a lot cleaner now. Having said that, as I'm posting this picture I see that I need some longer patch cables to make a neater installation:

http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=26720&stc=1&d=1317499729

Attached Thumbnails

  • DirecTV Wiring Web2.jpg
  • Wiring Console Web2.jpg


#40 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:20 PM

How to only use a 4-way splitter and have four receiver and internet:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319570397

Attached Thumbnails

  • My setup.png

A.K.A VOS

#41 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:50 PM

How to only use a 4-way splitter and have four receiver and internet:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319570397

Might as well show off the DECA performance:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319572165
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319572165

Attached Thumbnails

  • Coax loss.png
  • coax MESH.png

A.K.A VOS

#42 OFFLINE   rdalrymple

rdalrymple

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 27 October 2011 - 02:26 PM

Went from SL5 LNB/WB68 to SL3 SWiM LNB & MRV. With some patience & shopping, I bought everything I needed (LNB, PI, BS Filter & DECAs) off eBay over a 2 week period for less than $100 delivered. I cleaned up a bunch wiring and did a (I believe) neater install than a "pro" install would have netted. MRV is working flawlessly so far after a relatively easy call to activate it a week ago.

MRV Setup.jpg

#43 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,201 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 October 2011 - 11:00 AM

The PI has a capacitor to block DC, which can cause some problems with the SAT signal from the SWiM and the DECA signal from the receivers.
The SWM8 as a minimum 15' coax for the PI to resolve this poor RF match of the DC block. DECA also seems to have the same issue.
Adding a longer length of coax or a splitter over comes this problem.
While terminations are good to use, they also are just wasting signal power into a resistor, so it's better configure the system so the least terminations are needed.

Here is one way to position the PI so it has a splitter between it and the DECAs:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319570397

I've added to the bulletin images for the 24s and their DECA problem with a PI, to show where a BB DECA [or another receiver] can be connected and still not have problems:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319906912

Attached Thumbnails

  • 01Capture.JPG

A.K.A VOS

#44 OFFLINE   bwickstrom

bwickstrom

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: May 23, 2011

Posted 22 November 2011 - 11:49 PM

After reading a whole bunch of posts and asking lots of questions, I put together what I believe is the most current MRV installation. I included a photo and diagram. Please let me know if you see anything that looks out of place. Thank you to everyone who took the time to post on this site and answer all my questions.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#45 OFFLINE   DarkLogix

DarkLogix

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 322 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2011

Posted 23 November 2011 - 10:15 AM

Heres a drawing of my setup
getting MRV is pending as they seem to ignore my e-mails and I'm hesitant to risk wasting signing a 2 year comitment before the HR34 is available
red is standard networking cable, black is coax

Attached Thumbnails

  • Directv-cabling.png


#46 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Registered
  • 37,060 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 23 November 2011 - 10:44 AM

A reminder... please post images only, not discussion.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#47 OFFLINE   pharmer53

pharmer53

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 18 December 2011 - 03:17 PM

My MRV setup after reading and viewing all the installation posts. Thanks!!

Attached Thumbnails

  • MRV setup1.jpg
  • MRV setup2.jpg
  • MRV setup3.jpg


#48 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,106 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 27 December 2011 - 11:42 AM

My network and DirecTV installation:

Posted Image

Attached Thumbnails

  • Network Diagram.jpg

Edited by Diana C, 04 January 2012 - 07:23 PM.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#49 OFFLINE   Nofences

Nofences

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 02 January 2012 - 01:24 AM

Here is my current setup.

Posted Image
My Setup - Updated 12-26-11
AU-9 Slimline Dish
SWM-8
(1) HR20-700 | DECA | HDMI | 37" Sharp Aquos LC-37D64U
(1) HR20-100b | DECA | HDMI & Optical | 47" Vizio LCD | Yamaha 7.1 AV Receiver w/HDMI Switching
(1) HR20-100s | DECA | 42" Vizio VU42LF

#50 OFFLINE   ewing453

ewing453

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2008

Posted 04 January 2012 - 08:57 PM

Rack system with patch panel. Mounted on OpenHouse grid rack module.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0585.jpg
  • IMG_0586.jpg





Protected By... spam firewall...And...