Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Connected Home Installation Images (closed)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
50 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Sim-X

Sim-X

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2009

Posted 05 September 2010 - 04:47 PM

Here is mine....

Posted Image

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Eskimo

Eskimo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2010

Posted 07 September 2010 - 01:49 PM

My setup...

3 receivers, 5 tuners total (2x HR24, 1x H24), DECA (broadband), and a PI.

Posted Image

Edited by Eskimo, 07 September 2010 - 02:02 PM.

Rich in PA...

H24-700 - MBR 32" Vizio
HR24-200 - Great Room 50" Panny plasma w/ sound bar
HR24-200 - Theater room 128" 2.35:1 screen, Emotiva UMC-1, Klipsch KLF/KSP 7.1 speakers / Fi subs (18" x2), 3300 watts RMS.
MRV, ICK..

#23 OFFLINE   IanRWilliams

IanRWilliams

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2010

Posted 09 September 2010 - 05:56 PM

Took a while to figure out (thank god for this forum), but here's mine:

Posted Image

Some notes:

- setup only worked when the SWM power supply was BETWEEN the SWM8 and the 1x8 splitter. Other diagrams show the power supply elsewhere, but that didn't work in my case.
- internet over MRV would only work when plugged into the ethernet switch or Airport, not the broadband modem itself (we have Verizon FiOS). No idea why this is true, since the modem is also a router.
- because of the quirks of our house, the 1x8 SWM splitter has to be outside (it's protected, and we're in Southern California). I don't recommend it, because of all the RG-6 you have to run through the outside wall.
- MRV and networked DVRs only worked after turning the power off EVERYTHING for 5 minutes, then restarting the modem, the Airport, the ethernet switch, the SWM power supply, the HR24 and the HR21 (in that order).

Edited by IanRWilliams, 09 September 2010 - 06:01 PM.


#24 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 September 2010 - 12:50 PM

There seems to be an issue sometimes with the SWiM PI being too close to the receivers/DECAs:

http://www.dbstalk.c...53&d=1285094774
A.K.A VOS

#25 OFFLINE   banditsf

banditsf

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2010

Posted 29 September 2010 - 12:35 PM

I have 3 Hr 24's, 1 hr 21, 1 h24 a Swm 16 1 by 4 and a 1 by 8 .Deca and ps in to a 1 by 8 for internet and 29 volt power to 1 by 8 for Swm power and three deca's off the 1 bys for internet in 3 different rooms going into routers.All are homeruns back to Swm even deca's for internet.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0182.jpg
  • IMG_0195.jpg
  • IMG_0192.jpg
  • IMG_0191.jpg
  • IMG_0198.jpg


#26 OFFLINE   banditsf

banditsf

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2010

Posted 29 September 2010 - 06:40 PM

I have this after 6 weeks

Attached Thumbnails

  • MRV.jpg


#27 OFFLINE   tazzboo

tazzboo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2008

Posted 27 October 2010 - 05:56 PM

I added another DVR in my house and well I just didn't have enough ports on the 6x8 to cover four DVRS and one Standard reciever. I now have one HR24-500, Three HR22-100 and one D12. This is how they hooked up my equipment for all of you guys to look at. Just so you know Three of the wires are not being used that are on the 1x8 splitters they are left over second feeds to three of the DVR's. I just simply terminated them at the wall plate. I have been looking at other installs and well they all seem to be using the 29v power grey box. Mine is the Black box what is the difference?

Attached Thumbnails

  • sat instal 1.jpg
  • sat instal2.jpg


#28 OFFLINE   rayxxxle

rayxxxle

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 20 November 2010 - 03:29 PM

This is what VOS came up with for my setup.

Errol

Attached Thumbnails

  • SWM4.jpg

Edited by rayxxxle, 10 December 2010 - 09:47 AM.

HR34
HR23
HR22
C31
H22

Vizio 46" LCDHD
Phillips 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 32" LCDHD
Vizio 22" LCDHD


1250VA Battery BU

#29 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 November 2010 - 11:59 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1290621499

Attached Thumbnails

  • Splitter combo.gif

A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   Kev4Bama

Kev4Bama

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2010

Posted 09 January 2011 - 10:59 AM

Finally got a chance to do my SWM install Using SWM-16



Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by Kev4Bama, 12 February 2011 - 10:13 AM.

HR23-700 ,H21-200, H24-700, Genie H44-700 AU9-SL3 Dish
SWM-16 , DECA network hooked to internet, WHDVR/MRV

Tailgate Setup: AU9-SL3 on 3' Tripod, H21-200
runs on Legacy port of SWM-16 when not at the game.


#31 OFFLINE   ekgermann

ekgermann

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2008

Posted 12 January 2011 - 06:37 PM

Here's my SWM16/DECA rebuild:

Posted Image

SL5 on the roof

On left, Sonora Slope Compensator, Amp and Polarity Locker top to bottom, loops around at the bottom to the input of the SWM16. Lower right is the PI for the SWM box. Broadband DECA to Internet on above the SWM16, then the 4 port greenlabel splitters.

2 HR-21's
4 R22's
1 H21

4 are DECA, rest will be when the remaining 3 DECA adapters get here.

Other than same legacy compression connectors on the main feeds coming from the dish, all compression connectors. Someday I'll rebuild that too, but all signals are 95+

EKG

#32 OFFLINE   MetalMarine

MetalMarine

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2011

Posted 19 February 2011 - 01:46 PM

here is my setup for getting internet to ps3 via swm.

MRV still works.

No lag on the ps3. plays games and video chats are great.

Posted Image
H24-100 w/ am21
HR24-100 w/ am21
HR24-200 w/ am21
HR24-500 w/ am21
SWiM 5 LNB

Also have PS3 connected through the SWiM network to stream internet to it. Works great. no problems gaming or video chatting.

#33 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 March 2011 - 12:18 PM

These aren't installation images, but the two coax network test screens of the H25:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299349056

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299349056

Here they are from a HR24:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299350833
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299350833

Attached Thumbnails

  • Coax test 1.png
  • Coax test 2.png
  • 24coax test1.png
  • 24coaxtest2.png

Edited by veryoldschool, 05 March 2011 - 12:48 PM.

A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 180 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 08 May 2011 - 03:27 PM

Here is my DECA setup.

I got rid of a lot of Coax with this new configuration.

The video quality is amazing.

Attached Thumbnails

  • My Directv setup.png

Edited by tbolt, 09 May 2011 - 01:48 PM.


#35 OFFLINE   Buehlar

Buehlar

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2011

Posted 10 July 2011 - 09:22 PM

This is how I plan on setting mine up.
Would the part highlighted in yellow work? Any advice/opinions welcome.

Attached Thumbnails

  • My Directv setup 2.png


#36 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 July 2011 - 11:26 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1310680751

Edited by veryoldschool, 04 October 2011 - 02:17 PM.

A.K.A VOS

#37 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 July 2011 - 11:44 AM

Is that the way you set it up? I assumed it could replace my current original white DECA box where it's on it's own coax.

This device has several options to be hooked up.
I'm using it just like a BB DECA, and not using the pass through it has [terminated output].
Another way is to use it as "a replacement" for a white DECA connected to a receiver, "BUT" you also need to use a BSF. So you connect it in "pass through" mode, with ethernet to the receiver and a BSF on the SAT input.
You can also use it without DECA as a wireless adapter too.
Very flexible. :)

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1311788989

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1311788989

^ now you can replace the DECA with a BSF and connect the ethernet to the DECAW.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Capture5.PNG
  • Capture6.PNG

Edited by veryoldschool, 27 July 2011 - 11:51 AM.

A.K.A VOS

#38 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 August 2011 - 10:39 AM

If you have one shorter cable run and have four receivers, plus the BB DECA, this may give you a stronger signal than using an 8-way splitter:

http://www.dbstalk.c...44&d=1313684505
A.K.A VOS

#39 OFFLINE   sonofcool

sonofcool

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2007

Posted 01 October 2011 - 02:16 PM

Inspired by this post by daniellee and with a ton of great direction from VeryOldSchool (aka "VOS"), I rewired the DirecTV portion of my wiring closet:

http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=26719&stc=1&d=1317499087


The DirecTV installation used to just hang off various places on the structured wiring cabinet. The whole install is a lot cleaner now. Having said that, as I'm posting this picture I see that I need some longer patch cables to make a neater installation:

http://www.dbstalk.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=26720&stc=1&d=1317499729

Attached Thumbnails

  • DirecTV Wiring Web2.jpg
  • Wiring Console Web2.jpg


#40 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:20 PM

How to only use a 4-way splitter and have four receiver and internet:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1319570397

Attached Thumbnails

  • My setup.png

A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...