Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Keep HR10-250 in Connected Home?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jsauser11

jsauser11

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:39 PM

Is there anyway to keep an HR10-250 DVR active and working if I convery my system to Connected Home? Here is the current setup:

AU-9 Dish
WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 DVR
H20-100 Receiver
HR10-250 DVR

I know I would have to junk the WB68 for a SWMS-8, and swap out the H20-100 for an H24 plus an AM21 to use Connected Home between the HR20-700 DVR and upgraded receiver. Is there anyway to keep the HR10-250 active in this setup without an additional dish dedicated to it?

I know it is old, but it is mine, and I like the ability to download shows from it.

Thanks for any guidance.
HR34-700, AM21N, H25-100, HR10-250
Whole Home added 11/13/2011 (Swm8)
HR-34 added 4/24/2012

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:42 PM

You could try and get a SMW8 switch and use the legacy ports on it to keep the HR10-250 alive.

#3 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:51 PM

Is there anyway to keep an HR10-250 DVR active and working if I convery my system to Connected Home? Here is the current setup:

AU-9 Dish
WB68 Multiswitch
HR20-700 DVR
H20-100 Receiver
HR10-250 DVR

I know I would have to junk the WB68 for a SWMS-8, and swap out the H20-100 for an H24 plus an AM21 to use Connected Home between the HR20-700 DVR and upgraded receiver. Is there anyway to keep the HR10-250 active in this setup without an additional dish dedicated to it?

I know it is old, but it is mine, and I like the ability to download shows from it.

Thanks for any guidance.


D* won't do a 'Whole Home DVR' installation without replacing any non-SWiM compatible receivers.

That doesn't mean there isn't a configuration that would work, just that D* won't install it. You would need to replace the WB68 with a SWM-8 switch, which has both a SWM output and legacy outputs, add a SWM splitter to feed the SWM receivers, add a DECA module, splitter and Band Stop filter to the HR20-100 (HR20-100s are tricky to install with DECA), replace the H20-100, and if you want On Demand downloads, add a DECA module and power supply to interface to your Home Network. You'd have to pay for, install and support all this yourself. An awfully high price to keep an obsolete piece of equipment. :eek2:

On second thought, buy and install a SWM-8. Reconfigure the HR20 and H20 for SWM. Call D* and deactivate the HR10-250. Call again and order 'Whole Home'... that will upgrade the H20 (and maybe the HR20), and install any needed DECAs. Don't let them swap out the SWM-8 for a SWM LNB. When that all works, call and reactivate the HR10-250, with it wired to the SWM-8 legacy port.

Edited by dwcolvin, 17 May 2010 - 03:00 PM.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,564 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:54 PM

Since the HR10 is only good for the 101 SD channels and OTA, I'd just get an older 18" dual LNB dish and use that for the HR10.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   jsauser11

jsauser11

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 02:59 PM

I just looked at the SWM-8 sheet, and although it does not say anything about the Legacy ports, I am guessing they might work to keep the HR10-250 alive. Looks like the Legacy ports mimic a 3 LNB dish, which is what the HR10-250 was designed for anyway. Maybe I will try contacting them again and see if I can keep the HR10-250 using that method, and just upgrade the MS and receiver. I do not need the whold house DVR to work on the HR10-250.
Thanks,
Jeff
HR34-700, AM21N, H25-100, HR10-250
Whole Home added 11/13/2011 (Swm8)
HR-34 added 4/24/2012

#6 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 17 May 2010 - 03:08 PM

I just looked at the SWM-8 sheet, and although it does not say anything about the Legacy ports, I am guessing they might work to keep the HR10-250 alive. Looks like the Legacy ports mimic a 3 LNB dish, which is what the HR10-250 was designed for anyway. Maybe I will try contacting them again and see if I can keep the HR10-250 using that method, and just upgrade the MS and receiver. I do not need the whold house DVR to work on the HR10-250.


They won't allow you to do that. If you ask for a 'Whole Home' install, they will replace the LNB with a SWM-LNB, remove the switch, and upgrade the receivers to SWM/MRV compatible. The only way to keep your HR10-250 is to work around their rules. The separate Ku dish idea is a good one.

#7 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 03:34 PM

if you call them they might upgrade your HR10-250 to new HR2X Dvr for a good price or even for free.

#8 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 17 May 2010 - 03:37 PM

If you can run ethernet between the HR20 and the location the h20 is at all you would need to do is get the h20 replaced and get the unsupported version activated. Would also probably be the cheapest option.

#9 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 17 May 2010 - 03:40 PM

if you call them they might upgrade your HR10-250 to new HR2X Dvr for a good price or even for free.


Unless they've already done that before for him or it's previous owner (if he bought it used).




spam firewall