Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV Ethernet to DECA Conversion


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ONLINE   GAM

GAM

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 295 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:04 AM

Currently, I am using MRV through my ethernet home network. I have a HR21-700 and HR23-700 connected directly to a Slimline 5 dish. To switch to DECA what is the total list of equipment needed to use MRV and have the boxes still connected to the internet through my router to keep those services that require internet service? Thanks in advance for the help!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:08 AM

Currently, I am using MRV through my ethernet home network. I have a HR21-700 and HR23-700 connected directly to a Slimline 5 dish. To switch to DECA what is the total list of equipment needed to use MRV and have the boxes still connected to the internet through my router to keep those services that require internet service? Thanks in advance for the help!


If you're Slimline-5 is NOT a SWiM, then you'd need the following:

SWiM-LNB (to replace LNB on your Dish)
2 receiver DECAs (one for the HR21, one for the HR23)
1 broadband DECA (currently same as receiver DECA)
1 power inserter (for broadband DECA)
a connection path from the broadband DECA to your SWiM network .. could be a splitter near one of your existing receivers.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,985 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:09 AM

A SWM LNB or SWM8.
A power inserter for SWM.
SWM 4way splitter if SWM LNB used.
3 DECA adapters.
A DECA power inserter.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,791 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:09 AM

Currently, I am using MRV through my ethernet home network. I have a HR21-700 and HR23-700 connected directly to a Slimline 5 dish. To switch to DECA what is the total list of equipment needed to use MRV and have the boxes still connected to the internet through my router to keep those services that require internet service? Thanks in advance for the help!

SWMLNB + PI
Splitter
3 DECAs + one PI for a DECA.
A.K.A VOS

#5 ONLINE   GAM

GAM

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 295 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:12 AM

Thanks all for the quick response.

#6 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,988 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:13 AM

You would need a SWM LNB, SWM LNB Power Inserter, two 2 way splitters (or a 4 way splitter), 2 DECA adapters, and either another DECA adapter and power supply for it, or a broadband DECA unit (which aren't out yet).

You would have one coax cable from the SWM LNB, to the SWM power inserter, and then to the splitter. You would then run one cable from the splitter to a DECA adapter and then hook the DECA adapters up to the DVRs. You would then need to hook up the third DECA Adapter/broadband DECA unit to your home router and your coax network. How you do that depends on if your router is near the main splitter or by one of the DVRs.

#7 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,982 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 11:14 AM

Terminations for any unused ports on splitter, power inserters and broadband DECA.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...