Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DECA with HR20-700


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,171 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 04:35 PM

Everything except the black thing. Mine has one input and is about 1/2 round and about 3 inches long

so this:
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1274108114

"down here" looks fine, so it's time to look "up there" [at the SWiM16]
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 04:47 PM

Here is the setup

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMAG0035.jpg
  • IMAG0038.jpg
  • IMAG0039.jpg

Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#28 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,171 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 04:56 PM

Here is the setup

Looks pretty good, but I don't like the tight bends, and what is that on that one cable connecting to the 2-way splitter? the one in the for ground?
The cable has "something" right at the connector.

Is this by chance the coax feed to your problem HR20-700?
A.K.A VOS

#29 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:02 PM

Looks pretty good, but I don't like the tight bends, and what is that on that one cable connecting to the 2-way splitter? the one in the for ground?
The cable has "something" right at the connector.

Is this by chance the coax feed to your problem HR20-700?


It was just some dirt that rubbed off. It is connected to a diff DVR. I think I may just have a Bad receiver. I am trying to download the NR software and it is stuck on 5% and deca is not installed on it right now. Hopefully they will get it going Wed.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#30 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,171 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:03 PM

It was just some dirt that rubbed off. It is connected to a diff DVR. I think I may just have a Bad receiver. I am trying to download the NR software and it is stuck on 5% and deca is not installed on it right now. Hopefully they will get it going Wed.

It could be a bad one. Try connecting it at another location just to see if it's the cabling or the receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#31 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:07 PM

It could be a bad one. Try connecting it at another location just to see if it's the cabling or the receiver.


I was thinking I may try that also. The installer did take the cable from that one and switch it with the HR21 and the HR21 worked but the Hr20 still didn't. I have the HR20 and HR21 hooked to the same TV so he just swapped them around.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#32 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,967 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:13 PM

If your HR20-700 was like mine was ( in that not right state) you will not get a download. That was one of the things I was trying to eliminate as a possible cause and it did not.

Once I got it off the power path it worked flawlessly and the download worked fine.

Don "your issues really sound like the one's I had" Bolton

It was just some dirt that rubbed off. It is connected to a diff DVR. I think I may just have a Bad receiver. I am trying to download the NR software and it is stuck on 5% and deca is not installed on it right now. Hopefully they will get it going Wed.


Go fast, turn left, repeat until done.


#33 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:14 PM

If your HR20-700 was like mine was ( in that not right state) you will not get a download. That was one of the things I was trying to eliminate as a possible cause and it did not.

Once I got it off the power path it worked flawlessly and the download worked fine.

Don "your issues really sound like the one's I had" Bolton


How did you take it off the power path. I took the Deca off of it. What else would I need to do.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#34 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,171 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:15 PM

How did you take it off the power path. I took the Deca off of it. What else would I need to do.

he has short and VERY long coax runs, so he moved to a short one.
The DECA losses are almost zero.
A.K.A VOS

#35 OFFLINE   lugnutathome

lugnutathome

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,967 posts
  • LocationWoodburn, OR
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:21 PM

Though it may seem worthwhile to test. I don't expect the situation to change for you.

Mine did simply due to the fact I had 2 SWM8 units to swap around on and my HR20s consistently misbehaved on the 1 module regardless of room/line used and constantly functioned properly on the same cables when connected to the other module. I did a lot of swapping around and testing.

In my case only 1 of the SWM modules passes the power from the receivers back up and that is the one that made my HR20s misbehave. Switching to the other SWM8 module where the power was not passed back upline fixed the units regardless of the line in use.

In your installation, you've no such option to bypass the power path...

Don "mine is weird like me:p" Bolton

I was thinking I may try that also. The installer did take the cable from that one and switch it with the HR21 and the HR21 worked but the Hr20 still didn't. I have the HR20 and HR21 hooked to the same TV so he just swapped them around.


Go fast, turn left, repeat until done.


#36 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:31 PM

Ok Thanks. And thanks to everyone that helped. I will let you know what happens tomorrow. I would guess they will swap out the receiver, seems to be the easiest thing to do.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#37 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,171 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:38 PM

Ok Thanks. And thanks to everyone that helped. I will let you know what happens tomorrow. I would guess they will swap out the receiver, seems to be the easiest thing to do.

Please do. I REALLY doubt the DECA router bridge has anything to do with this and it was simply coincidence this came at the same time.
A.K.A VOS

#38 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:05 PM

One other thing I failed to mention. The green lights on the deca that was connected to the HR20-700 would go off and back on quite a bit. No other deca's are doing that as far as I can see.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#39 OFFLINE   afulkerson

afulkerson

    MI Citizen Corps Vol of Year

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,749 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:13 PM

One other thing I failed to mention. The green lights on the deca that was connected to the HR20-700 would go off and back on quite a bit. No other deca's are doing that as far as I can see.


On my DECA inst my HR20-700 had the same problem. It would not detect the sat signal from the swmlnb either. We put a HR20-100 in its place and the sat signal was detechted. The tech replced the HR20-700 with a HR24-500 and had no more problems since then.

:):):)

#40 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:17 PM

Here is the setup


Personally, I'd QC fail your guy on several counts.
Unapproved fittings.
Tight bends in cable at splitters
Improper orientation of SWiM16

Hopeing there is ground out there somewhere as well.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#41 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:28 AM

I decided to try a diff receiver on this line even though the installer said he switched them at the dish. I hooked up my HR21 to the same line the HR20 was on and what do you know, the HR21 would not find a signal. Also checking the sat signal on the bedroom HR (where the coax looks corroded in my picture, I am only getting 60-high 70 signal strength but high 90's everywhere else. It is a line issue so even though he said he traced it and it was ok, it is not. They come back out today so maybe they will get it right now that we found the problem for them.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.

#42 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,171 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:32 AM

I decided to try a diff receiver on this line even though the installer said he switched them at the dish. I hooked up my HR21 to the same line the HR20 was on and what do you know, the HR21 would not find a signal. Also checking the sat signal on the bedroom HR (where the coax looks corroded in my picture, I am only getting 60-high 70 signal strength but high 90's everywhere else. It is a line issue so even though he said he traced it and it was ok, it is not. They come back out today so maybe they will get it right now that we found the problem for them.

I'm glad you took the time to find out what the problem really is.
I've seen worse installs, but as noted by me & Robert, there are a few things that should be cleaned up and some connectors replaced. "I'd bet" there are a few more connectors that we didn't see that need to be also.
A.K.A VOS

#43 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:37 AM

I decided to try a diff receiver on this line even though the installer said he switched them at the dish. I hooked up my HR21 to the same line the HR20 was on and what do you know, the HR21 would not find a signal. Also checking the sat signal on the bedroom HR (where the coax looks corroded in my picture, I am only getting 60-high 70 signal strength but high 90's everywhere else. It is a line issue so even though he said he traced it and it was ok, it is not. They come back out today so maybe they will get it right now that we found the problem for them.

That was smart. I'm sure they'll fix they'll line for you.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#44 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 11:35 AM

I decided to try a diff receiver on this line even though the installer said he switched them at the dish. I hooked up my HR21 to the same line the HR20 was on and what do you know, the HR21 would not find a signal. Also checking the sat signal on the bedroom HR (where the coax looks corroded in my picture, I am only getting 60-high 70 signal strength but high 90's everywhere else. It is a line issue so even though he said he traced it and it was ok, it is not. They come back out today so maybe they will get it right now that we found the problem for them.


Occam's Razor strikes again! :lol:

#45 OFFLINE   redram38

redram38

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 684 posts
  • LocationMillington Tn
Joined: Dec 06, 2005

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:03 PM

Well after about 5 hours the techs finally got things working. They replaced the HR20-700 with a HR24-500 yippiee, but were having trouble getting the signal strength on all 5 receivers in the 90's. 3 would be in the high 90's and 2 would be in the low 70's to high 60's. I will take pictures of the setup tomorrow, it is to dark to do it tonight but it had something to do with how they were running the power supply. Anyway I got a HR24 out of the deal and man is it fast. I want 3 more lol. I also want to add the techs did a great job getting it right. This DECA is new so I am sure they will run into snags along the way. I hope I get these type every time I need one.
Directv with 4 HDDVR's 3 HR24's and one HR21
Dish with Hopper/sling, Hopper/sling adapter and 4 joeys
 
Directv for 17 years, Dish for 1 month. Loving the Hopper and Primetime anytime so far.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...