Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV DECA Installation: SLOWER than Powerline


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 03:41 PM

I just had mine set up today... it was the installer's second one, and he learned quite a bit from my setup. With the installation I replaced an HR10-250 in my kid's room with an HR23, and an old Philips SD DirecTiVo in my workout room with an HD receiver (no need for recording in there). MRV, VOD, and Music/Photos "work," but much more slowly than when I used powerline adapters between my living room HR21 and bedroom HR23... VOD was extremely slow using DECA, and MRV took quite a bit more time to "cue."

For now, my living room and bedroom DVRs are connected via powerline again, while the other two are connected via DECA. Has anyone else had such an experience? Could there possibly be something wrong with the installation? Thanks in advance.

[EDIT] Changed subject to reflect issue better (after much troubleshooting).

Edited by Yog-Sothoth, 19 May 2010 - 05:33 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,387 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 03:46 PM

Could there possibly be something wrong with the installation? Thanks in advance.

I would say "most definitely".

Please post your layout/setup because something clearly isn't right.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 03:49 PM

Yeah, something is wrong.

DECA is way faster than Powerline.

Post your setup like VOS said.
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#4 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 03:49 PM

Is the MRV between boxes smooth? If so, the problem likely lies with the interface to your LAN (broadband DECA dongle, patch cable from broadband DECA to router, or router itself.)

P.S. Are you using a wireless bridge between your DECA cloud & LAN? As specific as you can get regarding your setup will help.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#5 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 04:11 PM

Thanks for the replies.

powered DECA adapter --> gigabit switch --> gigabit switch --> router

[after installation]
all DVRs and receiver were connected via DECA


[now]
living room HR21 --> gigabit switch (same as DECA bridge)
powerline adapter downstairs --> gigabit switch (same as DECA bridge)
bedroom HR23 --> powerline adapter
kid's HR23 --> DECA
HD receiver (haven't looked at model yet) --> DECA

No problems with network (mix of gigabit switches and wireless n and g access points); I can transfer files at >40MB/sec over gigabit. Wireless is not used for MRV or VOD (went to powerline adapters between DVRs because of poor performance with wireless). I consistently test at >20Mb/sec on internet speed tests.

Bad DECA adapter, perhaps?

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,387 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 04:18 PM

Thanks for the replies.

powered DECA adapter --> router

[after installation]
all DVRs and receiver were connected via "a DECA each"

Bad DECA adapter, perhaps?

Can you configure it like this ^^^
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:17 PM

Can you configure it like this ^^^


Not without running new coax.

I just tried swapping DECA adapters around... no dice.

Here are some combinations I've tried:

son's HR23-700 (DECA) --> living room HR21-700 (ethernet) = fine

son's HR23-700 (DECA) --> bedroom HR23-700 (powerline) = fine

bedroom HR23-700 (powerline) --> living room HR21-700 (ethernet) = fine

bedroom HR23-700 (DECA) --> living room HR21-700 (DECA) = not good (stuttering; slow trick play)

#8 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,902 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:23 PM

Check the splitter coming from the SWiM (LNB or Switch) .. Does it have a green label on it?

Your results are not on par with what everyone else is seeing.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,387 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 05:24 PM

Not without running new coax.

I just tried swapping DECA adapters around... no dice.

Here are some combinations I've tried:

son's HR23-700 (DECA) --> living room HR21-700 (ethernet) = fine

son's HR23-700 (DECA) --> bedroom HR23-700 (powerline) = fine

bedroom HR23-700 (powerline) --> living room HR21-700 (ethernet) = fine

bedroom HR23-700 (DECA) --> living room HR21-700 (DECA) = not good (stuttering; slow trick play)

Nobody has yet had a "bad DECA".
If the LED's are green you're good to go.
I'm not sure how much we can help, since you keep adding in your powerline, which seem to work.
Going through a bunch of switches is another variable that may be something.
We really can only help if you can trim everything down to "all DECA" with a short hop over to your router.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:54 PM

Check the splitter coming from the SWiM (LNB or Switch) .. Does it have a green label on it?


Yes, it does.

Going through a bunch of switches is another variable that may be something.


No problems with anything else (LAN transfers, gaming, Web downloads, etc.)... always high bandwidth/low latency. Cascading switches is a very common thing.

And the H24-100 (in workout room):

H24-100 (DECA) --> HR21-700 (ethernet) = fine

H24-100 (DECA) --> son's HR23-700 (DECA) = fine

H24-100 (DECA) --> bedroom HR23-700 (powerline) = fine

I may end up just leaving it set up this way, as everything seems to work OK, though it would be nice to return the powerline adapters and apply that towards the DECA installation.

#11 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,387 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 06:57 PM

Let's look at the RF path
SWiM-16?
Splitter(s)?
what length cables?
A.K.A VOS

#12 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:14 PM

Let's look at the RF path
SWiM-16?
Splitter(s)?
what length cables?


LOL, you're patient.

SWiM-16 - no (though there used to be a 16-port multiswitch and a rat's nest of cables outside)

There's about 20' of cable from the LNB to the 8-port.

The only thing in question that I noticed outside is the 6" extension that connects the 8-port to the coax that leads to the master bedroom (original single coax from CATV the when house was built).

#13 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:17 PM

SWiM-16 - no (though there used to be a 16-port multiswitch and a rat's nest of cables outside)


How many receivers do you have?
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#14 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:19 PM

three DVRs, one receiver

#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,387 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:31 PM

Well, maybe it's time to go back to the all DECA setup [and your ethernet switches] and then try it out in the morning and see if it is still slow.
DECA isn't and is faster than the receivers. Maybe a router reboot? :shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:39 PM

DECA isn't and is faster than the receivers.


???

#17 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,387 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:41 PM

???

The DECA cloud is above the 100 Mb/s of each receiver.
"So" the cloud is faster than any port out of it.
A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:46 PM

???


This:

Well, maybe it's time to go back to the all DECA setup [and your ethernet switches] and then try it out in the morning and see if it is still slow.
DECA isn't [slow] and is faster than the receivers.
Maybe a router reboot? :shrug:


Added a word for clarity.

#19 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:23 PM

I've tried various combinations, and it seems the problem is between the HR21-700 and bedroom HR23-700 with both using DECA. Of course, those are the two DVRs that will do the most MRV'ing....

I'm pretty content now that all of my units can communicate (and that I got a new HD DVR and receiver), so I'm not too concerned with having to use powerline adapters in addition to DECA.

#20 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 05:44 PM

Hello again. It seems there are no issues with MRV (using DECA) between the bedroom HR23-700, my son's HR23-700, and the H24. MRV'ing with the HR21-700 works fine when it is connected via ethernet, but not when using DECA, so I've concluded there is some issue specific to that DVR. It sounds crazy, even to me, but the bottom line is that ethernet works and DECA doesn't with my HR21-700. This may give me an excuse to have DirecTV replace that unit with a newer model; I was going to do that over a year ago due to a failing hard disk, but decided to plug an eSATA drive into it instead (and got much more recording time as well). Of course, I'll have to watch what's recorded on there (a "copy" feature would be useful in this case).




spam firewall