Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New dish needed?


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BHYDE-1

BHYDE-1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:00 PM

When I spoke to DirecTV tonight about the whole room DVR service, I was told that I would need to have a new dish (she mentioned a SWM dish) installed.

I have a 5LNB slimline dish that was installed Nov 07.

Is this correct that they will replace this dish with another one?

Edited by BHYDE-1, 18 May 2010 - 07:03 PM.
I didn't make the heading bold


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:10 PM

You need SWM in some form for DECA/MRV. If you have more than 8 total tuners then you need and external SWM16 module and no dish swap. If you have less than 8 or less tuners then yes...they would replace your dish and not use the external SWM module.
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,766 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:12 PM

When I spoke to DirecTV tonight about the whole room DVR service, I was told that I would need to have a new dish (she mentioned a SWM dish) installed.

I have a 5LNB slimline dish that was installed Nov 07.

Is this correct that they will replace this dish with another one?


You need SWM in some form for DECA/MRV. If you have more than 8 total tuners then you need and external SWM16 module and no dish swap. If you have less than 8 or less tuners then yes...they would replace your dish and not use the external SWM module.

If under eight tuners, then only the LNB needs to be change to the SWiMLB.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:15 PM

True...i made an assumption...shoukld have been more specific. The refelctor would stay and the LNB would be the only replacement.
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#5 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:16 PM

When I spoke to DirecTV tonight about the whole room DVR service, I was told that I would need to have a new dish (she mentioned a SWM dish) installed.

I have a 5LNB slimline dish that was installed Nov 07.

Is this correct that they will replace this dish with another one?


Just the LNB will be replaced
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#6 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 06:16 AM

I have an AT9 dish so I will need to have it replaced with a SWiM type dish, I will have 2) HR20-700s and whatever they give me to replace an H20-100. Will I need a SWM8 or will the leads from the dish suffice to supply a signal to the system?

#7 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 06:24 AM

I have an AT9 dish so I will need to have it replaced with a SWiM type dish, I will have 2) HR20-700s and whatever they give me to replace an H20-100. Will I need a SWM8 or will the leads from the dish suffice to supply a signal to the system?


If you have an AT-9, I believe that no matter what SWM system you end up with, a swap to an AU-9 Slimline will take place. You will more than likely end up with the SWM LNB. As long as you don't plan to expand beyond 8 tuners, that's the cleanest way to go.

#8 OFFLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 858 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:01 AM

If you have an AT-9, I believe that no matter what SWM system you end up with, a swap to an AU-9 Slimline will take place. You will more than likely end up with the SWM LNB. As long as you don't plan to expand beyond 8 tuners, that's the cleanest way to go.


If that's what I have (the SWM LNB) & I add another DVR that takes me to 9 tuners, will D* come out & change out whatever equipment is needed to take me to 16 tuners, for free? I have the protection plan if that makes any difference.

#9 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:09 AM

If that's what I have (the SWM LNB) & I add another DVR that takes me to 9 tuners, will D* come out & change out whatever equipment is needed to take me to 16 tuners, for free? I have the protection plan if that makes any difference.


If you get the installation included with the receiver (meaning order it from DIRECTV) then yes. If you buy it on your own, then I don't know.

#10 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:39 AM

If you have an AT-9, I believe that no matter what SWM system you end up with, a swap to an AU-9 Slimline will take place. You will more than likely end up with the SWM LNB. As long as you don't plan to expand beyond 8 tuners, that's the cleanest way to go.


so with less than 8 tuners the SWM LNB is all I need, I do not need a SWM8?

#11 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:42 AM

so with less than 8 tuners the SWM LNB is all I need, I do not need a SWM8?


Correct.

#12 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:59 AM

Thanks hilmar2k, I appreciate the info

#13 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:41 AM

OK I ordered Connected Home to be installed Friday, went pretty smoothly, the only thing that concerns me is I have an AT9 dish and the CSR said it would work with MRV, I told him that it is not SWM compatible & he said it did not matter, true or not? Anyway I asked him to have the Installer bring a SWM dish just in case, he said ok.

BTW... anybody elses in the Atlanta area have a Home Connect install yet... what was your experiance.

#14 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:44 AM

OK I ordered Connected Home to be installed Friday, went pretty smoothly, the only thing that concerns me is I have an AT9 dish and the CSR said it would work with MRV, I told him that it is not SWM compatible & he said it did not matter, true or not? Anyway I asked him to have the Installer bring a SWM dish just in case, he said ok.

BTW... anybody elses in the Atlanta area have a Home Connect install yet... what was your experiance.


I am quite sure you'll get a new dish with a SWM LNB.

#15 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 09:04 AM

That's what I was thinking but he insisted that any HD dish would work, I told him I was skeptical about that!

#16 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,766 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 09:13 AM

That's what I was thinking but he insisted that any HD dish would work, I told him I was skeptical about that!

"He" may have not been around long enough to know there was more than 1 HD dish. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#17 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 09:31 AM

hey veryoldschool, hope you get up early on Friday AM, may need your help here on the east coast!:lol:

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,766 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 09:42 AM

hey veryoldschool, hope you get up early on Friday AM, may need your help here on the east coast!:lol:

!rolling
I'll do my best. :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 03:25 PM

OK I ordered Connected Home to be installed Friday, went pretty smoothly, the only thing that concerns me is I have an AT9 dish and the CSR said it would work with MRV, I told him that it is not SWM compatible & he said it did not matter, true or not? Anyway I asked him to have the Installer bring a SWM dish just in case, he said ok.

BTW... anybody elses in the Atlanta area have a Home Connect install yet... what was your experiance.


I'm in Snellville and scheduled for this evening. (Twiddling my thumbs right now.) I'll let you know how it goes.
DogLover

My Setup

#20 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:30 PM

Had a great install. Installer had done 3 MRV installs before, so he was still relatively new. He realized quickly that I knew as much or more about the DECA setup than he did. (I told him I had been beta testing MRV.) However, he was willing to let me help out with the set up and learn from what I knew. (And not every guy is willing to learn from a "girl geek".)

He switched out my SWM-8 for a SL3 LNB. He brought my 103 signals up from 50's and 60's to 90's. That was really great!

One thing that was funny was that they were only issued 8-way splitters. In my install (because of previously using existing cables) I was using both outputs of the SWM-8, one of those cables went to the family room and a 4 way splitter, the other upstairs and a 2 way splitter. So, he ended up using 8-way splitters in all 3 places. The unused outputs were terminated, so I don't think I'm losing any significant signal. However, it does seem like a waste.
DogLover

My Setup




Protected By... spam firewall...And...