Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Deca ?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Miniz98

Miniz98

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 18, 2010

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:01 PM

Deca
Hello I have 2 hr23 700 with decas set on each receiver and I can watch from room to room. The only thing is that I have no Internet and now the gaming adapters don't work. D* said there is a home network device that connects to the main coax and connects to the router. They want to charge me 130.00 for them to install it. Well I know I can do it my self to save some money. What is the device called that hooks up to the router to give all receivers Internet by coax and where can I buy it. Thanks!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,413 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:10 PM

it would be the same DECA that you have on your receivers. It just needs a 18 volt PI to power it.
Where/who did this install/setup?
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Miniz98

Miniz98

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 18, 2010

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:15 PM

I did so I have a a power inseter going into a splitter for all the rooms. So I hook up the power inserter to the deca then the deca to the switch and the Ethernet to the router? Also where can I buy another deca? Thanks.

#4 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:25 PM

I did so I have a a power inseter going into a splitter for all the rooms. So I hook up the power inserter to the deca then the deca to the switch and the Ethernet to the router? Also where can I buy another deca? Thanks.


The power inserter going into the splitter powers your SWM system and that PI won't have anything to do with DECA. A seperate PI will need to be used for the DECA attached to your router.

Where did you buy the first DECA's? You can buy additionals at Solidsignal, and the word is D* is now selling them individually for $25.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#5 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,413 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:27 PM

I did so I have a a power inseter going into a splitter for all the rooms. So I hook up the power inserter to the deca then the deca to the switch and the Ethernet to the router? Also where can I buy another deca? Thanks.


Where did you buy the first DECA's? You can buy them at Solidsignal, and the word is D* is now selling them individually for $25.

Can't use the same PI that powers the SWM. You need another 18 or 21 volt PI for the "future" DECA.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   Miniz98

Miniz98

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 18, 2010

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:45 PM

Here are some images of my setup, i have a new swm lnb. Also i attached images of my setup. i have deca1mr0-01 on each reciever. Please can you give me links to what i need to buy thanks

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_0734.JPG
  • IMG_0735.JPG
  • IMG_0736.JPG


#7 OFFLINE   Miniz98

Miniz98

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 18, 2010

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:49 PM

is this the stuff i need? and i plug it into the empty port on the switch out 8?

D* DECA Power Supply (PS18DER0)

D* Ethernet Coax Adapter DECA (DECA1MR01

#8 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:52 PM

is this the stuff i need? and i plug it into the empty port on the switch out 8?

D* DECA Power Supply (PS18DER0)

D* Ethernet Coax Adapter DECA (DECA1MR01


Yes, just make sure the orientation on the DECA is correct. Out of curiosity how did you get your hands on DECA, but yet don't know where to get them?
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#9 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,934 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:55 PM

is this the stuff i need? and i plug it into the empty port on the switch out 8?

D* DECA Power Supply (PS18DER0)

D* Ethernet Coax Adapter DECA (DECA1MR01


Correct.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#10 OFFLINE   Miniz98

Miniz98

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 18, 2010

Posted 18 May 2010 - 07:58 PM

Manager sent 2 to me for free :) thanks for all your help guys!

#11 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,565 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:02 PM

Yes, just make sure the orientation on the DECA is correct. Out of curiosity how did you get your hands on DECA, but yet don't know where to get them?


PI into the white coax on the DECA & coax from splitter to female on DECA, right?
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#12 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:24 PM

Should have 75ohm terminators on all the unused ports.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here




spam firewall