Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Continuing MRV with Ethernet

bbb

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tuff bob

tuff bob

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 645 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:28 AM

I've heard that the CSRs will not enable MRV on accounts unless they send out a tech and you pay $50 for equipment and that you need to contact DirecTV via Twitter to get around that. I'm not on Twitter - is that still the case or do the CSRs understand now they can enable without service call. Or is there another way to get MRV without going through Twitter?
Half a DLB, Half a DVR.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:29 AM

I used the telephone.
Look at one of the stickies at the top for more info.
A.K.A VOS

#3 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,127 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:30 AM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=177090
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   HDTVsportsfan

HDTVsportsfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 19 May 2010 - 07:30 AM

That's not totally true. If you want to use your home ethernet and have it unsupported by DirecTV....then you can have it enabled without a truck roll.

If you want to use DECA...then yes..DirecTV needs to come out.

You can call....email..or twitter.

All have ad varying degres of success w/ folks here.
DBSTalk Chat Room Mod (I reserve the right to be wrong.)

AT9 to SWM16
LR: HR24-100 to Panasonic 50" w/ Sony HTIB/FR: HR20-700 to Samsung LN55B640
Office: HR34-700 to Panasonic 50" w/ HD-A2
Office: H21-200 to 36" SD TV/BR: HR21-200 to Samsung 32" LCD
My full setup in Visio: http://www.dbstalk.c...8&postcount=105

#5 OFFLINE   tuff bob

tuff bob

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 645 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2007

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:18 AM

I'm trying the email route. I'm sorry I didn't catch "Home Network" was Ethernet. Maybe adjust the thread title?

What am I missing - if I want to use DirecTV on Demand, I need Ethernet to the receivers anyway, so DECA doesn't really do much for me, right?
Half a DLB, Half a DVR.

#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:26 AM

What am I missing - if I want to use DirecTV on Demand, I need Ethernet to the receivers anyway, so DECA doesn't really do much for me, right?

"Not exactly".
When you move to DECA [connected home networking] there is a DECA to router/home network bridge, for internet access and other things like media share & DirecTV2PC, etc.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:40 AM

I'm trying the email route. I'm sorry I didn't catch "Home Network" was Ethernet. Maybe adjust the thread title?

We knew what you ment! :)

What am I missing - if I want to use DirecTV on Demand, I need Ethernet to the receivers anyway, so DECA doesn't really do much for me, right?


VOS answered your question in that if you have an extra DECA near your router/internet you can connect that into your RG6 network and have internet, D*2PC and so on at each receiver!
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...