Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV - How many of you stayed on regular Ethernet, and how many of you went to DECA???


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

Poll: Are you on regular Ethernet or on DECA??? (392 member(s) have cast votes)

Are you on regular Ethernet or on DECA???

  1. Yes I stayed on Ethernet, am planning to stay on Ethernet, or am trying to stay on Ethernet (problems getting it done) (248 votes [63.27%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 63.27%

  2. Voted No, I upgraded to DECA, plan on upgrading to DECA, or am waiting for installation of DECA to be completed (appointment scheduled) (121 votes [30.87%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 30.87%

  3. OTHER (23 votes [5.87%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 5.87%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#26 OFFLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 859 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:01 AM

Since it worked great in beta, I will continue to run my ethernet on my 3 receivers. I would have to see what it looks like on a DECA network to compare. My only issue I have is a slight lag when picking a recorded show/movie from another receiver (pushing play from the list). It takes >5 seconds more to start the show/movie from the other receivers library. My guess would be that DECA does that same thing. Has anyone seen a difference from using ethernet and DECA is this area?


I had two DVR's directly connected to each other with an ethernet cable -- no router, no switch, nothing. Response for MRV was slow. I'm now on DECA. Response for MRV is still slow. I'm hoping it's because of the HR22 & that the HR24 that I ordered online will make a difference.

#27 OFFLINE   Pamela Tex Gal

Pamela Tex Gal

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2010

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:03 AM

My MRV works great wireless on 5ghz N. I'm using a dual band N router and 5ghz bridges as long as the wireless connection to the router is >121M it is no different than the wired trial I made for comparison. If you have the only 2.4ghz wireless N network (no wireless neighbors) you might get this to work on the common overlapping band. I now have over a dozen wireless SSID's in range all 2.4ghz band. My 5ghz SSID is the only one in that band, someday I may have to string a wire or switch to DECA for now it works flawlessly.

I did have to upgrade the firmware on my DIR-825b to the newest 2.03NA and turn multicast streams OFF in the router. The later was only needed for wireless connections; when connected via wire on the same gigabit switch multicast streams on/off made no difference. This also affected MediaShare Which now works from either the MCE machine or the Windows Home Server w/either HR2x.

  • DIR-825
    • --- Wired --- WHS
    • ~~2.4ghz~~
    • PALM PDA (B)
    • Multifunction Printer/Scanner/FAX/Card Reader (g)
    • Desktop XP PC (g)
    • Laptop Vista (n)
  • ~~5ghz~~
    • DAP-1522 (243-270M) ---
    • HR21-200
    • BluRay
    • MCE 2005 PC
  • DAP-1522 (243-270M) ---
    • HR23-700
[/LIST]

Edited by Pamela Tex Gal, 20 May 2010 - 09:20 AM.


#28 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:14 AM

I voted Other, because I'm on ethernet, and plan to stay there for quite some time, but I am fully investigating SWM/DECA to see how it might be to my advantage. I'll decide in a month or two, so for now, I'm ethernet, but am considering SWM/DECA.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#29 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:18 AM

I'm staying on Ethernet. Currently the receiver is sitting on top of the DVR connected to the same TV so Ethernet is really easy to setup and I don't see a need to spend anything on DECA.

#30 OFFLINE   dshu82

dshu82

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 682 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:50 AM

I will see if Ethernet continues to get the job done. My next goal is to get my HR-20 upgraded, possibly just getting HR 24 from Solid Signal.
D* customer since 1997

#31 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:11 AM

What is this ethernet you speak of? :D


It is a tool that is used in what Al Gore "created"! :D
-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98

#32 OFFLINE   cnmurray8

cnmurray8

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:36 AM

I plan on staying on ethernet and upgrading to deca in the future if it is needed.

#33 OFFLINE   bpaulson

bpaulson

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:54 AM

I put at least 40 hours into wiring the 5 bedrooms plus two living rooms in my house (huge pain in the butt) so therefore I'm sticking with the network that cost me time and money (albeit not too much since I did it myself.)

MRV works amazingly well over ethernet so I see absolutely no reason to use deca.

#34 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:56 AM

I'll give you my Ethernet cable when you take it from my cold, dead hands. -Hutchinshouse

http://www.dbstalk.c...36&d=1274374487

Attached Thumbnails

  • HH.JPG


#35 OFFLINE   2dogz

2dogz

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 499 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:58 AM

I've already got cat5/6 and RG6 in the wall and on keystone jacks behind 5 HDDVRs. Enet are home runs to gigabit switch. If MRV is not running tip-top, I don't see it.

So will stay with ethernet until something comes up that it cannot do. Also to skip the extra cost and the extra complexity of adding additional dodads everywhere (something else to fail).

Directv since 1997
2x HR21-100 2x HR22-100 1x HR20-700R
Sony Sat T60 Tivo Still Truckin'
AU9 WB616 OTA: Channel Master CM4221

#36 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:03 AM

I switched to DECA. My wireless setup was OK but had occasional hiccups. My H21 box didn't like HD programs. I had a self installed SWiM setup that D* could hassle me about service issues.
It was worth the 49.95 D* charged me.

BTW there seems to be confusion about the 2 year commitment. There is NO extension if you don't uograde receivers.

Edited by oldengineer, 20 May 2010 - 11:06 AM.
Added Content

2H/1J


#37 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:08 AM

Went with DECA since one of three dvrs only had one coax and no internet connection. DECA gives me an extra tuner and whole-house access to that dvr.
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)

#38 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,288 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:10 AM

Installers arrived a little before 10 and left a little before 12. So ~2 hours to peak dish, rewire WB68 to SWim16 / 2 4 port splitters and install / authorize HR24. I hooked up the power supply / Deca module for the broadband connection in my cabinet and moved HR22 to the Bedroom, hooking up the 3 DVRs there with Deca modules and resetting.

One installer was pretty good, one was learning and both thanked me for the help as they left! They commented they should have paid me!

Most signal strengths are in the high 90s.

Now it's taking me longer to set up everything on the 24 and tweak some settings. But everybody is happy and MRVs to everybody.

Edited by dennisj00, 20 May 2010 - 11:58 AM.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#39 OFFLINE   jpitlick

jpitlick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 580 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:10 AM

I'll get DECA if I ever move to a house that is not already wired for ethernet.

HR20-700 attached via HDMI to an Onkyo TX-SR605S connected via HDMI to a Sony KDF-42WE655 42" Grand Vega Rear Projection LCD
H21-100 attached via HDMI to Sceptre X246W-1080P 24" LCD and attached via S-Video to Windows 7 PC w/Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600
HR22-100 attached via HDMI to a ProScan 32LB30Q 32" LCD
SWM-8/STS-4
SlimLine Dish w/SL5 LNB
All receviers connected to gigabit switches and 25/25 Mbps FiOS

#40 OFFLINE   ljm1969

ljm1969

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:14 AM

getting mine friday, had my 2 hr-22's via ethernet, they didn't work well kept loosing one or the other? had to reboot alot. so im hoping for the best...

#41 OFFLINE   weaselfest

weaselfest

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:04 PM

the wired ethernet and hand me down adtran 10/100 switch have been working great since signing up for the beta trial. awaited a response from the email route, after several frustating attempts at the "instant" gratification of a phone CSR making the changes. don't see any reason to upgrade until D* forces the issue.

underachiever deluxe

#42 OFFLINE   ftwrich

ftwrich

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:13 PM

Stayed on ethernet - but it took a couple of calls and emails. Just didn't want to lose the service. May change later on when the kinks get sorted out.

#43 OFFLINE   carlsbad_bolt_fan

carlsbad_bolt_fan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 759 posts
  • LocationCarlsbad, CA
Joined: May 18, 2004

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:17 PM

My house is wired for ethernet. During the Beta, MRV worked perfectly. Don't want to even think about DECA.
HR20-700 Connected to 55" Samsung UN55D8000YF via HDMI
HR20-700 Connected to 24" Samsung P2570HD
R22-200 Connected to 32" Sony
D* Customer since 2000

#44 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,415 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:38 PM

Ethernet has been fine for months, see no need to change. May need to eventually as recievers need replacing.

#45 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:52 PM

Trying to stay with ethernet but have not gotten anyone at DirecTV who is capable of turning it on yet.
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

#46 OFFLINE   Yog-Sothoth

Yog-Sothoth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:53 PM

Switching to DECA got me MRV in two locations where I didn't have ethernet, and it also yielded me a new DVR and a new receiver. I'll also be connecting one of the DECA modules to an ethernet switch so my son can have Internet access with the computer I plan on putting in his room... Recommended/supported? No. Do I care? No.

#47 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:55 PM

While it may be obvious does DirecTV advise people getting receiver swaps that they will loose all their recordings or is there some special handling for this?
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

#48 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,563 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:56 PM

Ethernet why change something that is working just fine

JACK,
 
 


#49 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 06:04 PM

I already have the DECA installation scheduled for this Saturday.

#50 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 06:12 PM

next to impossible to do all deca here without loosing OTA, but cat5 is all over the place..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D





Protected By... spam firewall...And...