Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Enabling MRV using your home networking


  • Please log in to reply
1190 replies to this topic

#321 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,553 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 21 May 2010 - 07:16 PM

WOW!

After getting the run around for a day via email and finally being completely ignored I had no choice but to call. Told the nice CSR I was using the beta and just needed to get activated now that it's out of beta. Also told her I understood it cost $3/mo. That was it! No further discussion necessary - nothing about ordering the kit, nothing about upgrading base package. Nice.

I've got Total Choice with lifetime DVR service and now I've got whole home DVR service.
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#322 OFFLINE   jrmichael

jrmichael

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 07:30 PM

No luck for me after emailing. Got the dreaded expired package response:

Thanks for writing. I can see you’ve been with us for several years and we recognize you as a valued and loyal customer. We want you to know we appreciate it.

I completely understand your concern about adding the Whole-Home DVR Service without upgrading your equipment. First, I would like to inform you that in order to add the Whole-Home DVR Service on to your account, you must have a current programming package. However, our records show that your programming package, TOTAL CHOICE, is already expired so it would be best to call us at 1-800-531-5000 to switch to a current package and add the Whole-Home DVR Service. Please be advised that once you switch to one of our current packages, you would not be able to return to your expired base package, TOTAL CHOICE
AU9 Dish SL3-S LNB - DECA - (1) HR24-500 (1) HR20-700 (1) HR21-200 Samsung HPT-5034 50" Plasma (HDMI - HR24) Sony 42" LCD (HDMI - HR21) Samsung 42" Plasma (HDMI - HR20)

#323 OFFLINE   woody

woody

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 07:41 PM

With everything you would need to get your own network up to snuff (what you have is NOT going to work), you would be far, far better off taking advantage of the current upgrade to SWM/DECA. It's a no brainer in your circumstance. They are swapping out equipment at no additional cost (within some limits, call and see what they say you need, and what the total cost would be...bargain with them, ask for consideration, etc. etc.)

You are in the right spot at the right time to take advantage of the current offer. My advice: don't pass it up.

I, on the other hand have a fully functioning high speed network and could do without SWM/DECA, but I do need another tuner line, so I'm going to order the upgrade, perhaps tomorrow and end up running a hybrid system. I have two dishes. One will be converted to SWM/DECA and have two HD DVRs and an HD Receiver on it. The other dish at the other end of the house will stay as it is on an HR20-100 DVR with a WET610N N wireless adapter which will connect to the SWM/DECA setup wirelessly via my D-Link eXtreme 825 dual band router/gigabit switch (hence the "hybrid" description).

Call D* and see what kind of deal you can cut. I think you will see in short order that it's a far better approach than reworking your existing network.


Thanks again for the reply. the biggest thing that I have would be upgrading the equipment that would extend my contract. I really do not want to do that. is there a way that would get the DECA installed without extending the contract? I would think that there is.

MRV aside, I think it's time to upgrade my network, let alone the benefit of getting throughput speed. if I get a N router, what would be the best method to get good network speed to HR21 and R22? and do you know whether or not I really would need a DECA in order to have MRV work with R22? thanks.

#324 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,569 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 21 May 2010 - 07:50 PM

So, I get a confirmation email from DirecTV concerning my change in service. The subject line is "DIRECTV Programming & Service Update (Confirmation of Phone Transaction)". The problem is I didn't do it by phone. Hopefully, I won't see a phone charge on my account.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#325 OFFLINE   Matt L

Matt L

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 314 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:01 PM

Only having read the last page or two of this massive thread, let me tell you my experience.

I too missed my MRV, had it for about a year and got very used to it. I called and was told it would be $99 to upgrade. I asked why, in a pretty upset tone, indicating I'd been using it for a year and it worked fine, why would I need an upgrade? The CSR said "Oh, you must have been on the beta program, we can set you up." He then went on to say it was not compatible with my package, I had the $79 HD/DVR package. He said I'd have to change. It was a dollar more, plus the $3.00 fee. I was a little ticked at this point and asked if it would involve any commitment, He told me I had one, and I said I didn't. Took about a half hour to resolve, had to transfer me to retention.

Turns out my account was mislabeled after I got the TiVo swap last year and retention cleared it up. I have no commitment, and I now have MRV for $4.00 more and they tossed in a 6 month waiver on the HD fee. If I pressed I might have gotten more, but I'll save that for a future date...

#326 OFFLINE   y2khardtop

y2khardtop

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:06 PM

email said I have an old package.......


I really don't understand why I have to upgrade from "Choice Extra" to "Choice Extra"???? The CSR said it was the same, but I had him change it anyway. After 25 minutes I told him to never mind. Hopefully my 2nd attempt at email will work now that I have a current package

#327 OFFLINE   ColonelJulius

ColonelJulius

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2007

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:21 PM

Emailing worked like a charm. Total turnaround time was about 5 hrs. I have the old premier package.

#328 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:44 PM

I'm gonna wait till they get the old packages worked out. There is no reason I should have to change my grandfathered package!

#329 OFFLINE   pappascw

pappascw

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Jun 13, 2005

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:45 PM

I didnt have any luck with email... Called tonite while I was out picking up kids.. Explained I've been using it.. Just want to turn it back on... She said it was done.. 5 min.. Got home working like a charm.. Sweet..

#330 OFFLINE   bgottschalk

bgottschalk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 578 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:51 PM

Just got off the phone with a great CSR...

He knew exactly what I needed, was curteous and very helpful. It took a bit because he finally had to change my Extra HD + DVR package to the separate one for $1 more. But once he did that it is was up and running not problem.

He even gave me $20 a month off for a year and Showtime and Starz free for 3 months without me even asking. I guess I can pay $1 more a month for a $240 savings (not including the premiums... :)

Overall - a very good experience. I'm impressed.
HR20-700 (7Mb DSL hardwired)
HR24-100 (7Mb DSL hardwired)
HR24-500 (7Mb DSL hardwired)
Samsung LCD LN55C650 (HDMI)
Panasonic Plasma TC-P50G10 (HDMI)
Panasonic Plasma TH-42PX60U (HDMI)

#331 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,323 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 08:53 PM

So after almost 24 hours of waiting for a return email I couldn't wait any longer and called.

I told the CSR that I already had a SWiM system and DECA and just needed MRV turned on. She asked me where I got the adapters from and I told her from a retailer (Solid Signal). She told me that some people were getting adapters that weren't compatible (I'm assuming MOCO). I assured her they had the D* logo on them.

She then said she could try and turn it on for me. As we were waiting for the receivers to become authorized, she said she noticed I had an old TiVo unit on my account and that I should really have a professional install. Why, I asked? Because I needed a filter on them. I told her that I had a filter on my SWiM and the TiVo was isolated from that portion of the system. "Nope" she said, "you'll have problems". I just said "OK I'll take my chances". :)

A couple minutes later, she had me check the authorization in the MRV setup screen. There it was... "Authorized"

Now... time for a beer. :D

BTW, I have the premier package with grandfathered DVR and my package was never a topic of discussion.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#332 OFFLINE   hadji

hadji

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:17 PM

Via email, took only 8 hours for response, I have grandfathered Total Choice with separate HD...

Thank you for writing. We will be happy to assist you with adding the Whole-Home
DVR service. To clarify your statement about DIRECTV supporting network based
Whole-Home DVR, DIRECTV has not supported and does not have plans to support
network based Whole-Home DVR. As such, we will be unable to provide additional
support (troubleshooting) specific to the network based Whole-Home DVR Service.
For questions about this set up, please seek assistance in our technical forum
at http://forums.directv.com/pe/index.jsp.

I have added the Whole-Home DVR service to your account. The service changes to
your account will be reflected on your next DIRECTV bill, or you can see them
immediately by signing into your DIRECTV account online at directv.com/mydirectv
and clicking on "Activity Since Last Bill" in the My Account column.

Because DIRECTV bills you for service at the start of your billing period, any
changes that are made mid month, such as adding or removing a service, will show
as charges or credits from the day the change occurred to the end of that 30 day
period. Your next bill will reflect a partial charge of $2.90 and a full 30 day
charge of $3.00 for the Whole-Home DVR service.

Thank you again for writing and participating in the Cutting Edge user group.

Sincerely,


Megan G.
DIRECTV Resolution Specialist


Thanks OP.

#333 OFFLINE   MrLatte

MrLatte

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:43 PM

Success at last!!!

I have Total Choice Plus and tried the email route. That didn't work because they said I had an old package.

So I called with the script in hand and first they gave me the hard sell on upgrading equipment and once I mentioned "unsupported" they went on to say I needed to upgrade my package. I told them I'd have to "review the packages" and call back.

I called back a couple minutes later and tried to get transferred to the Network Group but was told they'd be doing the upgrading. Once again I was told I needed to upgrade to DECA and "band stoppers" but once I accepted the unsupported option I was put right through with NO mention of my package so I was able to get MRV activated and I kept my legacy TC+ package.

#334 OFFLINE   VandyCWG

VandyCWG

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 409 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:28 PM

I emailed yesterday and still have not heard back.

This is getting frustrating....

Spring Hill, TN (Nashville DMA)

Receiving Equipment: SWM 3 Slimline | Full DECA cloud
Living Room: Mini C31 | LG 55" LED
Bonus Room: HR44-700 | Sharp 70" 3D LED | Sony STR-DN1040 | PS3 | Slingbox Pro-HD | Slingbox SOLO
Master Bedroom: HR24-500 | Westinghouse 40"
Man Cave: Mini C31 | 
LG 55" LED
Computer/Networking: Windows 7 /WMP12 | Netgear R6300 | 50/5 Charter HSI
Mobile Phones Verizon - Droid Razr MAXX, Rooted 4.1.1


#335 OFFLINE   Lucid504

Lucid504

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:39 PM

After 5 Trys i finally got someone to add it to my Choice Xtra Package :) Did this by email.

#336 OFFLINE   DWACEK

DWACEK

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 12:00 AM

It took a while but was finally able to get this done over the phone with TC+... Thanks a bunch. I almost called and ordered the full installation but decided to check this forum first, you guys always have the straight poop.

I wonder if the first CSR I talked to yesterday when the beta was first shut off has recovered from the verbal abuse I subjected him to... oh well, they should have been ready for this happening in the first place... It definitely is NOT better to have MRVed and lost than to never have MRVed before.

DW

Edited by DWACEK, 22 May 2010 - 12:07 AM.


#337 OFFLINE   gphvid

gphvid

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 498 posts
  • LocationThousand Oaks, Ca
Joined: Jun 19, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 03:25 AM

My MRV came back on after about 9 hours after I sent the email last night. Things work as they did and wife and daughter are happy again.

Now, out of curiosity (and maybe it was already posted), what does DirecTV provide for equipment for their "covered" MRV setup? I assume wired/wireless router and a bridge or adapter for each receiver, but what stuff exactly? And if you have a setup with the older DVRs with the dual line feeds, do they reset to something else? My system has been working just fine and I haven't had the need to pursue anything different. But now that MRV involves a setup for those not networked, I'm now curious what they do for their install fee.

Thanks.

#338 OFFLINE   satjoe

satjoe

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 May 2010 - 04:19 AM

Used email method and 12 hours later my MRV is back up and running! There was no way I was paying 99 bucks for DECA knowing the box will work with my network.

Thanks Doug

#339 OFFLINE   ticmxman

ticmxman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 282 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 04:42 AM

Total choice package. E-mail route reply said I had to change package. Called and a csr had me set up in less than 5 minutes.

#340 OFFLINE   njblackberry

njblackberry

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 653 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 04:58 AM

Now, out of curiosity (and maybe it was already posted), what does DirecTV provide for equipment for their "covered" MRV setup? I assume wired/wireless router and a bridge or adapter for each receiver, but what stuff exactly? And if you have a setup with the older DVRs with the dual line feeds, do they reset to something else? My system has been working just fine and I haven't had the need to pursue anything different. But now that MRV involves a setup for those not networked, I'm now curious what they do for their install fee.

Thanks.


Check out this "First Look" at the DECA system - http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=170910

Lots and lots of new hardware.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...