Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Enabling MRV using your home networking


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1194 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:12 PM

I'm confused. So is the consensus that we need to upgrade to Choice Ultimate if we have Choice Xtra with HDDVR service? Or can we temporarily change it to another package and then change it back to Choice Xtra after the flag is set?


No, there is a legacy package called 'Choice Xtra plus HDDVR' If (and I think only if) you have this package, you will probably have to change it to

Choice Xtra
-) Add HD Access
-) Add DVR Access

In other words, 3 line items on your statement instead of a single line item.

The cost is $1/month more in unbundled form than in bundled (legacy) form. Otherwise, they are the same package.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:13 PM

I'm confused. So is the consensus that we need to upgrade to Choice Ultimate if we have Choice Xtra with HDDVR service? Or can we temporarily change it to another package and then change it back to Choice Xtra after the flag is set?


Choice Xtra plus the HD service plus the DVR service is the same thing, for $1 more.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#28 OFFLINE   mdriskell

mdriskell

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:13 PM

Revisiting this thread...I guess I may run into an issue with the request I submitted as I have the Choice Xtra plus HDDVR package. I don't want to change as that would add $20 to my bill just to have MRV (10 HD, 7 DVR, 3 MRV) ouch.
My Setup
Main DVR HR21-100
Wired Connection
HDMI to Toshiba Regza 47in LCD

Bedroom DVR HR22-700
Wired Connection
Component cables to Westinghouse 27in LCD

#29 OFFLINE   rob316

rob316

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:14 PM

I'm confused. So is the consensus that we need to upgrade to Choice Ultimate if we have Choice Xtra with HDDVR service? Or can we temporarily change it to another package and then change it back to Choice Xtra after the flag is set?


That's BS, I will not upgrade my package if I don't have to. I am already paying the extra 3 bucks what else do they want.

Edited by rob316, 20 May 2010 - 03:26 PM.


#30 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,557 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:15 PM

That's BS, I will not upgrade my package if I don't have to. I am lready paying the extra 3 bucks what else do they want.


agree 100%
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

#31 OFFLINE   leww37334

leww37334

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,494 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2005

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:18 PM

glad to see this is working so well........
“Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it. Do not count on them. Leave them alone.” - Ayn Rand

#32 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:18 PM

Glad to see I'm not crazy. And yes, it's good to see that it is working. Thanks


I did find it in another location:

When you are on the My Services tab, look at the top of the detail box in Blue/Aqua lettering. There are 3 links: HD, DVR, Whole Home DVR (which is gray on my account). Click on the Whole Home DVR link and it will take you to a screen that shows you are subscribed

Under the price of $3.00 it shows "Currently Activated".

Why this info is buried under links above the account detail mystifies me. It should be listed as a service directly on the detail screen.

Try it.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#33 OFFLINE   pappy97

pappy97

    Icon

  • No PM's
  • 611 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:29 PM

The top quote seemingly contradicts the bottom quote. Who is right?


Revisiting this thread...I guess I may run into an issue with the request I submitted as I have the Choice Xtra plus HDDVR package. I don't want to change as that would add $20 to my bill just to have MRV (10 HD, 7 DVR, 3 MRV) ouch.




No, there is a legacy package called 'Choice Xtra plus HDDVR' If (and I think only if) you have this package, you will probably have to change it to

Choice Xtra
-) Add HD Access
-) Add DVR Access

In other words, 3 line items on your statement instead of a single line item.

The cost is $1/month more in unbundled form than in bundled (legacy) form. Otherwise, they are the same package.


My setup (TV + DirecTV):
Master Bedroom: LG 32" 120hz LCD TV, GENIE Client
Living room: Samsung 46" 120hz LED LCD TV 7000 series, GENIE Master
Dedicated HT: Epson 8700UB projector with 150" 16:9 painted on screen and 180" 2.4:1 painted on screen, HD-DVR (HR22), Denon AVR-890, Klipsch Icon Front Speakers, Center Speaker, and Klipsch Icon Floorstanders for side and rear speakers (6 total floorstanders), subwoofer is BIC America V-1220 12" down-firing sub

#34 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:33 PM

I think Doug may have gotten it backwards. The reason so many of us stayed with TC+, without going with TC+/HD-DVR bundled is that we saved a dollar a month, without losing anything.

At least that's why I stayed, and I'm going to feel like an idiot if I stayed so I could pay an additional buck a month for nothing.

Unbundled TC+ is a buck cheaper than bundled with HD-DVR, or I've been screwing myself for a couple of years. :)
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#35 OFFLINE   rob316

rob316

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:35 PM

I think Doug may have gotten it backwards. The reason so many of us stayed with TC+, without going with TC+/HD-DVR bundled is that we saved a dollar a month, without losing anything.

At least that's why I stayed, and I'm going to feel like an idiot if I stayed so I could pay an additional buck a month for nothing.

Unbundled TC+ is a buck cheaper than bundled with HD-DVR, or I've been screwing myself for a couple of years. :)


In this economy saving 12 bucks a year is good enough for me.:lol:

#36 OFFLINE   rob316

rob316

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:38 PM

Ok so per Doug's instructions I emailed DTV support to have me switched to MRV Unsupported, will they email me call me when its' completed? I am at work right now so I cannot check. Well there is another notification which I hope doesn't happen, the wife calling me screaming that MRV does not work. :eek2:

#37 OFFLINE   hbkbiggestfan

hbkbiggestfan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 407 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:40 PM

Thanks Doug. Email sent. We shall see...
<Living Room HR34-700-Networked Wireless CCK*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Vizio E601i-a3 60" 1080p LED HDTV> <Master Bedroom HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL*HDMI-Olevia 37" LCD HDTV>
<Man Cave HR24-100-Networked COAX*-w/ LiL-HDMI-Samsung 46" LN46B530 1080p LCD HDTV> *Linksys Router <Backup Equipment HR22-100, H21-200, R15 and SD DIRECTiVo>
DIRECTV Since August 2002. Thanks for DLB & MRV DIRECTV!

NFL Sunday Ticket + Superfan since 2004 Go KC Chiefs!

#38 OFFLINE   pyrettablaze

pyrettablaze

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:42 PM

ok so my MRV experience.

Of course mine stopped working today too. So i call to order as it says. They try to say i need to buy a $99 dollar upgrade package.

I said "well it was working yesterday, why would I need new equipment?"

They said, "so you can have the Swim network."?

I said, "Just add the MRV to my package without selling me the upgrade!"

She said that "it would not let her."

I said "Is my current package expired?"

she said "Yes!"

I told her "that is why!"

So I added the new package, for 1 dollar more as stated before, and the MRV would add to my account. It is now active for a cost of 4 more dollars a month.

Now, to find out what t his Swim network is!

#39 OFFLINE   rob316

rob316

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2008

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:44 PM

ok so my MRV experience.

Of course mine stopped working today too. So i call to order as it says. They try to say i need to buy a $99 dollar upgrade package.

I said "well it was working yesterday, why would I need new equipment?"

They said, "so you can have the Swim network."?

I said, "Just add the MRV to my package without selling me the upgrade!"

She said that "it would not let her."

I said "Is my current package expired?"

she said "Yes!"

I told her "that is why!"

So I added the new package, for 1 dollar more as stated before, and the MRV would add to my account. It is now active for a cost of 4 more dollars a month.

Now, to find out what t his Swim network is!




:lol::lol::lol::lol:

#40 OFFLINE   jba115

jba115

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 357 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:45 PM

I did find it in another location:

When you are on the My Services tab, look at the top of the detail box in Blue/Aqua lettering. There are 3 links: HD, DVR, Whole Home DVR (which is gray on my account). Click on the Whole Home DVR link and it will take you to a screen that shows you are subscribed

Under the price of $3.00 it shows "Currently Activated".

Why this info is buried under links above the account detail mystifies me. It should be listed as a service directly on the detail screen.

Try it.


Now I see that. "Currently activated" looked almost grayed out. I saw this as a p;romotion to sign up for it and missed that it was activated until you pointed that out. Thanks again.
White Sox Fan
Samsung PN50A450 Plasma
Mits WS65857
Both with HR20-100 (HDMI & Component) Also HR21-100 on Mits
Wireless network via Netgear WNR2000, two D* powerline adapters
Harmony 880

#41 OFFLINE   swaff

swaff

    Hail to the Redskins

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 369 posts
  • LocationCentral Illinois
Joined: Feb 15, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:45 PM

Thanks Doug. Email sent. We shall see...


Same here - It did say that I should know something within 24 hours

Slimline 3
Living Room - HR44-500 - DECA Connected
Master Bedroom - HR21-200 - DECA Connected

Basement - HR22-100 - DECA Connected

 

My Complete Setup


#42 OFFLINE   jasonc213

jasonc213

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2010

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:47 PM

I posted a thread last week in which I detailed a method for getting MRV enabled in an 'unsupported' mode when talking to a CSR.


Cool Doug, looks like your investigation/assistance got recognized. Did DTV contact you asking you to make the changes? Just curious. Thanks again by the way for helping everyone get this taken care of smoothly.
DirecTV employee since 5/2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, they are not on behalf or represent DirecTV in any way.

#43 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:48 PM

Now I see that. "Currently activated" looked almost grayed out. I saw this as a p;romotion to sign up for it and missed that it was activated until you pointed that out. Thanks again.


It is very easy to miss, and that's why both of us missed it! I don't use the site enough to become familiar with the non-intuitive "cubbie holes" where they stuff info. But in their defense, at least it is there.:)

Glad it worked out for both of us, and my pleasure to help.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#44 OFFLINE   mdriskell

mdriskell

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 03:50 PM

The top quote seemingly contradicts the bottom quote. Who is right?


I just checked the site...the new package is $16 a month less then what I pay now...adding the HD,DVR,&MRV will add 20 so my total cost is $4 more....sorry for the confusion.
My Setup
Main DVR HR21-100
Wired Connection
HDMI to Toshiba Regza 47in LCD

Bedroom DVR HR22-700
Wired Connection
Component cables to Westinghouse 27in LCD

#45 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:22 PM

I think Doug may have gotten it backwards. The reason so many of us stayed with TC+, without going with TC+/HD-DVR bundled is that we saved a dollar a month, without losing anything.

At least that's why I stayed, and I'm going to feel like an idiot if I stayed so I could pay an additional buck a month for nothing.

Unbundled TC+ is a buck cheaper than bundled with HD-DVR, or I've been screwing myself for a couple of years. :)


hasan .. 'Total Choice' is not the same thing as 'Choice Xtra' As far as I know there are not 'Total Choice' packages that have had issues. It is ONLY the package labeled:

Choice Xtra plus HD-DVR

All other packages have not been a problem.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#46 OFFLINE   rgbyhkr

rgbyhkr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:22 PM

Thanks Doug for the help. I submitted the email and then checked on my package and made the change you mentioned after seeing that I did indeed have that specific legacy one. So, hopefully, they'll add my MRV back soon. What a cluster you know what. It amazes me how stupid some companies can be. It will absolutely get D some negative commentary and anger that so could have been avoided. Reminds me of that old Bill Cosby joke: "...we can't go to sleep unless we've had a good beating!"

Jeff

#47 OFFLINE   pfp

pfp

    Whatever

  • Registered
  • 1,557 posts
Joined: Apr 28, 2009

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:24 PM

hasan .. 'Total Choice' is not the same thing as 'Choice Xtra' As far as I know there are not 'Total Choice' packages that have had issues. It is ONLY the package labeled:

Choice Xtra plus HD-DVR

All other packages have not been a problem.


see post#23
http://www.dbstalk.c...569#post2465569
I do, I offer a complete and utter retraction. The imputation was totally without basis in fact, and was in no way fair comment, and was motivated purely by malice, and I deeply regret any distress that my comments may have caused you, or your family, and I hereby undertake not to repeat any such slander at any time in the future.

#48 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:25 PM

Cool Doug, looks like your investigation/assistance got recognized. Did DTV contact you asking you to make the changes? Just curious. Thanks again by the way for helping everyone get this taken care of smoothly.


Yes, but in all honesty, they said at the time (about 3 hours back) that it might take them a few hours to have it fully set up internally.

I do hope this to smooth out .. Sounds like they are trying to get this handled in a very consistent way (rather than the YMMV that we have seen).
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#49 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:31 PM

see post#23
http://www.dbstalk.c...569#post2465569


I understand .. and I understand your frustration ..

If you see both 'HD Service' and 'DVR Service' active on your account, then the package you have is NOT your problem. In your case it is most likely that the 'u' flag is not set for MRV-Compatibility.

If that DO NOT show 'currently active' as seen in the images below, then that needs to be corrected. Both MUST say 'currently active' before 'whole home dvr service' can be activated.

Attached Thumbnails

  • ScreenShot120.png
  • ScreenShot121.png

DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#50 OFFLINE   Crimson

Crimson

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:32 PM

I honestly don't think DirecTV has handled this well. I've been a beta tester since it started in CE.. and I have received NO communications from DirecTV that this service would start being pay on May 20th. The only reason I found out is I check this forum. I sent them an email with no response. Had to go the Twitter route and they activated it.

Would have been pissed if it would have just been turned off.
Samsung 46" LCD - 4696D
HR22-100
HR20-700




Protected By... spam firewall...And...