Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV2PC - New monitor required?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JayMatt77

JayMatt77

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2009

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:41 PM

I ran the Advisor program last night and it diagnosed 2 video issues that are holding me up: The 1st is my video card graphics driver (ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro video card). I believe this can be fixed by downloading the latest drivers availabe for my video card. The 2nd issue is that my monitor is not HDCP compliant. Is there any other remedy aside from purchasing a new monitor?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,019 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:50 PM

I ran the Advisor program last night and it diagnosed 2 video issues that are holding me up: The 1st is my video card graphics driver (ATI Radeon HD 2400 Pro video card). I believe this can be fixed by downloading the latest drivers availabe for my video card. The 2nd issue is that my monitor is not HDCP compliant. Is there any other remedy aside from purchasing a new monitor?




No, you wil need a DHCP compliant monitor.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 01:29 PM

New driver and if the monitor doesn't support HDCP, then going analog, VGA works.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   JayMatt77

JayMatt77

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2009

Posted 21 May 2010 - 02:12 PM

New driver and if the monitor doesn't support HDCP, then going analog, VGA works.


If I go with VGA, will I still be able to view HD content? I rarely watch SD programming.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,726 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 02:22 PM

If I go with VGA, will I still be able to view HD content? I rarely watch SD programming.

Yes, because HDCP is because if the digital connection.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   -Draino-

-Draino-

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 02:26 PM

No, you wil need a DHCP compliant monitor.



It would be kind of weird to have a monitor that assigns IP address's :lol:

just kidding!!

Samsung 55" LED 240Hz HDTV 1080P UN55B8000
(1) HD DVR HR34-700 - 0x808
(1) HD DVR HR24-500 - 
(1) HD DVR HR22-100
(3) HD H24-100

Dell Studio XPS 8300 - Intel Core i7 2600 3.40GHz
Memory: 16GB Dual-Channel
Hard Drive: (2) 500GB RAID 0 (Not Used) 1 Corsair SSD 240GB
Video: Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 1.5GB
27" Viewsonic VX2753MH-LED Digital HDMI
Win7U x64





spam firewall