Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Where do they normally install SWM's


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   eperrone

eperrone

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:43 PM

Hey all,

Possibly getting MRV this Thursday in order to do so I understand they need to install a SWM and DECA. I saw where the DECA things go, but I was wondering about the SWM.

When they do that where does the SWM normally go? Is it mounted outside, in my crawlspace, garage, is it on the dish? Near a powerplug?

Just trying to think where it might go...

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,479 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:46 PM

You can have a SWM LNB or a SWM Multiswitch.

The SWM LNB replaces the existing LNB if you go that route.

The SWM8 or SWM16 can go in the attic or a crawl space wherever you can attach the 4 coax cables off of the Dish. Mine went in the attic.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#3 OFFLINE   eperrone

eperrone

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:49 PM

What is the difference? right now I think I have a multiswitch with a 5 Slimline dish....

Should I be asking for one or the other?

#4 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,479 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:50 PM

It doesn't make a difference as I just had them replace my Multiswitch with a SWM16.

They would probably replace your SL5 LNB with an SL3 LNB and then replace your Multiswitch with a SWM8 or SWM16 depending upon how many DVRs/Receivers you have or will have in the Future!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#5 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 01:09 PM

depends on amount of tuners you have, 8 or less will most likely get swm lnb.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...