Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

anyone brave enough to upgrade internal HD in HR24?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
59 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   am7crew

am7crew

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2009

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:33 PM

Ok before I start lets get past the the whole its leased and voids the warranty and TOS etc if we're discussing upgrading the internal hard drive we are advanced users that know that already so save the quick wit one liner please. With that said has anyone started this or successfully done so in the new HR24? I did my HR22 a while back with 1.5TB drives with no problems and yes I kept the original hard drives as back up in case.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,119 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:35 PM

Posters have suggested it's not as easy as past units.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   am7crew

am7crew

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2009

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:35 PM

yeah the casing itself doesnt look as easy to open as the previous models.

#4 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:38 PM

I'm sure if it *COULDN'T* be done, we'd have heard about it by now.

#5 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,898 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:48 PM

Enlighten Me..Why the need to change the hard drive? Just curious.

#6 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:48 PM

Word on the street is that it's a royal pain in the *** to get in to.

#7 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,064 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:49 PM

I believe Stuart stated that in order for him to open one, with DirecTV's blessing, for the First Look photos it required special tools.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#8 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:49 PM

Enlighten Me..Why the need to change the hard drive? Just curious.


Capacity.

#9 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:49 PM

Enlighten Me..Why the need to change the hard drive? Just curious.


Larger hard drive=more recording space. I upgraded the internal hard drive in my main HR20 with a 750 GB (And yes, I *STILL* sometimes fill it up lol)

#10 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,898 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:51 PM

Recording Space...Thought I did a lot of recording. You guys have me beat.

#11 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:53 PM

Recording Space...Thought I did a lot of recording. You guys have me beat.


I'm planning on getting a couple, and thinking about throwing a 1.5 TB hard drive in each.

#12 OFFLINE   am7crew

am7crew

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2009

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:56 PM

yeah I have the 1.5 TB in a HR22 and that holds about 300+ hours of HD. Already got the HR24 from solidsignal and havent activated it yet, was curious about the probability of upgrading it and if its even possible.

#13 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:57 PM

yeah I have the 1.5 TB in a HR22 and that holds about 300+ hours of HD. Already got the HR24 from solidsignal and havent activated it yet, was curious about the probability of upgrading it and if its even possible.


Possible, yes. Probable.....I don't think so.

#14 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,898 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 22 May 2010 - 06:57 PM

Hard Drive...Basicly I use my hard drive for storing movies and conserts not available on BluRay or DVD.

#15 OFFLINE   anleva

anleva

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 07:42 PM

I did on my OWNED HR24-500. Upgraded to a 1.5 TB drive. I did not find it that difficult.

#16 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 07:44 PM

I plan on doing that on my owned unit as well, when the warranty is over.
How did you get the case off? I know its clipped, but I dont see any obvious places to unlatch it.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#17 OFFLINE   am7crew

am7crew

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2009

Posted 22 May 2010 - 07:47 PM

I plan on doing that on my owned unit as well, when the warranty is over.
How did you get the case off? I know its clipped, but I dont see any obvious places to unlatch it.


ditto, also what hard drive brand did you use?

#18 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 07:50 PM

ditto, also what hard drive brand did you use?


If I do it, I plan on using the WD15EVDS

#19 OFFLINE   anleva

anleva

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 22 May 2010 - 08:12 PM

I upgraded to a Western Digital WD15EVDS.

The tricky part is definitely figuring out how the cover is attached and the right way to remove it. Looking at it is a bit baffling. In hindsight once you see how it is attached it is fairly straightforward, but you really don't see it or get it until you take it off the first time and if you aren't careful and force something while you are trying to figure it out you could do some damage. For my HR24-500 I needed to trip 2 clips on each side and 2 near the top cover and not let them re-engage. From the bottom of the DVR. Cover then slides off.

#20 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 22 May 2010 - 08:15 PM

I upgraded to a Western Digital WD15EVDS.

The tricky part is definitely figuring out how the cover is attached and the right way to remove it. Looking at it is a bit baffling. In hindsight once you see how it is attached it is fairly straightforward, but you really don't see it or get it until you take it off the first time and if you aren't careful and force something while you are trying to figure it out you could do some damage. For my HR24-500 I needed to trip 2 clips on each side and 2 near the top cover and not let them re-engage. From the bottom of the DVR. Cover then slides off.


What's the temp run in your receiver? I know my HR20 runs around 130, but that's a regular 7200 RPM drive.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...