Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Another MRV question... I know the guy screwed up when installing


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Shaqdan

Shaqdan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2009

Posted 23 May 2010 - 02:49 PM

I was a beta tester for MRV and loved it, so of course, I am willing to pay for the service. I realize that I could have just kep things how they were, but I called and paid the $100 to have someone come out and 'do it right.' Well, the guy got to my door yesterday and the first words out of his mouth were "I just want to let you know up front that I have never done this before." Not the best thing to hear, I'll admit.

The guy changed out my dish to a SWM (or whatever it is called, so I only need one line going to each box). However, when installing the DECA, he really didn't know what he was doing. In the end, I had ethernet running directly to the boxes as before, so the DECA are all but useless.

My questions:
  • If I have 2 boxes, how many total DECA do I need?
  • I have 2 DECA and the black box that plugs into the wall. Is this all the equipment I should have or am I missing something that connects to my 2WIRE router?

I've looked at the countless threads about connecting MRV, I've seen pictures, but for some reason, I cannot make heads or tails out of anything I see. As it is now, my MRV works, but only because I have the 2 ethernet cables running directly into my boxes like I did during the Beta. I'd like to get it connected correctly, so I could free up those extra cables. Any help would be appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,640 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 May 2010 - 03:00 PM

One more DECA and a PI for it.
Then this DECA make the bridge to your 2Wire, but it too needs to have a coax connection to share with the other DECAs at the receivers.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,746 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 May 2010 - 03:01 PM

I was a beta tester for MRV and loved it, so of course, I am willing to pay for the service. I realize that I could have just kep things how they were, but I called and paid the $100 to have someone come out and 'do it right.' Well, the guy got to my door yesterday and the first words out of his mouth were "I just want to let you know up front that I have never done this before." Not the best thing to hear, I'll admit.

The guy changed out my dish to a SWM (or whatever it is called, so I only need one line going to each box). However, when installing the DECA, he really didn't know what he was doing. In the end, I had ethernet running directly to the boxes as before, so the DECA are all but useless.

My questions:

  • If I have 2 boxes, how many total DECA do I need?
  • I have 2 DECA and the black box that plugs into the wall. Is this all the equipment I should have or am I missing something that connects to my 2WIRE router?

I've looked at the countless threads about connecting MRV, I've seen pictures, but for some reason, I cannot make heads or tails out of anything I see. As it is now, my MRV works, but only because I have the 2 ethernet cables running directly into my boxes like I did during the Beta. I'd like to get it connected correctly, so I could free up those extra cables. Any help would be appreciated.


The way you're setup you need 3 DECAs. One for each receiver and one with a power supply for your router. Connecting the short ethernet cord from the DECA adapter to the ethernet plug of each receiver will give you MRV. Adding another coax connected to your SWM and a DECA adapter with power supply hooked up to this DECA adapter pigtail at your router location then connecting a ethernet cable from the DECA to your router will give the receivers network access for MediaShare, On Demand and internet PPV ordering.

Edited by Blurayfan, 23 May 2010 - 04:59 PM.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20


#4 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 23 May 2010 - 03:03 PM

I was a beta tester for MRV and loved it, so of course, I am willing to pay for the service. I realize that I could have just kep things how they were, but I called and paid the $100 to have someone come out and 'do it right.' Well, the guy got to my door yesterday and the first words out of his mouth were "I just want to let you know up front that I have never done this before." Not the best thing to hear, I'll admit.

The guy changed out my dish to a SWM (or whatever it is called, so I only need one line going to each box). However, when installing the DECA, he really didn't know what he was doing. In the end, I had ethernet running directly to the boxes as before, so the DECA are all but useless.

My questions:

  • If I have 2 boxes, how many total DECA do I need?
  • I have 2 DECA and the black box that plugs into the wall. Is this all the equipment I should have or am I missing something that connects to my 2WIRE router?

I've looked at the countless threads about connecting MRV, I've seen pictures, but for some reason, I cannot make heads or tails out of anything I see. As it is now, my MRV works, but only because I have the 2 ethernet cables running directly into my boxes like I did during the Beta. I'd like to get it connected correctly, so I could free up those extra cables. Any help would be appreciated.


Assuming you have no Hx24 or SD boxes, you need 3 DECAs... 1 to each of the receivers (with a short Ethernet cable to the receiver) and a third with a Power Supply attached to the pigtail that goes to both your router (or switch) and coax from the SWM splitter.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 May 2010 - 03:31 PM

The easiest way to get you set up for Internet connectivity when going to the SWiM/MRV upgrade is to take advantage of the one of your extra coax runs.

For example, if you have 2 HR22's, you would have 4 coax runs in order to use both tuners on each receiver. You would also have an ethernet cable running to each receiver as well. When switching to MRV, you only need one coax run to each receiver. Leave a third coax connected (basically the second cable that went to one of your receivers).

As stated, you would need 3 DECA's in the case you do not have an HR24. Right before the coax gets from the SWiM to the receiver, a DECA unit is connected. The output from the DECA will be a coax that goes to the receiver SAT1 input and an ethernet cable from the DECA that goes to the ethernet jack on the receiver. With the extra DECA, the output of the DECA would go to a PI. The ethernet jack on the DECA would be connected to the ethernet cable you had going to your router from the receiver it is near.

And that's it. That will have you set up with SWiM/DECA at each of your receivers along with the bridge to you local network, which will allow you to have access to DirecTV on Demand.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





spam firewall