Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

UPnP conflict in Router Logs?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 23 May 2010 - 05:03 PM

Are thes conflicts harmless?

I noticed many entries in the logs referring UPnP conflicts. I wonder if this occurring because a few of the receivers have auto configured for the same audio port and STB Svc Port.

This receiver referenced is the H21-100. I see other entries referring to other receivers as well.

Log reported by D-Link DIR 825. I took off the WAN IP number and replaced it with the words WAN IP. It's not the IP of the router so I wasn't sure if that should be posted publically.

I am also surprised to see 255.255.255.255 reported as opposed to 255.255.255.0, the normal subnet mask.

This is on a DECA system so evidently some of these events are not isolated from the router.

Everything is working so how bad it could be?

For example:

[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27162 <-> 192.168.0.113:27162 TCP 'B8A242B'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27161 <-> 192.168.0.113:27161 TCP 'B8A242A'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27162 <-> 192.168.0.113:27162 TCP 'B8A242B'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27161 <-> 192.168.0.113:27161 TCP 'B8A242A'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27162 <-> 192.168.0.113:27162 TCP 'B8A242B'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27161 <-> 192.168.0.113:27161 TCP 'B8A242A'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27162 <-> 192.168.0.113:27162 TCP 'B8A242B'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27161 <-> 192.168.0.113:27161 TCP 'B8A242A'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27162 <-> 192.168.0.113:27162 TCP 'B8A242B'
[WARN] Sun May 23 16:03:56 2010 UPnP conflict with existing entry 255.255.255.255 <-> WAN IP:27161 <-> 192.168.0.113:27161 TCP 'B8A242A'
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 23 May 2010 - 05:48 PM

It seems like the only receiver that is not referenced this way it the HR20-700 which has different ports assigned for STB SVC and audio port. The other 3 receivers have the same ports auto assigned for 27162, 27163.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#3 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 10:16 AM

Bump,

Can anyone speculate as to what these entries are about? Again I find it odd that the only receiver that never is listed like this with the uPnp conflicts has different ports assigned for network services.

I will try to assign them all different ones later.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#4 OFFLINE   LarryFlowers

LarryFlowers

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,290 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:17 AM

Let me ask a question:

Are you having a network problem? Are any of your DVR's not performing as expected?
Larry R. Flowers
Winder (Atlanta) GA
Twitter @larryflowers
HR20-700 HR23-700 H24-100
1st DirecTV Receiver Install Nov 1994
i'm a PC Guy

#5 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 25 May 2010 - 11:34 AM

Upnp is a very dirty brute force architecture. The reason you are seeing errors in your log is because the similar DTV boxes are all requesting to use the same ports to establish connections to the outside world (other side of the NAT). In theory the boxes should request to use another port and you won't have any problems. I don't think DTV uses any of those ports functionality currently so even if something isn't working you still won't notice any problems.

Personally I disable Upnp whenever I can on my routers/firewalls. If something needs special ports setup to get into my network, I want to know about it and manually configure them. Upnp was designed for people who don't want to read a page of instructions to setup port forwarding on their routers to get certain things to work.

#6 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,031 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 25 May 2010 - 12:12 PM

I also disable UPnP on my Linksys wireless router as it interferes with my work VPN and serves no useful purpose for me.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#7 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 958 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 25 May 2010 - 12:39 PM

I also disable UPnP on my Linksys wireless router as it interferes with my work VPN and serves no useful purpose for me.


Yes, upnp has a lot of compatibility problems.

#8 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 06:57 PM

Let me ask a question:

Are you having a network problem? Are any of your DVR's not performing as expected?

Everything is working great. However I am emailed a full router log a couple times a day, thanks to these conflicts and the Nintendo Wii constantly connecting and disconnecting as part of their Wii Connect service. It's not a big deal.

Upnp is a very dirty brute force architecture. The reason you are seeing errors in your log is because the similar DTV boxes are all requesting to use the same ports to establish connections to the outside world (other side of the NAT). In theory the boxes should request to use another port and you won't have any problems. I don't think DTV uses any of those ports functionality currently so even if something isn't working you still won't notice any problems.

Personally I disable Upnp whenever I can on my routers/firewalls. If something needs special ports setup to get into my network, I want to know about it and manually configure them. Upnp was designed for people who don't want to read a page of instructions to setup port forwarding on their routers to get certain things to work.

I think when I had the boxes hardwired I had set up port forwarding for each individual box. In the DECA conversion process, my router reset to factory defaults. I didn't set it up again and just took the default ports that each one got.

So if I disable Upnp, it shouldn't' effect other programs like Vuze that I set up port forwarding up for, correct?
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#9 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:36 PM

I set up port forwarding for 3 of my 4 boxes and set up the network services with manual ports so they all have unique port assignments. The code went from 5000 to 5001 on the 3 with the conflict. It had already been code 5001 on the first box. I wonder what the difference is between 5000 and 5001, perhaps just that 5001 was setup manually.:)

I left uPnP enabled on the D-Link DIR 825. I'll report if this clears out the conflicts.

Thanks for reading.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#10 OFFLINE   LarryFlowers

LarryFlowers

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,290 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:43 PM

One of the problems with these report functions built into various devices is that frequently the information is useless.

If you aren't having any issues with your dvr's... ignore it.
Larry R. Flowers
Winder (Atlanta) GA
Twitter @larryflowers
HR20-700 HR23-700 H24-100
1st DirecTV Receiver Install Nov 1994
i'm a PC Guy

#11 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:55 PM

One of the problems with these report functions built into various devices is that frequently the information is useless.

If you aren't having any issues with your dvr's... ignore it.

You're right, of course. I was also thinking the router was getting hung up on the conflicts and could sacrifice other networking performance with regards to other devices as a result.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#12 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 26 May 2010 - 02:39 PM

For the record, Port Forwarding in the router to unique ports and manual assignments of those ports in the "Network Services" configuration screen did in fact result in the elimination of the upnp conflicts.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA




Protected By... spam firewall...And...