Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How did your "Connected Home" installation go, part 2?


  • Please log in to reply
118 replies to this topic

Poll: How did your "Connected Home" installation go? (98 member(s) have cast votes)

How did your "Connected Home" installation go?

  1. Everything was installed on time without any problems (34 votes [34.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 34.69%

  2. Installation was completed but there were problems that the installer ran into (39 votes [39.80%])

    Percentage of vote: 39.80%

  3. Installation was attempted but was stopped due to a problem (5 votes [5.10%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.10%

  4. Installation was cancelled/delayed due to parts not being available (10 votes [10.20%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.20%

  5. Something not listed and I've provided details in a post (10 votes [10.20%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.20%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,232 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:00 AM

Now that we're over 1 1/2 weeks into the Connected Home rollout I wanted to start a new poll to see how recent installs are going now that the tech's are getting more experience with them.

Please only vote if your installation is on 5/24 or after, not before.

Thanks!

Edited by RAD, 24 May 2010 - 08:56 AM.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   djousma

djousma

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:20 AM

No problems at all. It was my tech's first one. Seemed that I knew more about it than he did. 3DVR's + internet. all working like a champ.

Setup

  • Slimline Dish connected to SWM-16
  • Whole home DVR with DECA
  • HR44-500 connected via HDMI to 70" Vizio 4K P702ui-B3
  • HR24-500 connected via HDMI to 42" LG LCD
  • HR24-500 connected via HDMI to 39" Samsung
  • Apple Airport Extreme
  • 30/5 Charter Cable

#3 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,798 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:29 AM

Wish it was a multiple choice poll. :lol:

I voted #2, but #4 applies as well. My install was delayed about 3 hours because the installer had to track down a SWiM-16.
/steve

#4 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,290 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:33 AM

As I reported in the other thread, my installation last Thursday was a breeze with help from me. The two installers thanked me for helping and correcting a couple of issues.

Their future installations should be fine.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#5 OFFLINE   llupin

llupin

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:33 AM

My install was scheduled for 12-4 on Saturday. Installers (2 in one truck) finally arrived at 6. They were going to replace my dual splitter with a quad and cut another hole in the wall to run an extra line through. I showed them numerous diagrams from this forum and Solid Signal to convince them that this was not necessary, and they could simply split off of the wire already in the house. They called another tech, who was familiar with this method. They then sat in their truck for 45 minutes until the other tech arrived. The other tech knew exactly what to do and was finished within half an hour (by 8:00).

#6 OFFLINE   Tike1994

Tike1994

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:38 AM

Things started out well with the installer replacing my dish and installing the SWiM8 outside. When he got inside and started opening all the boxes he brought with him he was totally confused. Luckily I pulled up the installation pictures forum and we were able to get through the installation of the broadband DECA and get that working. This was his first install with the broadband DECA and the installer made several comments about the brief training they were given and lack of equipment he was able to carry on the truck.

Then we got to the HR20-100 in my daughter's room and hit a wall. I found the instructions on dbstalk explaining the "problem child" issues with the HR20-100 and he had no idea about it. He called installation services and they gave him the same instructions I printed for him. He was totally frustrated at this point and said he didn't have the splitter or the filter needed for the HR20-100 and that they would have to come back later to finish. Now I was a little frustrated that two small parts were going to delay the install. I left the room while he was on the phone with his office and when I came back he was unboxing a new HR24-500. He replaced the HR20-100 with the HR24-500, so I'm not complaining.

The end result was a completed install, but the process was time consuming and frustrating.
HR24-500 to Samsumg PN50A550; HR20-700 to Samsung LN-S3251D; HR21-200 to Samsung 2333HD; HR20-700 to Samsung 2333HD

#7 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,712 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 May 2010 - 08:51 AM

Since the other thread was closed before a response could be made, to repost

My MRV install is scheduled for tomorrow, and I have six DVRs (12 tuners) of which only two at present are HR2Xs to be MRV'ed with the rest SD-DVRs.

So was wondering should the installer show up with two SWM-8s in an E2 expander assembly if it would still be appropriate to press for a SWM-16 for future-proofing in case I choose to add more MRV capable receivers later even though two SWM-8s will work for the time being as long as the DECA cloud and internet router DECA dongle are connected to one of the same output lines on the same SWM-8?

#8 OFFLINE   Baconbeard

Baconbeard

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:06 AM

Still trying to get it done. Had an appointment scheduled for Friday, but the guy flaked out making up some BS story about a part he didn't have. Then, I had a 12-4 appointment for Saturday, and the tech didn't show up until after 9:00 PM and proceeded to tell me that they were going to have to do a brand new install of my system due to the way it was set up originally.

So now I have to wait until this Friday. Hopefully I can get a tech who has his crap together.

#9 OFFLINE   Shaqdan

Shaqdan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2009

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:11 AM

I posted a thread detailing my problems. They will be back tomorrow to correct my installation.

#10 OFFLINE   kepico

kepico

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: May 24, 2009

Posted 24 May 2010 - 12:07 PM

Installer came around 9a and left now at 2p - I needed to be converted to SWM as well. He let me know right away that he has yet to do a DECA install, I produced all of my info and pics from this site and off we went.

I had;
HR23 x 2
D12 x 1
D10 x 1

The D10 got replaced with a D12 and the LNB to SWM along with multiswitch and PI.

Then got around to the DECA install;
He watched me the whole way as I installed the modules onto the HRs and the one needed to connect to my router. Fired it all up all modules went green and I didn't even need to reboot my HRs (possibly because I had the BETA up and running prior?) to see my network and each other.

I thought I would have to call to "activate" it but maybe not?

I gave him all my printouts (he held onto them like gold) apparently they were "taught" the DECA install by video and not hands-on.

#11 OFFLINE   lgb0250

lgb0250

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2010

Posted 24 May 2010 - 12:58 PM

Had my attempt at installation and activation today.

Installation went fairly well. He crossed a few wires in my router while installing the broadband DECA. Once I figured out what he did I was able to get my broadband and VOIP telephone service back on. The major thing he did that caught me off guard was a software update on all units. I caught it too late and lost all of my recordings and cache since it rolled me back to 03A8 and I was already on 03B6. Been awhile since I was able to download any new releases. I asked him why he did that and his reply was that that was the only way the system would recognize the upgrades and D* required it on installation!

The problem occurred when he called D* to get the MRV service turned on. They told him I didn't have the right package and they were going to have to upgrade my package and it would cost me another $1 per mo. Thanks to this forum I was already well aware of this. Then D* was unable to get the system to work at all. Said they didn't know what the problem was but they were escalating it to the engineers and I would receive a call back from a supervisor. That was 4 hours ago. System still won't work and no call back.

#12 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 814 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:02 PM

Sorry, I didn't see the "after 5/24" before I voted for the last choice. You can remove my vote if possible.
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)

#13 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,798 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:07 PM

[...] I asked him why he did that and his reply was that that was the only way the system would recognize the upgrades and D* required it on installation! [...]

What a shame! :nono2: Amazing how little some of these guys know about the systems they're installing. Not even a reboot was necessary on my HR20/22's. If there were previously networked H24s or HR24s, those would have had to be rebooted without the ethernet cable attached.

He was probably told he needed to do an 0-2-4-6-8 for new boxes he's installing that may have been sitting on his truck and just figured it applies across the board. Someone should tell him that an active customer box already has a current release.
/steve

#14 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:38 PM

Well, with three visits it was a combo of not knowing, not having the parts, to finally doing it myself with tech standing behind me.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#15 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,798 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:40 PM

Sorry, I didn't see the "after 5/24" before I voted for the last choice. You can remove my vote if possible.

D'oh! Same here. My install was on 5/13. I voted for #2, if you can get a mod to remove it. Sorry about that.
/steve

#16 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 24 May 2010 - 01:43 PM

Now that we're over 1 1/2 weeks into the Connected Home rollout I wanted to start a new poll to see how recent installs are going now that the tech's are getting more experience with them.

Please only vote if your installation is on 5/24 or after, not before.

Thanks!

Sorry, read the poll first and then saw the post. So eliminate one 5th choice.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#17 OFFLINE   mobandit

mobandit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,142 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 05:42 PM

Well, appointment was for 12-4 PM today. Tech arrived at exactly 4:00 PM, after a call at 2:45 to tell me he would be here by 3:30 at the latest. He decided that my self-installed SWM8 should be replaced, along with my ODU. He installed a SL3 SWiM LNB. He also removed all of the previously installed connectors and nearly ran out of extra cable coming from the house! He then proceeded to install the DECA modules. All went well except he didn't realize that he had to call D* to get them to authorize MRV...took me 20 minutes to convince him to call....reran SAT setup, reset defaults on the Network Settings, reset all boxes, and MRV is working just fine!

Now the remaining issue: when he removed the old ODU and installed the SL3 he didn't have the 103 satellite loaded into his meter, so he was unable to really peak the 103. Most transponders are in the 90's....some are in the 80's....all were in the 90's with the old ODU. I asked him nicely to please peak it a little better...he said he would have to come back on Wednesday when he has a day off and after downloading the 103 into his meter. We'll see...

Edited by mobandit, 24 May 2010 - 05:50 PM.

ETCM (SS/SW), USN (RET)
22 years, 4 months, 9 days


#18 OFFLINE   jeffreytz

jeffreytz

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Feb 03, 2007

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:34 PM

So just a follow up from my install on Saturday. The tech came back as promised tonight when I got home from work, and I showed him the diagram of how to add the splitter/DECA/PI/internet connection to the basement HR20-700 (which is the closest one to my router). It took us all of 5 minutes to hook it all up. We had powered that HR20 off when we did the install, so we powered it back up and checked the network info and it had a correct IP address, the right gateway address, etc. Popped up the right-hand TV app menu and everything is working.

I went and checked the other two DVRs and they also had valid IP addresses without being restarted, but I restarted them anyway (what the hell :) ).

I had printed copies of the "first look" pdf and a few of the other diagrams here on DBSTalk and gave them to the tech (a nice kid from the Ukraine), and explained the difference between having the internet added via the DECA verses individual direct network connections to the receivers (which he said was he understood how internet access was to be added). He's a 3rd party independent contractor and was very appreciative of all the info and I have a feeling he'll be reading through the forums here now that he knows about it :)

So I'm all set, MVR works, have internet for PPV, TV Apps, etc., and have access to the files on my HP MediaSmart Windows Home Server; and I have SWiM, which is awesome compared to my old four-line setup.

#19 OFFLINE   Monty23

Monty23

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 598 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:46 PM

My work order didn't specify that I needed another DECA to be connected to the internet and my installer didn't have one on the truck. He told me this was his very first MRV install and I was his "guinea pig". I've made two calls to D after he left and still haven't gotten a call back from the installer when they are going to complete this.

#20 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,012 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 24 May 2010 - 10:24 PM

Had my install today took about an hour everything was working great when he left.

#21 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    DirecTV 10yr+ Customer

  • Registered
  • 995 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 03:19 AM

My work order didn't specify that I needed another DECA to be connected to the internet and my installer didn't have one on the truck. He told me this was his very first MRV install and I was his "guinea pig".....


Same here......my thread.....worth the read. I would suggest doing some research on how these are setup/connected and be ready. http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=177925

Speak Your Mind..........

Those Who Mind Don't Matter

Those Who Matter Won't Mind


#22 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,253 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 03:32 AM

Wish it was a multiple choice poll. :lol:

I voted #2, but #4 applies as well. My install was delayed about 3 hours because the installer had to track down a SWiM-16.


Enjoyed reviewing the DirecTV HR2X Wish List!

#23 OFFLINE   camo

camo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 05:25 AM

I did my own with Ethernet over existing lan line. Really did not do anything other than sign up for it plug ethernet in. Works perfectly. Took them about 15 minutes over the phone to turn it back on once the beta period ended.

HR-20
HR-24
H-23

#24 OFFLINE   hitokage

hitokage

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2010

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:24 AM

Well here is how my installation went. Be aware it is a rather long story, however there is a short summary at the end.

Having had difficulty with various installers in the past and reading about the various troubles here, I was a bit apprehensive about calling to get MRV officially installed. I have ethernet drops to most of the receivers, but there are a few that didn't have them. I also needed a larger multiswitch as I had more tuners then the current Zinwell 6x8 could support. I priced out everything from Solid Signal that I would need to do it myself, and the total was in excess of $800 - definitely not going to happen. I tried different methods hoping I could convince DirecTV to let me do it myself, and none worked. I was finally contacted by the Office of the President (OotP), and they talked me into letting an installer come out along with a supervisor. The earliest their computer would let them do was in June, but they sent an e-mail and were going to try and get them to come out on the 22nd. I asked them to specifically call out that a SWM16 was required as we have ten tuners, and that they were to use a regular DECA for the internet connection as these seemed to be the two big trouble points.

Friday the 21st we get a call confirming the Saturday appointment in the 12-4 pm window. Saturday arrives and after saying they were on their way several times, they finally arrived about 3:45. They did a quick look over of the current set up, and confirmed the required dish swap out and tuner count. It turned out though they didn't have a SWM16 - the DirecTV rep from the OotP placed it in the comments instead of as a line item. They at first said they could use two SWM8s and an expander until I reminded them that DECA wouldn't pass between the two. Turns out they did have some SWM16s available, but they weren't scanned into the warehouse and they wouldn't show up on the work orders. They were instead locked in a safe in someones office (someone above the supervisor that came with the technician). They wouldn't be able to do anything, but they would get one and rescheduled for Monday the 24th. They told us we should see if we could get our HR20-100 and HR21-200 swapped for new HR24s, partly because they insisted the HR20 wouldn't work - even after I explained exactly how it would need to be connected to the DECA. The tech stated they were off on Monday, so someone else would be there, but the supervisor stated it was likely they would be the supervisor to return.

Monday arrives and I make contact again with the OotP, and explain about the wasted visit on Saturday and how they mentioned trying to get the HR20 and HR21 added to the work order to be swapped. Well, I was told no more freebies as I recently was trying get them to swap three currently inactive H20s for new models. The H20s had toasted their access cards and didn't work properly, but I wanted to replace a legacy HD Samsung receiver, an old SD Sony box, and add one new one and I was trying to get working boxes in exchange for my bad ones. They activated one H20 and did a swap for that one, and did upgrades for the other two at no cost other then the $20 shipping. I received an H21 (that shows on my account as owned - :confused:) and two H23s, so I wasn't too surprised about not getting any more deals. I was ticked off though as my Saturday afternoon was wasted, but whatever.

The afternoon rolls around, and we hear from the installer that they would arrive about 2:30. They actually did, and things looked like they might be looking up. They were even going to see if I could get a signal from the 119º, as I knew that some of the music stations were there, and as we have the Premier package I thought we should have access to all we are paying for. Things however started to go down hill from there. They insisted the HR20-100 wouldn't work and didn't even try it - they were going to swap it for a HR24 :bang. They said since the HR20 was owned, it would be, and there would be no charge - I was thinking yeah right. Things started to seem okay again - they got the slimline 3 dish and LNB up with no trouble, and while they had been working on that I stated I was going to go and remove the BBC adapters and unplug the receivers. They got the SWM16 and splitters connected, replaced the HR20, and began installing the DECAs. Again things went down hill a bit - they connected them with out plugging the receivers back in and making sure everything was working. On the receivers they did change the configuration on, the picked that is was a slimline 3 SWM LNB, when in fact it was a regular slimline 3 LNB with a SWM multiswitch (this is minor, and I'm pretty sure it didn't really matter), but they didn't update the configuration on the others (changing from the 5 LNB). They also never verified the receivers and DVRs were communicating with each other. They said they were done, so I took a look at my online account to see how things were showing up. There was a charge for the HR24 and surprise, surprise it said it was leased :nono2:. I told them I was going to call and check on things before signing anything :mad:. I called the regular support number and asked for the access card department, if the HR24 was going to cost us and also be leased I wanted them to swap it back, and at least try the HR20 - if for whatever reason they didn't get it to work I would have had them leave the proper hardware and get it working myself. Well the access card person said they shouldn't have replaced the HR20 - it was supported for MRV and wasn't on the work order to be replaced. She credited back the charge for the new receiver, and also made the HR24 owned because they weren't suppose to do what they did :D. Once everything went through and I could verify the credits on the website, I signed the paperwork, and they left.

I began looking over the configuration of the HR24, and I noticed that multiroom was missing. It was also missing from the other receivers and DVR. so I took a quick look online and found it wasn't activated - this is when I discovered they didn't test things. Fortunately the equipment upgrade were in place according to the computer, so I was able to activate it, sent a refresh receivers request, and then proceeded to test things out. Things actually seem to work, so I won't have to deal with them anymore at this point :hurah:.

Summary - if you had an HR20 that was on your account as owned, it was swapped, and that swap wasn't on the work order - make sure you weren't charged for it. Also talk to the access card department - you may be able to get them to change the replacement to owned as the tech did something they shouldn't have done.

http://www.dbstalk.c...07&d=1274794154

Attached Thumbnails

  • DirecTV.jpg

Edited by hitokage, 25 May 2010 - 07:30 AM.


#25 OFFLINE   employee3

employee3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2006

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:45 AM

Installer called. No SMW-16's in stock. I had to wait a week for install to hear this.
C'mon people, it's just TV.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...